Why I would make a good Steem Country Representative for Nigeria

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

08B46E50-3F71-4EBF-9497-4C9D7EADE756.png

AA76774D-0F9C-4D2D-B021-F192CC0780A4.jpeg

History on steemit

On the 22nd of December, 2020, my elementary school friend, @alphafx, introduced me to this online blogging platform for earning crypto. On the 24th of December, I made my Introductory post and so the journey began.

For a while I made piano lesson posts on @steemalive until @cryptokannon urged me to make them in @musicforsteem community which I did for a while.

Next, I focused on contests and The Diary Game posts. I was consistent with them even during low-vote turnout days. I stayed focused on improving my writing skills. Seeing the success of my Diary posts, I started to make posts on My Town In 10 Pics along with the diary posts on @steemalive community.

I started making posts on Steemit Crypto Academy a while after the academy began. I couldn’t start early because of exams in school but once they ended I hopped on the academy. I’ve been focused on the academy because I genuinely want to be better in the crypto world. Thanks to the comments by professors on my assignments, I have been able to improve immensely in my writing and markdown skills.

My progress track

With little to nothing going on in my life at the time, I invested my time into learning about the steem blockchain and growing as much as I can. In no time, I got up to 100sp.

I decided to start keeping track of my progress. I got to 500sp with an account worth of $100 and posted about it here.

10 days later I got to $100, I was at $200 because I was consistent and because steem began to boom. I made a post about it here. At this point I became very confident and excited.

In a matter of days, I was past 1000sp with over $500 worth. This was less than 2 months after I joined steemit. I made a post about that here.

With the boom in steem price, I got to $1000 account worth. With this growth I hadn’t started earning in SBD and I hadn’t powered down. I only started earning SBD when I joined the crypto academy but I have never powered down.

Right now I have over 1500sp. I still have heights on steemit that I’m about to attain. As I grow I’ll still keep track of them.

AA76774D-0F9C-4D2D-B021-F192CC0780A4.jpeg

Communities I am involved in and activities I organize

Joining steemit, @alphafx shared a dream with me. He wanted to create an online community for younger people like us - students and otherwise. Prior to this, I had made plans of starting a blog for helping students go through the rough university life.

323D65B5-7CFF-4C96-A289-B8DDC905169F.png
Some posts I had ready for my blog

After @alphafx revealed this initiative to me, I decided that I would base the blog on steemit after we had grown the community.

With the help of @whitestallion, we started The Steemit Geeks (TSG) and at the time we were just three. We focused on outreach in an aggressive way and saw steady growth. We encouraged ourselves by engaging on one another’s posts.

I supported @whitestallion on his first webinar which he posted about here. I’ve concluded a number of individual and mass registrations with @alphafx on campus and off campus. We have shuttled to and fro a few towns just to get people registered and mentored on the steem blockchain. We even started an intro group on WhatsApp to teach people the basics of steemit and help them make their achievement 1 post on The Newcomers’ community. Even with the tight school schedules, we’ve concluded the first batch of registration from the intro group with over 20 successful registrations. We’re almost done with the second batch and after we’ll move to the third batch.

Successfully registered steemians who complete the achievement 1 task get added to TSG group. Right now there are more than 40 TSG members from different campuses with more on the way.

84A4A66E-F8A4-448E-BD1C-5D4839FEF8AD.jpeg
TSG group and the intro group

With @whitestallion as the leader, we started the Campus Connect community for students around the world. I am currently an MOD in the community. The community is still very new but we have over 170 subscribers. The community has seen a lot of engagement in just a few weeks. We just concluded our first contest and we’ll soon post the second one.

AA76774D-0F9C-4D2D-B021-F192CC0780A4.jpeg

Why I think I would make a good country representative.

From the popular Ryan Smithson’s Ghosts of War quote,

“If I don’t do something, who will?”

I have always enjoyed welcoming and getting to know new people right from my primary school days. I would normally get close to the new kids and help them get comfortable in a strange environment. That character has translated to steemit as I would normally vote and comment on newbies’ posts when I can. Making it a full time responsibility as a country rep would really bring out that part of my personality.

Going through the #nigeria hashtag and realizing that a number of Nigerians don’t get verified on their achievement posts. From my amateur count, about 60-70 Nigerians join steemit every week. From my observation a lot of these newbies go unattended to and get discouraged. For this reason, I would normally copy a few links and send them to the country rep, @whitestallion, for curation and verification.

My focus on younger people?

Nigeria has a population of over 200 million people and almost 70% of the population is under 30 years old. More than half of Nigerians that join steemit are students. A lot of them get discouraged after their achievement posts are not attended to. Most of them quit entirely when they have to balance steemit with the rigorous Nigerian school system. In this case, I would make a good country representative because I understand. There are a lot of bright young minds over here in Nigeria that would really contribute a lot to the steemit platform. I would make sure I greet newbies and go on to follow them up to encourage them stay consistent and learn about steemit. I already do this with steemians in my university and on The Steemit Geeks.

Not disregarding the older ones, I would make sure I attend to newbies teaching them to improve on their writing skills and markdowns.

I will make sure people learn that steemit is a place for self-improvement and not just for earning crypto.

AA76774D-0F9C-4D2D-B021-F192CC0780A4.jpeg

Conclusion

Being a country representative would be more of a duty to me than a job. I will make the best of the opportunity to make sure the steemit community sees major improvements.

Sort:  

I support you 100% for the role. You're one of the most dedicated people I know and you're super hard-working on this platform

Thank you 🙏🏽

I definitely support you on this from the way you have showed persistent and seriousness since day one in steemit in confidentially believe you can make a good country rep✌️ .

I believe so too. Thanks bro✌🏽

I don't think there's anyone as dedicated as you are. You have my support

Thank you bro🙏🏽

 3 years ago 

Awesome, I hope you achieve your set goals

I hope so too. Thanks

We're behind you full time bro. You've been so helpful to us as New users of this app.

Thank you. I appreciate it

Ah dey your back boss

Thanks bro ✌🏽

You have my support gee, let's bag this

By God🙏🏽
Thanks

 3 years ago 

I fully support you. It was your commitment to the steem platform that made me join and now I'm really enjoying it. We need more committed people like you here

Thank you man

 3 years ago 

I'm backing you for this role, you are dedicated, helped me out coordinating newbies when I am too busy and most importanrly

Pushing me on when I get tired, I am proud to have introduced you and of your progress on this community

Thank you Chief. Means a lot

Definetly the man for the job capable of representing the country absolutely well higly involved in new recruitment of newbies into the steem comminity of which oam one of

Thank you for the support. I appreciate it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53622.13
ETH 2208.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29