Tis the Season of Giving | Fond Memories with Warm, Wooly Wishes!

in ART LOVERS5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0626.JPG


Christmas is in the air...


I was feeling a bit nostalgic today while I prepared just one of many final gifts for Christmas. With sweet holiday music playing, a cup of hot tea and a very large stack of yarn I began my project.


DSC_0088 (2).jpg

My, how time flies…


I remember hearing my grandmother say the same thing. In in fact she warned me it would fly faster with each passing year. Of course as a child, time seemed to crawl! One hour, seemed a lifetime when you were waiting for the school bell to ring, lol. Not so now! Just last year I was doing the same thing at this time. Arm-knitting blankets for my daughters for Christmas. Arm-knitting you say? Yes, knitting using your arms as knitting needles. I’m not crazy…just stand by! You’ll see!
DSC_0118 (2).jpg

With 12 skeins of Couture chunky yarn…


I settled into the most comfortable chair I could find. I knew this project would take about 3-4 hours, comfort was a necessity. With the first skein in hand, I began casting stitches on to my right arm.. 24 to be exact! Remembering my arms were only so long…24 was just about my max!
DSC_0095 (2).jpg

I can’t take credit for this!


I’ve tried knitting through the years but never really enjoyed it until I discovered this technique. I think it’s quite clever actually, just you and a soft skein of yarn! Check out this video. Maggie does an amazing job walking you through each step. Although she’s able to make these blankets in 45 minutes, I find it takes me at least 3 hours. Knitting back to the left arm we were on our way.

DSC_0098 (2w).jpg

Tightly knotting…


is critical! Last year I was so afraid I would break the yarn I didn’t double knot the new tails well. Not good!
DSC_0102 (2).jpg

Seeing progress…


about ten rows, it’s beginning to look like something! I thought about the many sewing projects I tried with my Grandmother. She was such a patient and loving teacher; attempting to teach crocheting, knitting and hand stitching to a very active granddaughter. I was of course all thumbs, needles flying in all directions.
DSC_0108 (2).jpg

My daughter loved…


her blanket so much she asked for a 2nd! Colorado winters can be quite chilly. I may find myself wrapped in this blanket over the holidays!
DSC_0112 (2).jpg

80 degrees...


Is not the optimal temperature for knitting a blanket. Never fear! Mr. Bird came to the rescue, and with the ceiling fan on high I pushed on! Singing along with those old Christmas favorites the time flew by!
DSC_0124 (2).jpg

Complete!


What do you think? You know I love sharing gifts from the heart! I think she’ll be pleased.
DSC_0006 (2).jpg

Warm and wooly gifts made with Love!


DSC_0012 (2h).jpg


Nothing makes me happier than to spend a bit of time making something which might bring a smile to someone else. I think my grandmother would be smiling right now, perhaps surprised I tried again. Giving to family, friends and often some I don’t even know, is what brings joy into my life. It’s my purpose! I pray this season brings joy and peace to all of you. Thank you for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa2.png

Sort:  

Oh yes, these blankets are so nice and cozy. Making them is perfect to keep the knitter warm - and as you said, not so perfect if you're already feeling warm ;)

Thank you @muscara :) It got a bit toasty as the blanket got bigger, lol Thank goodness for the ceiling fan, lol Glad you enjoyed @muscara!

What a lovely gift, I've heard of this method but never seen it done, quite amazing Mrs Bird! It looks so cosy I would also want more than one of these!
Enjoy your Christmas day celebrations my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @birdsinparadise! I really love when you come to #NeedleWorkMonday to share your lovely arm knitting with us! It looks so warm, cozy and beautiful!

Thank goodness for ceiling fans lol! I’m so glad you didn’t totally give up on knitting but instead found a different method you could enjoy. Thanks for the inspiration and I’m glad you daughter loves your blankets.

💛

How very clever, @birdsinparadise! That looks like a great way to make personal gifts for people! I wish I was a knitter. Who knows maybe someone can teach me someday! (Plenty have tried!) I think it’s so wonderful that you have this talent!

Thank you @jayna! I'm certainly not talented, just persistant, lol It was just me vs the yarn this time :) I love the video, you can stop it and replay it as many times as you need ( which was a lot for me!)

It looks so cozy! Nice work.

Thank you @rem-steem :) I love projects so this was fun. Hopefully my daughter will enjoy it!

She surely will. :)

I have heard of arm knitting but never seen it done or explained as you have here that is such a cool project and thanks for sharing with us

Now my curiosity is getting the best of me, what is Hive-114104

I do not drink hot drinks myself, but I do share !COFFEEA

Well, perhaps this will be a new hobby for you @tattoodjay :) As for the Hive....that is the new beta Steemit community tag for powerhousecreatives community. I'm not well versed about it, perhaps you already know about it? Thank you for the coffeeea :)

Ohh yes I have seen Powerhousecreative posts here and there, and thinking about it heard people mention Hive but have no clue about it LOL
And No Knittingisnt for me LOL

Oh I love this! Haha... except I think I'd be using 2 pieces of bamboo cut from the garden so I could at least put it down to pee! LOL. NICE snuggle rug and a sweet gift. I'm planning to start knitting again after half a lifetime if avoiding it - my mom and the nuns forced it on me to the point where I have HATED it. And yet suddenly I had the idea to knit one small children's hat per week this year, as a way to unwind and live a little slower for better sleep, and so I will have 50 warm refugee kids next cold season in the mountains here.

If you have the SIMPLEST GOOF-PROOF beginners knitting pattern for childrens hats that can be modified in sizing, I'd be incredibly grateful. It may be 40 years since the last dreaded aran sweater.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to the Birds!! And yes, we also have to knit, sew & craft with the fan on most of the year. LOL.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I am so gonna try this

 5 years ago 

Love it... chunky yarn! This is a great project, musicians always are looking for these things in black to keep their arms and wrists warm in cold weather!

I love this and it’s a total keepsake. She’ll love it too! Good job Mom!!! Moms always get/make the best presents (well, grandmas are a close second, real close).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83