Incredible India monthly contest August|My understanding about downvotes.

Wow, I'm amazed by such a wonderful contest in this community. I was just going through the list of active contest on the disconnect page then I saw this one tag as new then I decided to check it after the caption has caught my attention.

I will like to share with everyone concern my understanding of the said word downvotes. This is a common word used in steemit and other social media platform like hive and the likes. So I will use the questions below to explain my understanding of the term.

Share your understanding about downvotes.

In steemit, there two set of people I.e the authors and the curators. Authors are those who write and publish articles and the curators are those who vote on the articles. Though the authors too have the right to vote since they have some steem power.

The curators on the other hand don't usually write but they can if the want. Majorly, the curators vote on our post and there are two types of upvote present I.e the upvote and the downvote.

IMG_20230802_164228.jpg

Upvote as the name implies up means it is adding to your earning whereas downvote as the name implies down, it means it is reducing from your earning. In steemit, the both buttons are visible with an upvote represented by green and downvote represented with red.

The image above shows buttons for both upvote and downvote. As I said earlier, downvote remove from your earning and it is represented by the red button as seen in the above image.

How do downvotes affect our accounts? Describe.

Downvote affects your account by reducing your reputation on the platform. When your post is been downvoted by bigger accounts, then you will loss your earning and the ability to be visible because your reputation also will reduce drastically.

So downvote plays a very big role in affecting accounts that are not legit or that are created for fraudulent activities on the platform. A good example is those who are bringing phising links for others to click. We see that those with bigger steem power downboyes them and at some point they become irrelevant.

Do you think downvotes can help to reduce plagiarism, abuse, and spamming? Share your opinion.

Yes I believe without doubt that downvoting will go a long way to control all these abuse seen within the platform. We all know that there are many scammers and those willing to pick our things at anytime in the platform and they only way to keep them off is via the downvote.

In my opinions, there should be a special account that will be in charge of downvoting of users who communit these abuse and in that way we will have a better platform.

I want to invite @ruthjoe, @m-fdo and @lhorgic to also join this contest today and share their choices.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70