Favorite book contest | What is your favorite book?- The Village by the Sea

in Writing & Reviews4 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear friends,

For me, its very difficult to select one book as my favorite. The reason for that is I always love to spend my leisure time by reading. And its my top rated hobby. Somehow I selected one book from them. Its The Village by the Sea by Anita Desai.

image.png

I got a chance to read this book when I was 15 years old. As I followed English literature this was the recommended book for our syllabus. Not as a subject, but I enjoyed this novel a lot. This novel is basically about poverty and hardship of the Indian rural life. According to my knowledge this book has won so many awards. This describes the hardship of human life in India.

This is a story build around a little boy and his family. How they compete with poverty. Their family situation. Sick mother, always drunk father make their life more difficult .Eldest sister take all responsibilities as mother. When I was reading this novel it gave me motivation. Age is just a number. People get mature by experiences. This novels prove us that clearly.

Somehow the end of the novel is really interesting. As a south Asian citizen, the language and background is so much familiar to our day today lifestyle.

Anita Desai is a well famous Indian Writer and writing techniques are attractive. The main character is Hari, who is little boy. And this story is based on village "Thul". There are so many supporting characters. Chapter to chapter novel gets more interesting. Sometime you may feel the author has described the environment lot. But don't worry. Its the uniqueness of this book. Because environment symbolize many things. You have understand that deep meaning.

image.png

Finally, This is a highly recommend book any one can ready without age limit. And literature value of this book is high.

Hope you all read this book. By reading this you will gain a good knowledge about south Asian life style.

Thanks to @jacorv for organizing this wonderful contest.

Sort:  

I have read this book. It's a amazing story written around a poor family. This brought me back some of my old memories in 0/L times as it was a book we followed for literature.
#oneprecent #srilanka

It's really nice to hear you also did this for literature .hope you also loved it that period.
#onepercent #srilanka

Hi @inudi

We too had this book for literature. It was really interesting, I still have the book with me and I read sometimes.

#oneprecent #srilanka

Me too have this book. When I get boring I read chapter by chapter.
#onepercent #srilanka

Me too have this book.
When I get boring I read
Chapter by chapter.

                 - inudi


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You have been upvoted by @besticofinder , A Country Representative from SRI LANKA. we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

I have done this book for my literature lessons. Yeah ,this book is really interesting

Yeah. This is interesting and it has a good value as a literature book.
#onepercent #srilanka

Woooow. Nice to hear that. I think I have bring you back to your old days..
#onepercent #srilanka

Definitely.. 🙂

What a book this is, it's a book which teaches us how to face bad situations and how hard life can be

Of Course. It's. Our first lesson about hardness of life. And it showed us how to deal with them

#onepercent #srilanka

This is a great book that I had read lots of times in my childhood !

Mmm yes me also read this more than 6 times. So interesting heart touching..
#onepercent #srilanka

Hi,

Your post has been voted on by the Ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
joining our Discord server, and delegating to the project by using one of the following links:
500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Thank s a lot !!!! This motivates me a lot!

Village life is something I miss.. love to read this ❤️

#onepercent #affable #SriLanka

Yeah! You should read this is really interesting to read!!
#onepercent #srilanka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50