Spanish lessons through literature/creative writing: "clase n.4

in Knack4buzz7 days ago

Dear students, are you ready to see little Diego's explanations? Why do little Diego and his 5 people family live in a flat designed for a couple? Let's discover through Spanish lesson n.4:

EL DIARIO DE DIEGO: clase n.4

Hola, mis amores...ya se estarán preguntando por qué mi familia y yo, cinco personas en todo, vivimos en un departamento diseñado para un matrimonio sin hijos o, de todos modos, para solamente dos personas. Bueno, queridos amigos y amigas: a mi hermana y a mi abuela, tal vez hasta a mi padre, les daría vergüenza decirlo. A todos, menos a mi madre. Pero, estamos entre nosotros, ¿cierto? Lo que pasa es que mi familia es pobre. Siempre fuimos pobres, aun cuando vivíamos en Córdoba. Solo vivimos en Buenos Aires desde hace poco más de dos años. Las dos son ciudades muy caras, pero la capital federal rebasa todos los límites. Sin embargo, mi familia no pudo hacer otra cosa, sino mudarnos, debido a que mi padre se había quedado desempleado de la noche a la mañana. Próximamente, les contaré más detalles. Buenas noches a todos, que descansen.

Some dictionary and cultural idiomatic language:

MIS AMORES in Latin American Spanish variant, especially the rioplatense variant, has nothing to do with questionable multiple simultaneous relationships. It's only a simple idiomatic argot that expresses affection for family members, friends and acquaintances. The singular expression MI AMOR is also typical in Brazil (MEU AMOR in Portuguese), same meaning and used even towards perfect unknown people, as local argot.

CAPITAL FEDERAL: FEDERAL CAPITAL, as Argentina, like Brazil, is a federation. Córdoba is a state capital, while Buenos Aires is the federal capital of Argentina.

CIUDAD = CITY

POBRE = POOR

MUDARSE = TO MOVE (MUDARNOS is conjugated at the 1st plural person, as Spanish grammar conjugates all verbs according to the personal pronouns), being in Spanish a reflexive verb.

DESEMPLEADO = UNEMPLOYED

BUENAS NOCHES = GOOD NIGHT

QUE DESCANSEN (pl., QUE DESCANSES, if singular): in Argentina is always added after the BUENAS NOCHES greetings

Here the video-slide with the pronunciation:


I registered the pronunciation and I added an image of Buenos Aires (the federal capital of Argentina) for the video-slide from Pixabay, among those can be freely used. You find it here:
https://pixabay.com/es/photos/buenos-aires-argentina-4862828/
Video-slide prepared with the free tools Slideshow Creator and ClipChamp default for Windows11.

Did you read the lesson and watched the video-slide? Very well, let's go now to see the English translation🤗:

DIEGO'S DIARY (=EL DIARIO DE DIEGO): lesson n.4 (=clase n.4)

Hello, my beloved friends...you may be wondering why my family and I, five people in all, live in a flat designed for a couple without children or, anyway, for only two people. Well, dear friends: my sister and my grandmother, maybe even my father, would be embarrassed to say so. All except my mother. But, we are among ourselves, aren't we? What happens is that my family is poor. We were always poor, even when we lived in Córdoba. We have only been living in Buenos Aires for a little over two years. Both are very expensive cities, but the federal capital exceeds all limits. However, my family could do nothing else but move, because my father had become unemployed overnight. I will tell you more about it soon. Good night to all of you, have a good rest.

Announcement: dear students, I'll probably soon begin to practice a sport, offered for free by the municipality of my city. I need to rekindle an organised sport activity, as many doctors recommended. But until now my studies plus my online tasks (and sometimes, the offline job, if an offline student appears), bureaucracy to fulfil (in my country, too cumbersome) hindered me. But I can't follow destroying my health, that's precarious since centuries. So when the sport starts, I'll probably not be able any more to post my Spanish lesson in a weekly basis. I suppose I'll be able once or twice per month, so I apologise and say please be patient: I'll do my best to post my lessons through creative writing at least once per month.

Previous lessons, in descending order:

https://steemit.com/hive-135004/@pousinha/spanish-lessons-through-literature-creative-writing-clase-n-3-segundo-acto

https://steemit.com/hive-135004/@pousinha/spanish-lessons-through-literature-creative-writing-clase-n-3-primer-acto

https://steemit.com/hive-135004/@pousinha/spanish-lessons-through-literature-creative-writing-clase-n-2

https://steemit.com/hive-135004/@pousinha/introducing-spanish-lessons-through-literature-creative-writing-clase-n-1

Well, so good night (better said, buenas noches, que descansen)...

Sort:  

TEAM 5

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07 We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.


SEARCH_team.webp

Curated by : @mikitaly

 7 days ago 

Thank you very much!

Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59