Engagement Challenge-S8W1 | Cultural Fashion

in Steem Fashion&Stylelast year

IMG_20221022_160948_64.jpg

introduction

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9UMcpUGyRcqjWm99M97E87tKtaVi4Pxr8K99Lxs9yaKrfGaiM4HJf1jkqdeyPeCY9J1eqfxh2XajZB4 (1).png

Hello beloved steemian, it's so wonderful to be participating in this week's engagement challenge which specifically talks about our different cultural attire and I'm so glad to share with everyone my cultural attire.

My cultural attire

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9UMcpUGyRcqjWm99M97E87tKtaVi4Pxr8K99Lxs9yaKrfGaiM4HJf1jkqdeyPeCY9J1eqfxh2XajZB4 (1).png

IMG_20221022_160952_802.jpg

We all know that culture is an integral part of all humans as it tells so much about our heritage, personality, environment especially here in Africa. I am an indigene of Akwa Ibom State located in the South South of my beloved country Nigeria. Nigeria is home to many indigenous traditions and culture, and my culture is not excluded from this list of eloquent and awe inspiring cultural magnificence.

Akwa Ibom is home to many ethnic groups such as the Annangs, Ibibios, Eket, Oron and the Efiks. Even with these diversity we do share some similarities in our cultural attire but the stories that they tell are different. I am proudly an Efik woman by birth and any time I put on my cultural outfit I feel this sense of pride that comes with the attire.

⭐What is your specific cultural attire and how frequently do you wear it?

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9UMcpUGyRcqjWm99M97E87tKtaVi4Pxr8K99Lxs9yaKrfGaiM4HJf1jkqdeyPeCY9J1eqfxh2XajZB4 (1).png

My culture has diverse attires that we put on for different occasions, to list a few, we have;

  1. Black, silver, and golden onyonyo
    2.Straight-fitted Onyonyo
    3.Straight fitted gown with gele
    4.Maiden Ankara outfit

My favorite is the Straight fitted green lace gown with gele, and it's sown with a cotton linen with a silver bead to make it more beautiful, though I don't really wear this attire like that because is very costly, I use it occasionally and the last time I wore it was during my twin brother traditional marriage and that was last year October.

IMG_20221022_181928_23.jpg

You can see it the group pictures that even my sister wore our traditional attire but in different colors, even the groom and the bride wore theirs too. To show you how our traditional attire comes out in different styles.

⭐List and describe the activities for which you use this cultural attire.

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9UMcpUGyRcqjWm99M97E87tKtaVi4Pxr8K99Lxs9yaKrfGaiM4HJf1jkqdeyPeCY9J1eqfxh2XajZB4 (1).png

I use my favorite cultural attire; on Sunday service, Weddings and Naming ceremony's. Like I earlier said that I sew it because of my twins brother marriage and we were asked to put on a green attire so I had come up with this.

IMG_20221022_174506_3.jpg

⭐Do you think your cultural attire is unique and how much does it cost in your country's currency?

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9UMcpUGyRcqjWm99M97E87tKtaVi4Pxr8K99Lxs9yaKrfGaiM4HJf1jkqdeyPeCY9J1eqfxh2XajZB4 (1).png

Yes! I believe my cultural attire is super unique because of the sense of purpose that I feel when I put it on, it tells alot about my cultural heritage without me saying a word. I feel wonderful whenever I put on my cultural attire especially when I get compliments from different people both from the people that I know and those that I don't.

This attire cost me a lot, starting from my head to my toes, let me break it down.

Like the green lace I bought at 4000 Naira and approximately in steem which is 35.7 steem per yards at one big market in my state, and the 4 yards was 16000 naira aproxinately 142.9 steem
then I bought the Cotton the cotton lining at 450 naira per yard approximately 4 steem and it was 4 yards which amount to 1800 Naira and in steem 16.0. then my seamstress charge my 18000 naira and in steem 160.7. the total amount I spent amount to 35,800 which in steem was like 319.6. then to make it more beautiful the cost of the gele was 3000 naira approximately 26.7 steem.

At this medium I will like to invite my friends to join me #natalia3, #ekemini5, #icon-monday

Cc,
@stephenkendal
@steemchiller
@pennsif

Know more about me

Sort:  
 last year 

Greetings your post has been supported by our official community account @hive-126193. To get more information about our community, visit our community introduction post click here. To get further knowledge join our Official discord channel of Steem fashion & style link here

footer.png

Subscribe and Join our community

 last year 

Thank you for the support

 last year 

Itu adalah pakaian yang sangat bagus, anda terlihat cantik saat memakainya, semoga kita sukses di kontes ini

 last year 

Wow! I must say you left me speechless because you look so gorgeous in your cultural attire.

18000 for sewing your attire seem like it expensive but I guess it's worth the end product. You have done a great job with your entry and I wish you all the best.

 last year 

Thank you sis, tailors are really cashing out this days

 last year 

Hello Nigerian friend!!

I like the culture of Nigeria and I have seen many Nigerian cultural attire. But this Nigerian cultural attire is very unique and really something different.

Green colour that you have weared with a silver lace is looking adorable and very presentable on you this dress design and colour both suits on you.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Greetings! Thank you for being part of the community and participating in Steemit Engagement Challenge S8-W1: "Your cultural attire is diverse and had various formss, but fitted green lace gown with gele gave you cute look you are looking gorgeous in this outfit. Every region has its own attire uniqueness in the World. Please do meaningful comments on others posts. Best of luck" .


CriteriaStatusScore
Status Club
#club100
2/2
#Steemexclusive
1/1
Plagiarism Free
1/1
BOTFree
0.5/0.5
Voting CSI >5
0.5/0.5
Quality of content
2.5/3
Markdowns
2/2
Overall
9.5/10
Verification date:
03-03-2023

 last year 

Wow you look so beautiful in the green long gown, and I like the style and the gele looks good on you too! Truly Akwa Ibom People no dey carry last when it comes to fashion! I will like to see this kind of dress, thank you for sharing with us, I wish you success!

 last year 

Oh my dear friend thank you for the beautiful comment, Akwa ibom no dey carry last ooo

 last year 

Haha 😆 you're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67096.35
ETH 3509.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22