Steeming Community Contest |Throwback Memories: "Student Days " @Dayographix

in Steeming Community3 years ago

Screenshot_20210610-092400.png

I want to use this opportunity to thank @fabio2614 and #steamingcommunity for this great contest . i want share a throw back memory.

First Year Experience

During the beginning of Second Semester in my First year, I had made up my mind never to trek to school under any circumstances again. I can't comman die in nsukka biko.. But you know, hunger has a fantastic way of making people put their mouth were their money is. By the middle of the semester, I was fantastically broke. My own level of brokenness had reached a certain pedigree that no matter the level of perfume I apply, when I pass, brokeness must smell. The whole money I had both at home, bank, abroad, away and oversea, was just five hundred naira. And I was just making do with it to transport my weary self back and forth to school everyday on an empty stomach, even my bank qccount is empty as well

On the day my heaven and earth finished, my hope went out like a light and I glimpsed the way hunger will take me down chunk by chunk. But everly man must survive nah. And so I announced to the whole lodge that I'll be trekking to school that day. I claimed I needed the exercise to keep fit and lose some weight.

Everybody was like, "shuu, baba Dayo which weight are you losing again. As you slim reach, na your life you wan lose?" Everybody laughed.
Steven even chipped in, "Dayo (Uncle D) abeg if na hunger trekking, tell us make we contribute give coin for you" or better still u can join us in the air taxi. More laughter. Damn, I almost froze. That one cuts too close to the bone. That boy Steven wouldn't pack his big mouth well.

To protect my overlapping ego, I had told them that I'm just informing them to see if any would trek with me seeing as everybody has added flesh anyhow [which was a blue lie because everybody is as dry as a twig] and I wouldn't want a situation where they'll say that I trekked without inviting them [as if anybody cares]. Anyway, when you see me on the road doing my fitness trekking, just holla and pass. I concluded.

As for Steven, I made a mental note to deal with his loose tongue later.

Getting into Apartment, I nearly cried. Holla and pass? Damn, who makes that type of statement. I should had said " holla and ask me to join because man's not hot anymore."

Anyway, to prove it ain't a hungry trekking even though it was, I dressed my best. To be honest, I had been reserving that cloth for the prom party coming up in three days. I wept as I watched myself wore it. Then I put on my trekking shoes , i change my apartment pass code and off I went. School here I come, under trekking, dust and sun I must get to ya today.

I got to school after a forty minutes hard trekking. Damn, somebody please gimme a massage before I die. By now I was walking in a hiperty-hop manner. My shoes where paining me shege. All the bones in my body had gone on exile.

Getting into the school I quickly adjusted myself, dusted my trousers, straightened my hair and took on my James Bond kind of step. I log in my access Code for verification, There's no need to broadcast to the whole school that you've trekked is there? Aww, that sucks.

After the last lecture for the day, signed out and I had a few meetings [which I couldn't even concentrate] had ended. I thanked heavens they ended pretty fast [gives me a head start for my thousand and one journey]. I started my LEGedis-benz to vamoos. The earlier the better biko. And oh, I had caused a little bit of commotion in class because of how good I looked. Especially with the girls who had tried to drag me down to Vegas to lessen my wallet [if only they knew my . Of course I had vigorously fought them off like a tiger immediately. Can't comman fall my hand for nothing especially when I knew my school wallet account is empty.

And so I began my journey back home. Head bowed in fatigue, arms swinging limblessly from my shoulders as I dragged my legs like a soldier deployed to the war front. My only thought now was how to eat up the miles ahead like bread and sardine.

"Dayo Dayo.... " a shrill voice called out.

I turned. Faith was waving at me through Glass Restaurant across the street. She was all smiles and very happy. Well, didn't yo mama teach you never to turn down a pretty girl? Though tired and hungry, I found myself marching towards her direction when one good mind was telling me to march to the other. My bad

"Hi Faith" I hailed as the Glass door closes because she was close to the door.

Faith has been giving me double green light now for months. But I've been acting politely like I ain't noticing it. Honestly speaking, I don't want to add any more load to the ones I'm carrying especially to the project am actually working on( how to break school security firewall)

Getting near, Faith flung herself on me in a tight hug. She looked very sweet and dragged me to where she sat. That should had been my cue to bolt but no. I wanted to know why she was so happy. Amibo wii kee me one day.

"Faith baby what's up nah. "

"Dayo boo I'm fine.."

"Hei, everybody listen up, this is Dayo( Uncle D) also known as Dayograhix my love, my sweetheart, my heart" , high tech engineer , She announced.

Everybody looked up. Most were her departmental guys and I shook hands with them. Mehn, that was one hell of an introduction. Thank God I dressed sweet. Though we aren't dating but who cares about the introduction, I asked myself, feeling really proud as I took in the envious stares.

Faith was sitting in a restaurant and the food being displayed on the screen caught my attention and the aroma of the food being sold drifted into my nostrils making me wish that the part of Faith's arm I was holding is a soft turkey meat.

"Dayo guess what?"
"What"
"I've been elected as the vice president of my department!" she squealed in delight. "God I'm so happy" she announced.

I too shouted in delight. But God knows that was for the paparazzi. Talk to a hungry man. For christ sake who the hell cares. Not like her election will get me off the trekking list.

"I'm so happy for you babe. Congrats. You deserve it" I kept repeating thinking it's high time I resume my trekking. But no, not so fast.

Suddenly, the mood changed. "Dayo I'm hungry".

Ghen, Ghen... Chisos, that was it! I nearly screamed. No wonder all these Dayo my love, Dayo my heart, Dayo my kidney blahblahblah. Mehn, I am fried. I stood transfixed for three seconds as the misery of my situation dawned on me. Babe has gotten me in a hell of a sweet spot.

I wanted to murmur some excuses that my payment app has been placed on ban or how my parents removed me from the beneficiary list but i felt an electric chill down my spine when I realised that all her coursemates were now staring at me. Holy Moses! Who'll believe that with all my packaging, I can't afford her meal. God, the knowledge of that alone covered me with goose pimples. To make matters worse, the menu list Tablet have been sent to our table. Doesn't these people have conscience?

By now I was sweating all over, some sweat even found their way down my buttocks. One mind told me to take off right there and bolt as fast as my legs will allow. The other mind told me to order the food, then excuse myself and run without looking back.

"Which drink should I serve it with the waiter called me back to reality".

Did I order anything? Drink kill you there. I sooo wanted to shout. Instead I kept my big mouth shut and took a deep breath.

"Ask her " I said almost in tears. Faith squealed in delight. " Woow, Dayo is buying me lunch, I can't believe it. I love you Dayo boo"

"Love your Faith. Idiot". I thundered in my mind.

Hey, hold on. I know what you're thinking. Yes I have no money but asking her to take only water will make me look cheap. And nay, my overlapping ego can't allow that. At least not here where the children of the world gat their eyes on me. I gats maintain whatever prestige is left to me. Now, my escape strategy will be to play the " I've lost my card" once it's time to pay.

Faith took the food and spooned it. I nearly wept. Now I understood why Jesus wept, seriously. With each spoon she took, it hurts like she was eating my kidney.

I waited for a good five minutes pondering when best to start my act as I watched Faith level the food with relish, myself battling with my tommy. I watched in self pity as mounds after mounds disappeared between her huge teeth while I can do nothing to help it. All the conversation Faith was trying to make was lost as my brain was on a high-speed train calculating when best to spin my yarn. Suddenly my phone vibrated in my pocket. , I thought it was Network provider that wants to remind me to pay up my debt . I brought out my phone with enough venom to kill a snake, cursing and hissing, very sure it was him and ready to delete the message.

Hold on, Wait, wait, wait a minute. Is that Credit Alert I am seeing? What. Ten thousand dollars alert from Sis ? Chisos. I nearly went mad. Faith was like Dayo what is it?

"My sister just gave birth to twins right now. Christ I'm so happy". I responded. Everybody in the joint cheered. "Congrats man, congrats man...". "Thank you, thank you, the good lord has delivered me from shame, he has done it for me," I replied almost in tears.

Faith was surprised at how I'm taking it so personal, "was she barren?" she asked.

" What? No. no, baby you won't understand. Waiter, please serve her one more drink and I placed my order too. Looks like I'm damn hungry. And please, I will pay with card !" I barked.

Am also inviting my steemit friends @alphafx, @awesomenonso, @noskiart, @beckie96830, @circwall, @davosimple, @beckie96830, @spyrex, @stitches11, @Ezege11, @rexdevex, @sonia440, @whitestallion , @alphafx , @awesononoso , @nellymartunez , @chezandras

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

!zen 30

Hey! Congratulations your post has been selected by @alejos7ven to be upvoted by @steemingcuration account, thank you for create valuable content and contribute with the community being a Steemingzen, continue doing a great job! 🧑🏻‍⚖️
#onepercent #twopercent #affable

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 220%

 3 years ago 

Helloo, what's up? I stop by to inform you that I have suggested your post to the community support program , whose support is directed by the #booming team. Remember that we are not the curators, but the ones who suggest. Hence, I wish you good luck on this. Keep up with the good work. If you haven't, check out the Steeming Community Important Announcements post.

I'll also leave you a post here about how to delegate your Steem Power to Steemingcuration, an also a post about how to join Steemingcuration Community Trail, in case you want to provide more support to the community. If you want to join our Discord server to be more in contact with us, here I leave the link in the same way. Greetings and success for you. Remember you have to attribute 30% of the post rewards for @steemingcuration account.
Friday, July 2nd, 2021.

#onepercent #venezuela #affable

Years of joy indeed, if you for just fall your hand because I am imagining the kind of excuse you could have given to get out of the situation.

 3 years ago 

I don't know if it's just me who grinned while reading this entry... really funny

Thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67