Steem Sri Lanka - Contest Series | Round 02 | Week 04 – Memories of 2020: Totally satisfied amidst all the challengessteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

It was a typical start for the new year in January first, 2020 with mother’s milk rice and blessings of the loved ones. Full of dreams in the mind, to achieve in the year. I planted a coconut plant in the corner of the garden. I was more excited because it’s the final year of my University life.

But, unfortunately, it's like a bad dream for the entire world with the Covid-19 pandemic. Yet again we are witnessing the tragedy in the twenties, which we have read in the books. You know about that, right? Unless, leave a comment. 🤓🤓

Amidst all the challenges, 2020 is a pretty good year for me. Not the best, but good enough with great memories, new experiences, and experiments mixed with happy and sad moments.

So this is my flashback diary, for the contest Recall Memories of 2020 organized by @sandu in Steem Sri Lanka community.

Uni Life

As I remember it was the second week of January when uni started. My last semester of the third year was going on. We were busy catching up with old friends and the beauty of uni after the Industrial training and Survey camp. So, the beginning is pretty cool with no rush at all.

  • Civil Pedura

It's a musical program in our Civil Engineering Department with singing and dancing. Lecturers also really keen to take part in this annual event. So, we were busy with all the decorations and practices. That was a great start to the year with all the fun and excitement.

Here are some decorations we made.

photo_2020-12-17_20-45-27.jpg

Meanwhile, there were lectures, practicals, assignments, presentations, and semester-end exams. Typical uni life!

photo_2020-12-17_20-44-37.jpg

But the life changes, when covid patients were found out on the island. In March uni was closed.

Quarantine

Well, life changed entirely after then. The whole country was locked down for a few weeks. I don't wish to talk about it, as I have shared about the experience earlier. You can have a look here..

But, I need to share this. One of the best experiences I had this year. Gardening! Yeah, I am a happy farmer.

photo_2020-12-17_20-45-55.jpg

Helping Hands | Meth Sewana Foundation

This is another memorable moment of the year. I could engage in a charity program for mentally and physically disabled kids. We could give them dinner and some presents for them. Their smiles will be remembered forever to us. If you need the full article, just check here.

photo_2020-12-17_20-44-59.jpg

Traveling

The top-rated hobby in my life. What's the reason for being born on an amazing island, without exploring it. Even though I couldn't join long trips with the situation in the county, there are some memorable outings with my buddies.

  • Yala National Park

Yala is one of the best wildlife sightings in the country. It’s home to wildlife such as leopards, elephants, and crocodiles, as well as hundreds of bird species. Weheragala Reservoir is also located inside the jungle. So, we had a two-day trip in January there with all the fun in the world.

photo_2020-12-17_20-45-14.jpg

The big fellow

photo_2020-12-17_20-45-48.jpg

  • Thissa

There is a very popular, recent Sri Lankan Tv series 'Thanmalvila Kollek'. It's basically about the life of rural youth, which has been portrayed nicely. The location was near Thissa. Yeah, that's one hell of beautiful scenery. I had a friend near the area, so we could have Lunch from his home.

photo_2020-12-17_20-45-34.jpg

  • Wellawaya

This is not far away from my home. Just 20km away. There are a number of waterways and springs.

photo_2020-12-17_20-45-08.jpg

Steemit Journey

Another remarkable turning point in my life. Thanks, @randulakoralage for introducing me here where I can share my passion.

IMG_20200912_183834.jpg

It's been just 3 months, where I could achieve a lot of things here. Being the winner of #spud4steem October, being moderators in Steem Sri Lanka as well as World of Cricket communities, winning and organizing contests, ... An SSL community is always just like a family for me now.

And special thanks to @steemcurator01, @steemcurator02, and the whole steemit team for continuous support and guidance.

There is a lot more to say about this year. But I think now I should stop. I know I could be more productive this ear, but as a whole, I can look back and have a smile at the same time. Despite all the challenges in life, I could survive another year. I started to think more about myself, my health, my mental strength, and the future.

So, the year has been gone. Now it's time to have a better plan for the year 2021. Don't worry about the past, my friends! Always believe in yourself! The best things are yet to come.

Thank you!
Best Regards!

Sort:  

Hola amigo, que año tan maravilloso has tenido a pesar de las adversidades.
Si nos damos cuenta todos encontramos este año algo que nos hacia falta y no veiamos pues andabamos muy rapido en la vida, asi que la vida nos puso en pausa un instante y se hizo el milagro.
Ha sido un gusto leerte, te deseo un año 2.021 lleno de maravillosas posibilidades.
Saludos.

Yeah without always talking about the bad side of the year, we should see the positives as well.

Ha sido un gusto leerte, te deseo un año 2.021 lleno de maravillosas posibilidades.
Saludos.

Thank you very much my friend!

Thank you very much!

Thank You For Your Entry.


Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵
Steem Sri Lanka | Contest Series | Round 2 | Week 5 | Secrets of Success

Win Amazing Vote Prizes upto 50% from @ steemcurator2 + more prizes

First few paragraphs of your post are same for me too. 😊
about civil padura, I also participated on that day. and you guys did a great job. 😍 very nice.

I am a happy farmer.

okay! we too agree with this. we know that you are a great farmer 😍

I could engage in a charity program for mentally and physically disabled kids

i think you had great day with those amazing, beautiful and innocent souls. 😊

What's the reason for being born on an amazing island, without exploring it.

good quotation to remember !🤩

Yala is one of the best wildlife sightings in the country.

me! who haven't visited there yet 😥😥

so we could have Lunch from his home.

wow! you guys are lucky.

Just 20km away. There are a number of waterways and springs.

guys i think we need to go on a trip. 🤩🤩

Another remarkable turning point in my life.

mine too.
thank you for participating Damith!
good luck. happy 2021 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43