Football Nostalgia || Euro '96 Round-Up

in World Of Football ⚽3 years ago (edited)

image.png
Scanned from original magazine

I enjoyed writing my Bryan Robson's Testimonial article as well as reading your comments so with little else to write about, I've got out an old pile of 1996 Shoot magazines for another bit of nostalgia (along with a sneaky contest). It makes sense (to me anyway) to choose the closest magazine to today's date so I bring you the 13th July 1996.

shoot-130796.png
Scanned from original magazine

Just looking at the cover, there were plenty of things to choose from. This magazine was released shortly after Euro '96 so there was still plenty of England news to talk about - Terry Venables had left the England job to be replaced by Glenn Hoddle, Stuart Pearce had decided to retire from international football after putting his Italia '90 penalty miss right, Tim Sherwood shares his disappointment at missing out on the Euro squad altogether and a general Euro '96 round-up. Elsewhere, Gianluca Vialli had just signed for Ruud Gullit's Chelsea and we were offered lots of posters (which Shoot was renowned for).

So plenty to choose from and an afternoon out with the family to think about it...

And after much deliberation, the Euro '96 round-up won through. Having read countless comparisons between this year's Euros and Euro '96, it felt like the obvious choice.

The Round-Up started by covering the final between Germany and the Czech Republic which was decided by an Oliver Bierhoff Golden Goal:

Source

The goalkeeping summarised as:

He was at fault with both the German goals in their group win over his side and cocked-up again this time, handing the vital, controversial second goal to Bierhoff - and the trophy to Berti's boys.

The controversy being that in olden times, offside was much simpler and...

Striker Stefan Kuntz was clearly standing in an offside position, with the linesman waving his flag to signal he had spotted the infringement. Source

image.png
Source

Pretty obvious if you ask me.

Next is a piece by Jimmy Greaves covering England (he put £100 on us to win the tournament), the biggest cock-up (Arrigo Sacchi making 5 changes after winning their opening game - they subsequently lost to the Czech Republic and failed to get out of their group), the best goal (Klinsmann's goal v. Russia), the best player (Matthias Sammer), England's heroes (David Seaman, Gareth Southgate and Alan Shearer) and a giggle (the Queen bit quoted below). There are some gems in here so I'll quote a couple of bits...

...we were awful against Switzerland; not much better against Scotland; good against a poor Holland side and poor against a good Spain side before going out to Germany despite an excellent effort.

No sooner had the Queen presented German boss Berti Vogts with his winner's medal than she was off. She looked bored with the whole affair and wanted to get back to the palace for News at Ten.

Then an article titled "Back where we belong" where each England player gives their verdict on Euro '96, the summary being the complete opposite to what Jimmy Greaves thought:

We are back at the top of world football.

Every player was proud of what England achieved but one quote stands out (guess who - no prizes for guessing this one)...

Obviously I will never forget Euro '96 and although everyone has been great to me I will not be satisfied until I have found some way of making amends for THAT penalty.

And a 5 Steem prize to anybody who can guess this one...

We proved that we can compete with the best in the world. It would have been great to have won the tournament but there is always the next time. I am just glad that we shut up the critics with some good performances.

(I think I'll start putting little prizes in my articles to see if people read them 🤣 - The 1st person to guess correctly wins, 1 guess per person)

It finished off with some crappy fan photos and some stats and facts from the tournament. Nothing very interesting other than England winning the Fair Play Trophy which we also won at Italia '90 - My all-time 2 favourite international tournaments.

Thank you for reading and I look forward to hearing your thoughts 🤔


Previous Football Nostalgia

  1. Bryan Robson's Testimonial (November 17, 1990)

image.png

Fantasy Sports Fantasy Premier League Contest is now open with a current Prize Fund of 300 STEEM. Click here to find out more and enter.

image.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Great Eurocup, it was my first, I remember it perfectly ... that's where the famous golden goal ended, crazy.

I think it's the 1st one I really remember too. I remember Italia '90 but can't remember Euro '92 (probably because England weren't there for very long 😆)

 3 years ago 

If seriously that was my first Eurocup, my first World Cup was USA 94, Euro 92 and the World Cup of 90 if I do not remember, I was very small.

I remember that one very well. From Diana Ross missing the goal from 2 yards all the way to the legendary Roberto Baggio missing the crucial penalty.

I was on holiday in Devon for the final 🙂

 3 years ago 

We proved that we can compete with the best in the world. It would have been great to have won the tournament but there is always the next time. I am just glad that we shut up the critics with some good performances.

I think it was Gareth Southgate🤔

Good effort, the one without the prize was Gareth Southgate -

Obviously I will never forget Euro '96 and although everyone has been great to me I will not be satisfied until I have found some way of making amends for THAT penalty.

 3 years ago 

Oh not bad😆 but can I have another go at the one with the prize😬🤦🏾‍♂️

🙄 Ok, you can have another crack...

 3 years ago 

😀🤔

 3 years ago 

Great game it was.

 3 years ago 

And regarding the appointment where you offer 5 steem hahaha ... someone from the Czech Republic team said it, but I don't remember his name, I think it was the technician.

Ha ha - well I'm glad you noticed (unlike the person who keeps commenting without reading beyond the title) although this bit will help narrow it down:

...where each England player gives their verdict on Euro '96

So the person is an England player from Euro '96. One guess - who would you like to go for? 🤔

 3 years ago 

Alan Shearer.? Hahaha

It's good - but it's not right 👎

We proved that we can compete with the best in the world. It would have been great to have won the tournament but there is always the next time. I am just glad that we shut up the critics with some good performances.

Is it Harry Kane though...?! I think he made a similar comment post-match.

@the-gorilla

🤨 I'm afraid you're some way off with this guess - Kane would've been approaching his 3rd birthday when this was said 🧖‍♂️

Ouch.. totally off the track.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63