Talk About Your Hobby | Steem Sri Lanka 3G Contest Series| Week 05 | It's all about Cricket

in Steem Sri Lanka โ€ข 3 years ago

Well, it's a nice contest by @sandun98 malli.

We all live a busy life, mostly with a regular, dumb routine. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… So, at least once in a while, there should be a way to get rid of that system, have some fun and release the stress. Having a caring hobby will do that for you!

There are different hobbies more or less throughout my life. Collecting stamps and stickers, listening to songs, reading, travelling, watching movies etc. But there's one thing I have never been tired of.

Yeah, it's Cricket! For me it's is not just a game. Itโ€™s an emotion. Part of life. We two have unconditional love and a bond towards each other. There is joy, excitement, and also heart breakings, disappointments whenever I deal with it. But no matter what, this special bond will continue forever. ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜Isn't it guys? I need a comment from the Cricket lovers here.

image.png
src

There are few special reasons to attract me to this special game. The main one is the vintage Sri Lankan team. I born in 1996, the same year that we lifted the ODI world cup, the great day of Sri Lankan Cricket. With that, there is a big boom in each and every corner of the country. I can remember how my father, brothers and cousins talked about those time.

I must be around 7/8 years when I started to watch matches. At that time Sana, Murali, Vaas, then Sanga, Mahela, Dilshan, Herath, Mali were the favourites. And also I always appreciate good cricket around the world.

In my life, there are few chapters of cricket!!

During School days

That was the time, we were really sunk into this. No mobile phones or computers! Less academic stress. Just wanted to play Cricket as much as possible. During the O/L s', I was in the English Medium section, there were only 6 boys in my class. And ironically, the section was just near the playground. So, with any free time, we were outside. We had our ground rules... ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ And the teachers had to cover the wall of the classroom, as we always looked at the playground. After school time, we played in the village with the gang. still wanted to go back to those days.

Can you guys recognize me? ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž

image.png

Well, I used to play for the school hardball team under 13, 15 and 17. We could have some great achievements from that. Our team got selected for a 7-day tour to India in 2012. ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹ Well, it was tough with fewer facilities but still beautiful!

I can't remember how many times we have been punished by the teachers with habit. Most of the times, we kept one to check whether the principal or teachers are coming on the way. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… I'll tell you about one experience. One day we were caught by the principal along with three teachers. That day there were our two senior classroom brothers as well. ๐Ÿ˜… There is an open stage in the middle of the school. We were asked to play there without bats and balls for an hour. Some were holding the bats on heads, some pretend as fielders and bowlers. It was really embarrassing. ๐Ÿ˜…

Watching Games

In those days, I never missed a match. In Sri Lanka, we had Channel Eye and then CSN to telecast live matches. I can remember that the 2007 world cup was at night in Sri Lankan time. But used to spend sleepless nights.

There were happy as well as heartbreaking moments in Sri Lankan Cricket. I can remember that feeling when we won the t20 world cup in 2014. But before that, we had to lose 4 world cup finals in quick succession. 2009 & 2012 t20 world cups, and 2007 & 2011 ODI world cups. But that's what this game is!!!!


image.png

But with time, I couldn't watch full matches always. But still tried to update as much as possible. Crickbuzz is a very busy app on my phone. And there is youtube too, to watch the highlights. Once you in, can't get rid of watching. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Watching matches in the stadium is a different weed too. You should try at least once. And don't miss the fun of playing cricket games too... Boy, there are too much to write about this!!


Blogging

Well, just after joining the steemit, we could start our World of Cricket ๐Ÿ community and I am one of the mods there. So, I could have the fun of sharing ideas about cricket as well. Now there are more than 600 subscribers in the community as well!!

image.png

Out of my 182 posts, there are 66 posts related to Cricket. Is it too much??

These some of my favourites of those articles!

My Favourite Wicketkeeper Batsman - Legendary Sanga
The greatest day of Sri Lankan Cricket | 25 year anniversary
Highest partnership for any wicket (by Mahela and Sanga)
Test Cricket at its best! - Remarkable Victory for India
My Favorite Bowler || Lasith Malinga

So, well that's it! Thank you for every memory given to me!! I am really grateful for being a Cricket lover then, now and forever!!

Thank you!
Best Regards!

Sort: ย 

Desconozco este juego pero es bonito la manera que hablas de el. Siempre digo que la infancia sin mรณviles fue mejor. Un saludo

ย 3 years agoย 

Thank you for stopping by!! Yeah, Cricket is very popular in small set of countries!!

oh you have a good cricket history.

Can you guys recognize me?

I can't find you among these little monkeys

hmmm... I am wondering how @sandun98 selects winners. So competitive.

ย 3 years agoย 

Yeah, lot of memories of this!!

I can't find you among these little monkeys

seriously?๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Congratulations !

logo-seven.png
Your post has been manually rewarded by The Seven Team. If you want to get more rewards consider follow our Curation Trail and become in a Seven now.
Starting to fly. Seven is not just a number, is the name of a Family.

Felicidades !

logo-seven.png
Tu post ha sido manualmente recompensado por El Seven Team. Si quieres obtener mas recompensas considera seguir nuestro Curation Trail y conviertete en un Seven ahora.
Empezando a volar. Seven no es solo un nรบmero, es el nombre de una familia.

V. interesting article. I tried much to recognize by comparing your facecut with all those faces, but unable to guess.

ย 3 years agoย (edited)

love to read this one ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

ย 3 years agoย (edited)

Wow.. I never knew the background story of you ๐Ÿ˜…. Now I know why you are so obsessed with cricket.

Good luck with the contest

Thank you so much for your participation. This is entry No.66

Campus eke kare nadda? ๐Ÿ™„

You have been upvoted by @tarpan A Country Representative, we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for the latest update. You can also check out this link which provides the name of the existing community according to specialized subject

There are also various contest is going on in steemit, You just have to enter in this link and then you will find all the contest link, I hope you will also get some interest,

For general information about what is happening on Steem follow @steemitblog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57112.10
ETH 2405.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28