SEC Season 8 Week 4: The dessert of my dreams

in Colombia-Originallast year



“Please, sir, I want some more.”

I am convinced that when Oliver Twist said this he was not referring to the food but to the dessert. This left him to be treated like a criminal and a sinner.

Two things in life are my downfall it is bread and desserts. So yes, I am also a sinner.

As for a criminal not yet but I was pretty close to becoming one this afternoon when I did some grocery shopping.
Last night I made us a rice and cinnamon dessert. My hubby gave me only a look and we then decided that was the last. No more eating wrong! From now on eating healthy is all that we are going to do.

I cannot understand how silly supermarkets can be. How can they put the confectionery section on my way to the dairy department? What a temptation!

image.png

I almost bought that luscious chocolate mousse and hide it at the bottom of my groceries just to eat it by myself. Would that have made me a criminal? Nah, I think it is just a bit of self-love.



Dessert is a must!

How glad am I that researchers agree with me.
According to the outcome, dessert can help to ease digestion. Desserts also make us feel good, happy, and content with life.

Ever wonder why they serve us dessert in the hospital after a meal? Because it is so much more enjoyable when you don’t feel like food and it will put that energy right back in you.



Dessert spices up our lives!

As it is life at times can be pretty boring.

Spice! Gosh, what memories did this word not bring back.

“What are little boys made of?” Snips and snails and puppy-dog tails, that’s what little boys are made of. What are little girls made of? Sugar and spice and everything nice, that’s what little girls are made of.”

A poem we use to say when I was a little girl just starting my school life.

You have to admit, girls and for that matter, women, spice up so many lives.

Dessert on the other hand spice up our meals and adds a bit of excitement. Something we all need from time to time.



Dessert is just the right ending to a meal!

“Desservir” is a French verb which translated means “to clear the table.” This was a call for servants to clear the table before the final course of “le fruit” was served.
In later years the noble replaced the word “le fruit” with “dessert and fruit was replaced with the most beautiful desserts. From cookies to cranberry pies and eclairs.

Till today, the table is cleared in our family before dessert is served.

A meal is not a meal if it doesn’t end with a dessert. For me, it is like giving a child a task to do and then rewarding him with a sweet, or a dog doing a trick and then telling him “Good boy” and rewarding him with a treat.

I’ve eaten all my food. I can have that dessert. It is also a time for my brain to tell my tummy that it is final and the curtain will come down after this course.
And, when we had our restaurant it was time for us to know that the table will be leaving soon, making place for the next.



Desserts are made to be perfect!

With my traveling and with my brother being a food critic I have seen the most exquisite desserts. Desserts that are too pretty to eat. I often call these chefs, artists, as the term “pastry chef” doesn’t do them any justice.

Not only are these desserts art pieces but they are also luscious, elegant, tantalizing, nutty, aromatic, and an absolute delight no matter how they are served, hot or cold.

image.png



The dessert of my dream

In South Africa, we have a special meal that we call a “plankie braai.”
It is a variety of food cooked on an outside “braai”(barbeque) and as everything is ready it is cut up and served on a “plankie” (a large wooden board with grooves on the side).

It is served alongside bread, tapas, dips, and sauces just there next to the braai.
Everybody gathers around the plankie, pick, dip, and eat. It is such an informal get-together and is enjoyed by everyone.

It is one of my favorite meals as I like to eat a variety of food. I will rather eat a little bit of everything before I eat a big piece of steak. From pork ribs, steak, lamb chops to fish, chicken, sausages, and veggies. All on one board.

“DESSERT PLANKIE" for when the “plankie braai” has come to an end.

A BIG wooden board loaded with a variety of desserts, ice creams, nuts, fruits, sweet tarts, cookies, syrups, and tiny drinks. If I have left anything out please forgive me.

Lots of tiny different desserts that will bring a variety of colors, aromas, textures, tastes, and smiles from young to old. Just up my alley! I can just taste it!

I can even hear the stories that will be told sitting around the warm fire while eating these treats. The fights of who will get the last of the strawberry cheesecake.

What I would like to see on my PERFECT “dessert plankie".

ImageDescriptionTaste
Peppermint Cake & Cup cakesFor the aroma
Ferrero Rocher Mini CakesFor the sweetness
Mini Caramel CheesecakeCheesecake is a must!
Lemon Meringue Cup CakesFor a bit of crunch
Mini Carrot Swiss RollsThere must be fruit
Marshmallow Cake with speckled eggs and filled conesSpecially for the children

And... lots more!

I will always have a place for a dessert, what about you?

I invite the following Steemians to take part:

@gabylazarde
@sofian88

image.png

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. https://cdn.steemitimages.com

Sort:  
 last year 

Hello dear friend, thank you very much for your entry, you are very right, dessert is one of the best parts of the meal, although there are many foods that could replace them hehehe, it all depends on what we are accompanying it with. However, I also love desserts and even more if they have ice cream as an accompaniment. You present us with many options and they all look really delicious.

I always have room for a dessert too hahahaha and even more if it's chocolate, it's one of my favorites!!!

Have a nice day, don't forget to support other users with your comment and vote. Greetings, we are happy to see you in our community.

This publication was scanned with this tool (https://openai-openai-detector.hf.space/) to detect the use of AI in the content and the results obtained were:99.98% Real.

Criterio❌ ó ✅Puntuación
steemexclusive1/1
Libre de plagio1/1
Libre de Bot1/1
Estado del Club2/2
Calidad del contenido3/3
Markdowns2/2
Total:10/10
Fecha de verificación:23/03/23

Te invitamos a seguir las redes sociales para Steem y Steemit:

@steemesp |@steemeng|@steem.ind

Y además te sugerimos votar por @cotina y @bangla.witness como Witness, sino sabes cómo hacerlo, podrías revisar estas publicaciones: https://steemit.com/hive-113376/@colombiaoriginal/colombia-original-apoyando-a-cotina-como-witness. https://steemit.com/hive-113376/@nusuranur/6t57dm-let-s-support-bangla-witness

image.png

Thank you for the verification and the great commentary.
I'm so glad that there is someone else in the Steemit community who also always have place for dessert. 🍮

Happy night friend 🙏🌙

You're right! The dessert is delicious and for a reason they serve it in hospitals. Many of us have been able to enjoy the jellies hahaha 😂

Friend, really the dessert is the icing on the cake to close a meal with a flourish. 😂👍

How lucky you have been to enjoy various desserts on the trips you have made. I imagine your joy with your family.

Thank you very much for sharing.

I really appreciate your invitation. A big hug for you. ❤️

God bless you 🙌

TEAM 1

Congratulations! Your Comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support good comments anywhere..
Curated by : @sofian88

¡Muchas gracias! 🙏

Thanks for the engagement my friend and for the kind words. 🎕
I invited you as I know how you like to spoil your family and what better way is there than with a dessert. (•ิ‿•ิ)
PS: Thank you, blessings to you also.

Feliz día amiga☀️🙌

Sí, me encanta hacerlo.

Amén 🙏💜

Ever wonder why they serve us dessert in the hospital after a meal?

😂😂😂
I have never seen any dessert in our local hospitals.
I had 3 days of examination in the hospital last year. I'm not very picky about food, but I didn't think that everything was so bad with food in our time at our regional clinic. And even there is simply no way to buy something extra. And I wanted just a little light dessert.

My mother worked as a pastry chef. They often made marshmallows, cookies, cakes. It was all in my childhood home. And I just didn't want to eat it then, because it's always been there. I even gave cakes to my dog sometimes. In fact, they were very tasty! I'd like to see them on my desk right now.
In those days, only natural ingredients were used, my mother made dyes herself from carrots, beets. Even cognac was used in the recipe. Currently, such a cake would be several times more expensive than a cake from the store. And even tastier.
And my wife always cooked very delicious cakes. And now she doesn't. Perhaps it's time to teach the youngest daughter to make desserts. By the way, she made them several times for the school program.

I have never seen any dessert in our local hospitals.

This means you will have to come to South Africa when next you have to go to hospital. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Lunch is normally the main mail of the day in hospitals and there will always be dessert even if it is just jelly and custard.

There is no cooking like mom's cooking! Just by the way you've described it I could smell and taste your mom's cake.
Yummy!

Lunch is normally the main mail of the day in hospitals and there will always be dessert even if it is just jelly and custard.

I remember a saying - it's good to live in Europe, but it's good to die in Russia.

Wow! First time I hear about it.
I won't easily forget this one. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Hola amiga, que genial tu participación, muy completa y original.

Que bueno que tengas un hermano con un paladar crítico, jajaja, así de seguro disfrutas muchísimo más de los grandes platos.

Tu listado de postres perfectos esta genial!! Excelentes fotos! 💜

Hello!
What a nice surprise to switch my computer on and the first message I had to read was from you.
Desserts... Always place for one no matter how pretty or ugly it is. They all taste good! (•ิ‿•ิ)
Thank you for the visit and for enjoying my "Dessert plankie" 🍮

I didn't even think about including dessert on the menu that I ordered. I'm just worried if I can't get a cup of coffee with a distinctive aroma that awakens my manly spirit.

Thank you for the invitation, I enjoy every paragraph you write, you always do it perfectly.

Haha! Coffee can be a dessert my friend as long as you put sugar in it.
You never fail to put a smile on my face, thank you!
As for the kind words.. ☕ with sugar.
Thank you!

Indeed the dessert is really a nice one. You are so much of a travellers I guess. Seeing such goodness makes me want to save some already. Adding fruit to your dessert indeed makes it very rich, and the cheese cake a perfection. I wish you success in the challenge.

It is for me to say thank you for stopping by and to make the time not only to read but also to comment on my post.
I LOVE dessert, full-stop(•ิ‿•ิ)

Pleasures my dear friend.

Hola amiga

Oh qué tentación ver los postres de nuestras preferencias en las vitrinas, no eres egoísta a quedé degustarlo sola, a veces nos merecemos ese momento íntimo entre el postre y nosotros.

Yo admiro a quienes realizan un excelente emplatado, una maravilla a la vista así que si son totalmente unos artistas y perfeccionistas.

Bendiciones.

Temptations! Once we just cannot say no to. (•ิ‿•ิ)
I just love it how you've referred to "intimate moment".
Thank you for the visit, the engagement and the great words!!!
It is appreciated! 🍮

 last year 

Un gran sentido literario, bohemio, sublime para tu postre favorito estimada amiga y tienes razón; debe tener tantas virtudes y cualidades, entre ellas, ayudar a la buena digestión. Exito en tu estupenda entrada

Desserts.. desserts.. desserts. How we love them!
Thank you for the visit and the engagement my friend!
I'm sending you dessert all the way from South Africa 🍮

Wow, that's really delicious, ma'am, the dessert 🤤... best wishes for the contest, ma'am

Oh thank you!
I must be honest, my mouth was watering when I wrote this post.
I love dessert!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

@abiga554
Thank you! 🎕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54