SEC-S17/W4| A Gift that can impress me - Words

Gifts, do they come from a good heart, are they selfish, are they given out of guilt, to buy a favour or to get rid of something no longer liked or considered trash? There are as many gifts and reasons to give a present as there are people.

Cover(2).jpg

If I remember well it isn't the first time during the past three months we talk about gifts. We had the Winter season, Spring Festival, Valentine's Day, Eid, Mother's Day, Children's Day, First May, holidays with souvenirs, birthday presents, gifts for those being ill, wedding presents it feels as if the entire economy thrives on gifts but also as if it's never good enough. The more gifts the more unsatisfied faces (those long ones). It makes me uncomfortable to look and buy something if I feel (know) the one it's meant for hoped for something else, more expensive, bigger, a pile of presents or each one of them mentioned on the wishlist.

My experiences as a child were not too good. My birthday was a drama just like December 5th and Christmas at home. The school made a bit up for that. The best gift was a book! Each Christmas was good for one book and at each end of a school (primary, high school and so on) was good for an extra book: the Bible. Later the Bible was in different languages.

My parents had long wishlists with expensive items which I as a child could not afford not even if I saved all my pocket money for one year. This was always good for more drama. I remember how I gifted my mother with each item on her wishlist. For my grandmother I bought flowers and I gave her a drawing. Both received breakfast in bed including juice, eggs and some flowers I picked in the garden. It made my mother angry she did not receive a bunch of flowers and a drawing. She threw all the expensive gifts (Royal Albert porcelain cups and so on) through the room at my head. It shattered against the wall. Most likely my grandmother gave her her flowers.

Children these days are not easy to please. I am glad mine are. They know I can't and won't give everything plus only give what I like or... find useful. Besides there's nothing wrong with working for wishes.
One daughter is a great gamer and animator so a game isn't a waste of money, a book would be for her.
The others are more into reading so books are always great and it doesn't matter if these books are for free found on the street in the garbage or bought at a secondhand shop for 50 cents. All I need to do is figure out if they already have the book.

My best present isn't per se a book, it can be a written wish, message, a film, food, incense or money. These are most likely the presents I will give too. I no longer do my stinking best to give the "best" gift in the world and will never spend more than my budget. I no longer feel uncomfortable if I give something. Those I reward I know well, their likes and dislikes included but if there's a small chance they might not like it I say: you can tell me if you don't like it, if so I keep it myself.

I will never give alcohol, tobacco, soap, aftershave, make-up, shampoo or perfume.

20240429_155121.jpg

Today I have plenty of books, I gave away most of mine to the eldest years ago. I do not really need more (I am just back from the second-hand store and ..uhm.. Well, the youngest and I arrived home with 21 books 🤐).

Once getting older gifts are less interesting because we can save and buy what we need or like (or we like to think this is the fact). This is better than receiving unliked gifts and pretending to be happy with it and next sell it online or like in the old days give them to someone else (not smart if you cannot remember who gave it to you).

To me the best gift is the written word (one line can already be great) or something useful like the incense I like, marzipan (rare these days) or whatever I might need. A gift doesn't need to last forever and I don't like cluttering. To me it's more important those close to me know me, know what I like and a gift should show this is the case. Only such a present can impress me. It's not about money.
I love the funny texts only (birthday) cards my daughter gives as much as the bar of chocolate another child gives me or the homemade cake or better doing the dishes or not cooking for a change.

Not a gift but knowing someone for real enhances relationships just like respecting each other's wishes. I learned that expensive gifts or gestures only make vulnerable to manipulation and being abused. Giving a lot does not tie relationships, you will not make friends for life if you are always the first to fulfil other's wishes (more an idiot they laugh at and backstab).

I received gifts accompanied by hateful words which I still remember and most likely will never forget. A good reminder of how a present should not be presented.

My most precious gifts are what my children make for me. Stories, poems they wrote or art they made.
The painting of the ferrets...

20240427_202337.jpg

painted around 2016

and... this card my brother sent me years ago to cheer me up for the new year.

20240429_150317.jpg



PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

Contest hosted by @meraindia

@ibesso @kouba01 @eskarem @saintkelvin17


Header/Photogrid: Canva
Photos: taken by me
29-4-2024
I am a mobile phone user only


I upvote comments and (good) entertaining stories. @hive-169911 is my hive (community). I will grow its SP to upvote stories only. Please, do NOT post in it!
If you wrote something good you can tag me, original (no AI-written) stories/tales only. You do not need to join a club to be read and upvoted and you can post wherever you like. I suggest the freewriters or @hive-107855 the Dream Steem. Use the tag # story
Happy Writing @wakeupkitty

#steemexclusive #incredibleindia-s17w4 #club100 #kittywu #holland #freewrite

Sort:  

I'm sorry that you had a rough time dealing with your family's expectations and reactions when it came to that "give". Like seriously, you put in so much effort and love and that should count for something, right? It must have been tough trying to handle all that as a kid. But hey, hats off to you for trying your best to make your parents happy even if it meant going above and beyond what you could afford.

Well it is a reminder to everyone to be more empathetic and thoughtful when giving (or receiving) gifts. It is mad how something so small can leave such a big mark.

For me gift is not about the price tag but the sentiment behind it that truly matters. I know deep inside you have deep intuition about knowing someone on a real level and respecting their wishes as well. I love the way you cherish those homemade goodies from your kids. They're so lovely, send my warmest regards to them.

Keep being your awesome and caring self. You're worth soo much more than just what you can buy, even if what you buy is worth millions of dollars.

Within our small family we do not care about expensive or prices, same for my few friends. Yesterday I visited my friend by train. It was nearly one year ago we met (her wedding). She was happy I visited her and we could talk, her dog hugged me endlessly, I saw her children, we talked about where to wander with the war on our doorstep, sharing the worries and news, and we tried some cheese. There's nothing more a girl needs. 😉

If it comes to my mother I learned it's all about greed and who receives most, the biggest and most expensive of all, being the centre of the universe.

Thank you for your kind words I hope I never change into her.

My daughters greet you, my son isn't around I travel to him Sunday. He passed his last exams.

🍀❤️

I feel sad I can think how difficult it would be to face all of that when you gift something to your mother and she just throws it all.

After reading your post I concluded that most of us girls are more toward real feelings whether they can be words, sentences, cards, or handmade notes. They will always carry a special place in our hearts rather than items.

Glad that now you are having a good time with your kids. All the best with the contest.

I tend to believe too girls care more about gifts or gestures with a certain feeling behind it or a sign we are appreciated or known for real.

By the way I do not mean to say women should never receive anything valuable or do not need to feel and look good.

Thank you for reading and your best wishes, I wish you all the best.

Hello @wakeupkitty.pal, the gift of a book is wonderful and if it is the Bible, much better, in it you will find the word of God, I can imagine the shock you received when your mother threw valuable things into the air and was angry because she did not receive of flower gifts.

It's good that you no longer feel bad if you don't give a gift, what you say is true, a gift can be food, incense or a book.

I honestly did not understand why she said it a out the flowers. They weren't mentioned on her wishlist. I my grandmother would not have received them she wouldn't have made such a scene. That is what I understand.

I am happy the heavy heart if it comes to presents is gone.

Thank you for reading and answering. I wish you good luck and a great day.

❤️🍀

Would I consider (Black Mirror )again? Do we also need a black mirror in front of which we put a gift to know if the giver has good or bad feelings towards us? A deep topic worth thinking about.

It might come at hand a black mirror 🤔
Food for thought is always good and inspiring.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

TEAM 5

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated by : @sduttaskitchen
Loading...
 last month 

বাবা-মার কাছে সন্তানই হল শ্রেষ্ঠ উপহার । সেই সন্তানের কাছ থেকে পাওয়া উপহারের কোন তুলনাই হয় না।

প্রতিটি বাবা-মা চান তার সন্তান মানুষের মত মানুষ হোক। আপনিও আপনার সন্তানের দেয়া উপহার পেয়ে অনেক খুশি হলেন। আপনার জন্য রইল শুভকামনা।

#Hi friend @wakeupkitty.pal
Yes gifts are always given from the heart and there is no concept of selfishness or greed.No matter what kind of gift it is, there is love hidden in it.Gifts are given on many occasions, be it birthday, Eid, Christmas or Valentine's Day.You have gifted your mother as per her wish while gifting your grandmother a bouquet of flowers and a drawing.Glad to know that.May you cherish the memories of your unhappy childhood with your mother and grandmother and be happy.
@mona01

I rather do not cherish my unhappy childhood. If you ask me that's unhealthy. It's better to focus on a better life and those who appreciate gifts no matter how small.

Thanks for your comment dear.
A good weekend and blessings to you.
❤️🍀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67731.65
ETH 3780.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51