WHERE IS THE FRIEND'S HOME? (1987) - A Movie Review | 100% Power UpsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Sri Lanka4 years ago

Where is the Friend's Home? (1987) - Iran
Dir: Abbas Kiarostami

My Rating - 5/5

PicsArt_12-16-11.54.01.jpg

Amazing. So simple, so realistic.

My first film of Kiarostami.

Where is the Friend's Home is a film made by a man who was once a little child, and it's a film made for people, who were once little children.

image.png
Source

Sounds ridiculous, yeah. But... Abbas Kiarostami's take on childhood is so realistic that this took me to the mind and soul of the little version of myself. As an adult, the answers are too simple. "Why didn't he just do this? Why didn't he just do that?".. But for Ahmed? No, it wasn't that simple.

image.png
Source

From the very beginning, this film is masterful, and you see it everywhere. Plot is very, very simple but the film touches you at the right spot. While the story goes, we are introduced to the culture, practices, mindsets of the people in the film, Kiarostami cleverly maintains the pace and balances it with story so that certain atmosphere will contribute fully to the feeling that viewer gets. All Performances are great, especially the lead child actor, Babek Ahmed Poor. After seeing Children of Heaven, Color of Paradise and this, I'm starting to think that best child performers of world cinema come from Iran.

image.png
Source

I don't know if this film reflects politics, I heard so but I don't see how. For me, Where is the Friend's Home? is a film that enables the viewer to see the world through children's eyes, and adults have absolutely no idea what's going on with them, don't want to know either.

"Let's go, take me there"

  • "I can't, I have to carry these milk cans"

"I didn't do it."

  • "Why didn't do your homework?"
    "My back hurts."

image.png
Source

IMDb Rating - 8.1
Rotten Tomatoes - 100%
Letterboxd - 4.2/5

Source

An absolute gem of a piece of this masterwork

Sort:  

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵
Steem Sri Lanka | Contest Series | Round 2 | Week 4 | Recall Memories of 2020

Win Amazing Vote Prizes upto 50% from @ steemcurator2 + more prizes

Thank you 😊

You have been upvoted by randulakoralage a Country Representative from SRI LANKA we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and come join our #thediarygame Season 2 you can get steem for commenting too with our #onepercent
Steem on!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45