Building Westminster Presbyterian Church in Minecraft, Part 1

in Build the Earth4 years ago (edited)
Steem is a blockchain form of social media that pays its users. Learn more

Hello everyone! This is my first post attempting to build my hometown of West Chester, Pa for the Build the Earth project. I have set up a community here on Steem for users to post their progress in, and earn rewards.

I had an elaborate plan to build my street for the "The Street Where I Live" writing challenge, but the mod pack did not recognize any of the buildings in my neighborhood as existing (likely due to the large amount of trees). I learned on the discord that I would need to manually outline the buildings, so I just decided to build something near my street. My childhood church (which is about 3 minutes away) (not to be confused with the church I now work at). Westminster Presbyterian Church is rather incredible as a building, and I decided it would be a very fun first project.

Build

For today, I only made the sanctuary. I apologize if any of the video seems choppy, I was learning as I went in regards to the replay mod.

Here is a side by side comparison:

Before I show the building process, I would like to explain the video's music choice.

For those of you who don't know, the world famous composer Samuel Barber grew up in West Chester. 100 years ago, he attended the same school district as me (which back then consisted of one school), and, at the age of 12, he became my church's paid organist. He would later leave because he did not agree with the way the church added fermatas to music. But, none the less, he is a huge idol in my area; especially at my church. As a result, I made the background his Agnus Dei (which is the music for the Adagio for Strings. Here is the first part of me building Westminster:

Conclusion

Thanks for reading this! If you are interested in joining in posting your progress in this project, here is the article I wrote about the community! See you next time!

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

This is excellent. Looking forward to learning more about the Build the Earth project.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

 4 years ago 

Thank you very much! I am going to start sharing this community around with some of the people I have met in the project.

I have laid out some more thoughts on the Steem-Greeter Achievement System in this post. I would very much appreciate your input (as well as community input) on how to proceed. Specifically on whether you want to set up the community, or if I should, and any ideas you have for changing the achievements/rules.

More news soon. Just catching up.

The Steemit Team

 4 years ago (edited)

You sure about that last part? My balance seems to be about 30,000 stake less...

Please do not advertise Hive here.

I'm sorry for your lost, Did you know you were voting for centralization at the time? Have you considered an appeal, there's a few random account that applied via DHF and are going to get their airdrop.

 4 years ago (edited)

No. I did not vote for "centralization". I voted for decentralization. It is so frustrating that so many people seem to think they can psychoanalyze my (or anyone's) intentions in how I (they) voted. People need to mind their own business. No one should be punished for voting in any way, for any reason.

No I am not posting an appeal. I did nothing wrong. I'm just not gonna use Hive ever. Maybe some will like that. Maybe some won't. I don't really care. I am not going to respect a platform that has wronged me in this way.

If you still can't understand why the decision was made to exclude those account I can't help you.

You think Hive has wronged you? Do you think Hive was created to wrong you? It's a new network built with lots of hard work and sharing a common ideology of fairness and decentralization.

Whatever happened, sorry that you've been left out of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46