Steem-Greeter Achievement System Further Proposals

in #sas4 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! As many of you may know, I was one of the 4 selected greeters for the Steem community. In addition to commenting on new Steemians articles, I hope to design an achievement system that will be an improvement for introducing new users to the concepts behind Steem. If anyone missed the first article, here it is. Within this article, I have a few ideas that I am listing. I am going to wait for any potential community feedback, and for the Steemit Team's go ahead to begin preparations. My ideas.

The Environment

I was thinking it would be best to set up a community for the newcomer achievement system. I am not sure if the Steemit team will want me to set up the community, or if they intend to set up the community (if this is the case).

The only rules I would have would discourage:

  • Spam
  • Plagiarism
  • Posts that are longer than 2,000 words, or too short to demonstrate the achievement
  • Posting if at a reputation of 60 or higher when starting
  • Cross posting to other platforms

In the community, I hope to pin a main article with all of the achievements. Each of the achievements will have a hyperlink to a mini article about the criteria that needs to be met to earn the achievement, as well as resources to assist in learning what needs to be learned.

The actual achievements

First of all, feel free to respond with other ideas (or ideas to change them). So far, I have thought of 7 total achievement posts. 4 that are chronological, and 3 that are in response to specific events. My ideas are:

Chronological

1.) Musical Markdown - A post about the user's 5 favorite songs that demonstrates the basics of markdown (headers, YouTube embeds, bold, hyperlinks, and italics)
2.) Unlocking Steem - A post summarizing the purpose of each of the different Steem keys, and includes the user's personal thoughts on the keys.
3.) Masterful Markdown - A post about any topic that includes a public domain image, and demonstrates the more advanced markdown and Steem editor features (tables and text and image positioning, as well as overall smooth formatting).
4.) Steemizenship - A post that demonstrates a fundamental understanding of how the Steem Blockchain works, and includes what the user hopes to get out of the Steem blockchain.

Situational

5.) First Closing - A post after the user's first author payout talking about their initial thoughts and impressions of Steem.
6.) Content Curator - A post that includes at least three articles that the user has voted for, as well as why they curated these articles.
7.) Branching Out - A post about the first community you join.

Conclusion

I am posting this specifically for feedback, so feel free to criticize. I hope that this system will eventually help new users to get their feet on the ground! I will be using the tag #sas for posts about the Steem-Greeter Achievement system.

Special thanks to my fellow Steem Greeters:

@mariita52
@kiwiscanfly
@cryptokannon

I would very much appreciate their input, and I encourage them to participate, and/or consider setting up their own personal achievement systems (and communities) for their respective cultures.

I look forward to working together, and if anyone needs to reach me, my discord is in my bio!

Sort:  

Hi @cmp2020, I see you just joined our discord! Nice, so we are going to discuss this post with other influencers in the community chat, great input! Thank you!!

Hello @cmp2020
Thanks for the mention
In my country it's 11 at night and I'm listening to Hasret- Omar Faruk Tekbilek and Borusan Philharmonic with Itamar Erez, relaxing now to sleep, maybe I should read again tomorrow, if I have internet in the day.
I am concentrating on Reputation, less than 50.
And in those who, although they have time with their accounts, left and returned. Right now is what my mind manages to process. Have a dream or a happy day.

Thank you for these very good ideas.

We will be setting up the new Community very shortly and will be making all the Steem Greeters Moderators in that.

It will be good if you can also connect with the new @steemingcurators project set up by @cryptokannon and @ciska.

Hopefully you can all pool ideas and resources and ideas.

Together you will make an excellent team to help newcomers to Steem.

The Steemit Team

The achievement system is a great idea @cmp2020 I was thinking the same idea too, maybe we all can apply your idea and make our own achievement system to track the progress of our newusers that under our wing. Perhaps I will tweak it a little here and there making it casual and fun for everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65