Weekend Trip to Gharial | Day#1 - Played Golf and Smashed it

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220225_192953.jpg

A sneak peak into the weekend


I don't remember the last time we properly planned a trip. We always make last minute plans or are always uncertain whether we would be able to go or have to call it off in the end.

There were similar circumstances last weekend. It was a long weekend as Friday was off too and we hadn't been anywhere for months. So all of a sudden, we decided to go north and stay wherever we could get guestrooms. While my husband was searching for a room, I packed. With kids, packing gets a little difficult, as no matter you take the whole wardrobe, it always feels less. As soon as the booking was confirmed, we hit the road.


So we got a room in Lipa Huts near Gharial Camp, Murree. The total route was approximately 200km and we managed to reach it in 3 hours at the Huts.

It was dark by the time we reached and there were no light poles as such so we couldn't make out the surroundings. All I could feel was cold and I was really hoping for the room to be comfortable. I am very conscious about guestrooms. In my opinion, it has to be comfortable and tidy and thankfully it was both.


We ordered dinner and settled ourselves meanwhile. It was so cold in the room but the heater made it slightly better. After dinner, we decided to just sleep and explore the area in the morning.


Next morning, I woke up to a beautiful view. There was snow scraped to the sides of pavements which I couldn't see last night. Apparently, it snowed a few weeks ago and it hadn't melted yet.

View from my room, Lipa Huts - w3w location


We got ready and ordered breakfast from the room service. By the time breakfast got ready, it got sunny outside. So we had our breakfast outdoors as winter sun is always soothing.

Breakfast


The breakfast was traditional Pakistani - paratha, omelet, chai. Menu was simple but extremely delicious.

I took my cup of tea and walked around to explore the area. One thing I liked were swings in front of our rooms. My kids happily hopped towards there. The whole area was well maintained and beautiful and most importantly best for a family getaway.

IMG_20220225_194127.jpg


For lunch, we decided to go somewhere else. There is Chinar Golf Club in Bhurban at just a 5km distance from Lipa Huts. It is one of our favorite places to relax and chill whenever we are anywhere nearby.

By the time we reached there, it was already lunch time, so we first had lunch. After that we went out to the golf course. Due to extreme cold, the lush green grass had dried. But still it looked pleasant.

This golf course has very scenic views. It's hilly all over which makes the landscape more beautiful.


Me Golf-ing

We decided to play a little golf and before anyone judges, let me tell you, I have zero knowledge about the sport. All I know is that old people enjoy it more. XD

Me massacring golf - w3w location

Anyways, first I learned how to hold the club. I was hitting the ball like they do in hockey. First few strikes were just like that. I thought it would get better but it got more hilarious. At fourth strike, I scraped the dirt and it flew farther than the ball could go.

After my several failed attempts, the guide took the matter in his hands and showed me how to swing the club. I tried to copy him by fully swinging the bat from backward to forward. This time I hit the ball slightly better.

My turn was over after that strike so I had to hand back the club.

My kids were eager to try a shot as well. Little one just kept smashing dirt and the elder one practiced with his dad. It was more fun watching them.


After golf we took some pictures of the surroundings and decided to go back to our Hut as everyone was tired.


I will continue the 2nd day activities in another post soon.

Stay tuned.

Regards,

event-horizon

Sort:  

It's always portrayed in our cliche Pakistani dramas, memes, and everywhere that once you get married, it gets boring. Abhi toh time hai enjoy karne ka abhi kyu shaadi karne ki pari hai tumhe.

Reading your posts (and I read them regularly) I believe all of that is plain bs. I mean, look at you, you are married with a couple of kids, but still here you are hitting the road with your family, enjoying with them, staying in random guesthouses and having the time of your life. Yes, surely, there are many compromises that a mom and a dad have to make but in my opinion, if both of them have got each other's backs, it gets easier doesn't it? I mean I am no expert. I'll maybe find out the reality of marriages once I 'settle down' 😂

 2 years ago (edited)

Haha. This comment made me realise that I'm living a good life, Alhamdulillah.

Marriage is not easy specially if you don't have each others back, it gets chaotic. With kids, it gets 100 times tough. I don't share the rough days here and don't want to scare away young people like you. 🤣

It's just that we prioritize our mental health more and are on the same page about this thing. So if we have 10 rough days then we make sure to do something on 11th day. It doesn't have to be a trip, it can be anything like doing grocery together or taking kids to the park or cooking together, the purpose is to spend quality time as a family.

 2 years ago 

Masha Allah evilseyesoff
I also have a son but he is very young right now so I don't go out much but seeing you also makes me want to go on a trip;)

 2 years ago 

Thanks.

Winters are coming to an end. Plan a trip with your baby. (:

Ma sha Allah
Have a nice day dear mod @event-horizon

 2 years ago 

Thank you.

 2 years ago 

U had a great day

 2 years ago 

Indeed.

 2 years ago 

Your every post's story is great well your son is so cute and the way he playing it is quite cute.

 2 years ago 

Thank you dear.

 2 years ago 

Wow you had a wonderful day

 2 years ago 

Yes.

 2 years ago 

You enjoyed golf alot, i think you and your family enjoyed this trip, have a good day

 2 years ago 

Yes, we enjoyed.

Maa sha Allah ♥️

With kids, packing gets a little difficult, as no matter you take the whole wardrobe, it always feels less

🤣 the-mrs-gorilla does the same thing. We'll go away overnight and if you were to go into our boys' room, you'd think we'd moved out. And then I'll ask her what she's packed and she'll have 4 pairs of jeans, 3 dresses, 4 pairs of shoes. We have a large car and she somehow manages to fill it up!

I take my gym bag with wash stuff and a change of clothes.

Golf is boring.

You need to listen to phone wallet keys by Adam Sandler. Here:

Just seeing the title, I thought "I already do that". If I go out, I think to myself "phone, wallet, keys" because if I've got those 3 things, it doesn't matter what I've forgotten!

 2 years ago 

Wounderful day.

 2 years ago 

Yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55093.98
ETH 2894.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22