Weekly Engagement Topic | My Eid Preps

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN3 years ago (edited)


source

Be it Eid or any other religious, national or cultural festival, they all have lost their charm with each passing year.

Ever wonder why??

Globalization! Technology!

These are of great value but they have also played a hand in homogenization of cultural diversity. People are getting distant from their roots.

Eids might not have the same charm as in our childhood but still they are the most awaited events of the year. We might not make big plans on Eids anymore but still our holidays revolve around Eid. Family members try to spend the Eid together.

Same goes for me. I haven't spend a single Eid with my parents for the past 6 years, not that I make better plans with them. It's just that it is happy event and one wants to spend it with all the loved ones.


Eid-ul-Fitr

I'm not a mutton fan so Eid-ul-fitr has always been close to my heart. Back then, I used to have Henna applied on my hand, three dresses for each day with matching accessories, eid cards and eidi for friends.

For the past few years, I have been doing nothing. Literally just sleeping off the entire day. This time, I was going to do the same. But while thinking about what should I write in this post, I got a chance to reflect on some matters.

I thought my kids are growing up and I should instill some values of our religion and culture in them. Otherwise, they will not know the charm and happiness of Eid and I am playing a big role in wiping this by not telling them and showing them how the Eid should be.

For this reason, I will do Eid differentlylike old times this time. We used to have Eid parties before covid but it's not possible in the current situation so we will have to enjoy on our own.


Reviving the old-times this Eid!!!
(This just gave me a brilliant idea for a contest. I will post it in the last week of Ramzan).

picture taken by me - all rights reserved

Chand Raat

  • After moon-sighting, I will apply Henna on my hands. Maybe after 5 - 6 years. I never celebrated an Eid without henna in my childhood and now it's been ages. So as a first step to revive old times, I will apply henna on chand raat.

  • Secondly, I will make some dessert. Last Eid, I made banoffee pie but this time I am thinking to make cupcakes as my son loves them.

Banofee Pie made by me on last Eid milan party

  • My mom-in-law makes delicious Kheer (rice pudding) so I will ask her to make it again and we will distribute it among family friends on Eid.

  • I am planning to do some Eid decorations around the house with my kids and let them know more about Eid.

Eid day

  • I will give charity, offer the prayers and clean up the house.

  • Then I will make a scrumptious breakfast after one whole month of fasting.

  • After that I will get ready and make the kids ready as well. Then we will video call my parents to say Eid mubarak. After that we will call other friends and relatives and congratulate them on the auspicious day.

  • I plan to take a lot of pictures with the family to save beautiful memories.

  • Then for lunch, I will prepare Chicken Chili with Garlic Rice as per the kind request of my family. Then we will have meetha and maybe watch a movie with kids or maybe just sleep.

  • In the evening, we will go out (following SOPs) for a walk maybe and order in some food.


We will spend the next day more or less in the same manner.


Link to My Achievement 1

Sort:  

yes, you are absolutely right, now the charm of eid is not as that it was in our childhood.

BTW, I like the way you will celebrate the festival and how concerned you are about your kids upbringing regarding cultural values, Impressive!

 3 years ago 

These are the plans. I will try my best to accomplish these on this Eid.

There are somethings that you always take for granted until you become a parent yourself. I openly used to say that Eids are the most boring days of the year but now upon some reflection, I realized that it's we who make it boring. We have to make is special for our children like our parents used to do it for us.

Exactly

 3 years ago 

I will apply henna on chand raat.

Most crucial part of Eid 🌝

 3 years ago 

Haha, It used to be crucial for me. I will make sure to get it applied this time.

 3 years ago 


This post has been upvoted by the @steemit-pak official account


Delegate Steem Power To Show Your SUPPORT

100 SP250 SP500 Sp1000 SP
ClickClickClickClick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66