Build the Earth Construction Hunt #2 - A Contest for Builders and Viewers (4/24/2021 - 5/1/2021)

in Build the Earth3 years ago (edited)
Hello everyone! Considering this was the first week that this contest happened, I am very pleased with the articles that were produced, and look forward to sharing some of the results from this week with you. I will be running another contest this week that will end on May first at 11am. I will be discussing several things in this article: the contest winners, the rules for next week's contest, and the details of how the community and facebook page have grown (and discuss my theories about advertising). First of all, let's announce what everyone is waiting for - the winners!

Winners of the contest last week

Fourth Place

Though I did not plan to reward fourth place, since there were only 4 articles, I have decided to give 5 Steem to @franklin.tsosa for his article discussing North America.

Third Place

In total, there were four valid submissions to last week's contest. For third place, I have selected @stephenpaul for his article discussing the a build the Earth trailer which demonstrates the beauty of the Build the Earth landscape, as well as the project's recreation of several of the wonders of the World (such as Stone Henge and the Pyramids). This post featured quite attractive builds, and was written well.

Reward: 10 Steem

Second Place

For second place, I have decided to select @intansariritonga's article discussing Hunt3rt's build of the Castle Palace in Budapest, Hungary. I really was impressed by this build, and @intansaritonga's description of it! It was a unique choice of video, and an attractive build to write about!

Reward: 25 Steem

First Place

For first place, I have decided to select @ruzmaira's article discussing Builds in both France and Hong Kong. @ruzmaira chose excellent builds to discuss, and really made these builds come to life in their article. I ultimately was also impressed by their description of the Build the Earth project, and their reassurance that anyone can participate. I think these things considered will make it an attractive post to advertise on Facebook.

Reward: 50 Steem, and two $7 ads in the Build the Earth facebook page.

rewards proof.PNG

ad proof.PNG

The Contest

The Build the Earth Construction Hunt is all about finding the best builds from the Build the Earth project. If you are participating in the project, you are welcome to submit one of your own builds! If you are not participating, I invite you to curate the wide selection of builds that are out there! You can find videos and photos from creators all across social media. Just make sure it is from the Build the Earth project. The object of the contest is to create an article that portrays one of these builds in a way that is attractive to viewers both outside and inside of the Steem ecosystem. Keep in mind that the quality of the build is important, but much more important is the quality of the article. The rewards will consist of:

1st Place - 50 Steem Power (and two $7 facebook ads)
2nd Place - 25 Steem Power
3rd Place - 10 Steem Power

I reserve the right to not select winners if I do not deem the content adequate
I will be powering up the rewards to the winner's accounts

Facebook and other social media

In addition to this community, I have launched a facebook page for the Build the Earth community. I will be sharing the most attractive articles to that facebook page, and will be purchasing an ad for the 1st place article using a portion of the liquid portion of this article's rewards (the rest will go towards future ads and prizes). Please help me by following the page, and liking and sharing the posts.

The goal is to naturally reach people already participating in the Build the Earth project. So if you are using another creator's content from a different platform, it would be HIGHLY beneficial for you to leave a meaningful comment that informs them that you've decided to write about their build with a link to your article.

The Rules

  • Posts MUST be in decent English
  • Other information may be included to provide context and background to the build, but the topic of the post MUST be a Minecraft build in the Build the Earth project.
  • Posts MUST be at least 400 words
  • Posts MUST be well-formatted.
  • Posts MUST not use any offensive or vulgar language.
  • Posts MUST be in The Build the Earth Community.
  • Posts MUST be Steem exclusive.
  • Posts MUST link to information about the build being discussed and full credit must be given to the actual builders.
  • Only one article per user can be submitted, and to be counted as a submission, a link MUST be commented on THIS POST.
  • Submissions after 11am EDT on April 24th will not be accepted, and the winners will be announced later in the day.

Resources to use

I know a lot of people were confused last week about what Build the Earth is, so I am now listing some of their pages for users to visit. To those confused, if you aren't participating in the project, you should find a Build on one of these pages, or from another participant in the Build the Earth project and write your own original post about the build. As I find more teams' accounts, I will add them to this list.

Group NameYouTubeFacebookInstagram
Build the Earthchannelpageprofile
Alpschanneln/aprofile
Canadan/an/aprofile
Colombia, Venezuela, and Ecuadorchanneln/aprofile
Francechannelpageprofile
Germanychanneln/aprofile
Italychanneln/aprofile
New Jerseychanneln/aprofile
Oceaniachanneln/aprofile
Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Kentuckyn/an/aprofile
Romaniachanneln/aprofile
Theme Parkschanneln/aprofile
United Kingdomchanneln/aprofile

Community Growth and Facebook Growth

For those of you who have made it this far, I figured I would share the numbers I recorded this week. In total, the community had 71 new subscribers this week, and the facebook page grew from 0 likes and follows to 21.

Community.PNG

My $15 ad for the facebook post about Building Rustin did really well. I meant to purchase an ad targeting link clinks, but instead accidentally posted an ad targeting engagement. One of the things that really surprised me was that there were several users who commented about discovering Steem. One conversation between a group of friends was really interesting though they concluded "the coin is probably worthless, but crypto is crypto." This makes me think that targeting engagement might be the way to go. I also grew the size of the Facebook page by inviting everyone who liked the post to like the page. Several of the users who did have been engaging in other posts on the page. My hope is to grow the page too so that the community will be taken seriously. I purchased another 15 dollar ad today targeting link clinking on the same post (it's still in review. Let's hope it's approved). I want to see how the engagement effects link clicks. Anyway, here are the statistics for this ad:

Ads.PNG

I have decided that instead of buying one 15 dollar ad for each post, I will buy a 7 dollar engagement ad and then a week later buy another 7 dollar link click ad. For those of you curious about the demographics I set up for the ad, here is the target audience I used:

Ad details.PNG

Once again, my belief (and @remlaps' belief) is that it might be super beneficial for communities to begin purchasing ads on a Facebook Page that is analogous to their community. I will continue to log what I try, and whether it works or not. Once again, I will be using the liquid rewards from the competition post to fund future contests, and to convert to USD and pay for ads. Please consider supporting this post if you are interested in growing Steem through this community.

Conclusion

Thanks for reading this! This week was definitely successful in my opinion for Build the Earth. I have finished the build for my next post, but still have much editing to do (and finals are this week) so it might be a bit. Please consider supporting this community by voting for this post, and by curating the submissions to this contest! Have a great day!

Sort:  

Wow. Thank you for the excellent award sincerely, I did not expect it this way, I am happy I hope to continue contributing to this beautiful community that will gradually grow from the hand of @cmp2020 and @remlaps.

Again thank you very much.

Hello everyone, please take a look at my participation in the 2 # of minecraft, collect a content about theme parks, some belong to the project, others do not. If you like the post, please vote and share.
https://steemit.com/hive-127166/@franklin.tsosa/build-the-earth-construction-hunt-2-theme-parks-en-minecraft

Hello, let me participate in this contest, I hope the article I write meets the contest criteria. Thank you.

https://steemit.com/hive-127166/@intansariritonga/build-the-earth-construction-hunt-2-hun3rt-eps-40-build-the-earth

Thanks for your support, I hope this contest will attract more enthusiasts.

Amazing! I'm really glad my article was acknowledged and rewarded. I'm so excited and thankful for the support and Initiative. Its a privilege to be part of this community, I hope to participate in more contests and contribute anyway I can.Thanks a lot.

thanks for the support. The country's situation is very difficult for the Latino, I appreciate the support, I hope I can improve my contribution to the community in order to be truly worthy of an award. thanks to you and thanks to steemit because with the award he gave me the opportunity to help my family. thank you thank you thank you

thankyou sir this time i shall work hard and i hope you shall appreciate me because i am a newcomer.thankyou

@cmp2020 I really liked what you are doing since I am a nature lover, continue like this and I will be waiting for the next contest to motivate you with my content

Wow! Thanks so much @cmp2020 for the great offer and support. I'm always happy and glad to read your posts

Great first week for this contest.

Happy to see it continuing.

Thank you

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86