Dogs of My New Life

in Steem Sri Lanka16 days ago

image.png

Love for dogs has been a constant in my life since childhood, and I have had seven dogs over the years. Two of them are still at my parents' home. Leaving my beloved dogs was one of my pre-marriage fears.

Nevertheless, I had to leave them and start a new life here. As someone who loves wet dog noses and smooth fur, it wasn't easy to live without a dog. Thankfully, there are two dogs here that belong to one of Harith's aunts.

That's where Kuku and Kiki entered my life. Both dogs belong to the aunt who lives close to our house. Kiki is the older dog, about 12 years old, and the mother of Kuku. Both dogs are female.

image.png
kiki

Even though they have an owner, they typically spend time roaming between all four houses, including ours and Harith's parents' house. Before the marriage, I visited here on various occasions, but none of the dogs were particularly friendly with me.

image.png
kuku
Within a week of moving in, I managed to win them over. It was easy with food and gentle talking.

Kiki and Kuku used to have the bad habit of refusing meals without meat. Now, they eat anything I give them without any issues, as long as it's mixed well. Kiki hates water and dislikes bathing.

Kuku, on the other hand, is easier to manage. Sometimes I join Kuku's human mother to bathe her.

Kuku can sometimes be aggressive towards people for no apparent reason. She hates the color red and even looks at me strangely when I wear red.

Throughout the night, they dig holes all over our garden. But we never send them away. Around 1:30 PM, they come to our back door because they know that's when we put out leftover food. No matter how hungry I am, I always save some food for them. After a bit of coaxing, they eat the food.

The worst thing about them is that our bond is mostly based on food. Unlike my own dogs, Bingo and Lasi, their love isn't consistent.

But still, they make my day.

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

This post has been upvoted by @italygame witness curation trail


If you like our work and want to support us, please consider to approve our witness




CLICK HERE 👇

Come and visit Italy Community



Hi @randulakoralage,
my name is @ilnegro and I voted your post using steem-fanbase.com.

Come and visit Italy Community

Kiki and Kuku!❤️ They are so cute like their names!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 63351.43
ETH 3495.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53