The Interview Showcase #110: Exclusive Talk with A South Korean Steem witness

in Hot News Community2 days ago (edited)



Hello people of Steem and Steemit,

It's a new week, welcome to the 110th edition of “The interview showcase...." and my 34th show for 2024.



If you are new to this page, this lifestyle program has many educational values. A weekly interview of users in the blog concerning some trending topics on the Steemit platform. And tips that can help other Steemians to progress positively and help boost the Steem’s growth.

It will help you to get to know more about Steemians around the globe and even Steem and Steemit itself.



I take time to look at some of the most important topics in the blockchain and have a chat/call with Steemians who have a greater idea about those topics.

They also share some tips that can help other users understand the blockchain and correctly use it. Sometimes they seek valuable suggestions here to help them solve some of their challenges.


@joviansummer's property


This week, I had some productive conversation with @joviansummer from South Korea who owned the @jswit witness on Steem. You must have come across the automated @jswit witness message after a vote from the account. Well, he owns that.



Ubongudofot
: Hi Joviansummer it's my pleasure to welcome you to my Show today, how will you describe yourself?

🔶Joviansummer : Thank you for having me on your interview. I'm @joviansummer, hobbyist developer and Steem witness(account: @jswit) from South Korea. I spend more time with computers than people(not a very social person), and I hardly use any SNS other than Steemit(and occasionally Blurt). In that sense, I'm kind of all-in Steemian. I have a full time job as an engineer, so I work on Steem in my spare time mostly.



Ubongudofot
: Please tell me, what does your experience in Steemit be like?

🔶Joviansummer : I came to know about Steem as a blockchain based SNS in 2020, but I didn't pay much attention at first because I was not interested in SNS in general. A while later, in 2021, I signed up just purely out of curiosity, and then got really fascinated by its APIs. I was studying python programming language at that time, so I decided do dev projects on Steem with python for my coding practice. And here I am, still on Steemit after 3 years. Steemit, to me, is a big learning experience of coding/dev study. I guess majority of people are here to engage in community. My path on Steem is a bit different, but still I'm really grateful for my journey.



Ubongudofot
: You introduced "STEEM.NFT" two years ago which looks like a promising project, what inspired you to come up with this project?

🔶Joviansummer : Obviously Steemit(SNS/blog) is a core part of Steem blockchain, but Steem's APIs have a big potential to do other things. When NFTs on Ethereum chain was getting popular, I was wondering if something similar could be done on Steem chain also. Not in terms of speculation and gambling, but in terms of preservation of digital arts. STEEM.NFT is an experimental project which will save your own digital images(photos/arts) to a decentralized internet storage called IPFS (InterPlanetary File System, https://ipfs.tech/) and write a proof of your creation/ownership on Steem blockchain.



Ubongudofot
: Is it still active?

🔶Joviansummer : Yes, it's active and the server is still running. It would be better if I could provide a dedicated web front-end for this service, but unfortunately my web dev experience is pretty shallow. Thus, NFT creation/transfer is done via Steemit wallet which is a bit tedious. You can get more information from the following post:

STEEM.NFT - Preserve your art on Steemit & IPFS
(https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@joviansummer/33zbae-steem-nft-preserve-your-art-on-steemit-and-ipfs)



Ubongudofot
: You are among the the top 50 witnesses on steemit, what are some of the developments you have contributed to the Steemit ecosystem which you feel could interest users to support your witness?

🔶Joviansummer : I have a few dev projects, and hopefully some of them may be useful to you and others.

First, you can visit https://steemit.vercel.app. Currently there are 3 functions: post search, information about useful Steem services, and recent posts within up to 24 hours. The "recent posts" function was developed when Steemit was suffering from the problem of not showing your recent posts. Now that the problem is gone, the first 2 functions are still useful but I just left the third function as is.

Additionally, I'm maintaining my own voting service called JSUP(service account: @jsup). JSUP has a unique feature which will let you share your SP delegation with others by specifying beneficiaries(friends, family members, etc). Voting service itself is a form of self-voting, but with JSUP you can split your delegation and give upvotes to others. I think this feature is important because when everybody is doing self-voting only without supporting others could undermine community as a whole.

You can get more information from the following posts:

Also, I'm providing voting service and technical support for AVLE team(@avle). Finally, I recently started providing hourly report of missed blocks on witness Discord channel, using @steemchiller's SDS API.



Ubongudofot
: One of your automated program always votes on users posts and drop a message and this seems not to go too well with most users, have you ever receive a compliant about that before? What's your say?

🔶Joviansummer : Yes. My witness account(@jswit) gives upvotes to users who voted for @jswit and automatically add replies. Actually fellow developer @etainclub suggested me to give users choice to turn off reply. Thus I implemented turn off feature. In @jwit's comments you'll see how to turn off. Write a reply to the comment with "@jswit reply-off".



Ubongudofot
: Assuming you finally enter one of the spots of the top 20 witnesses, what would you like yo accomplish for the benefit of all?

🔶Joviansummer : I'm not sure I'll ever become top 20 witness, but if it happens, I think I want to do something that can attract new users and investors. For example, maybe I could develop a voting bot that will reward those who actually buy Steem and power-up. Or I could sponsor other Steemian's promising projects and initiatives. I can't do those things now because I'm operating at zero profit(if not at loss). Everything from voting service to witness node costs money.



Ubongudofot
: Do you support charity, what type of charity do you sponsor? , do you have a criteria?

🔶Joviansummer : It's not much, but I sent Steem donations to regional events such as Steem Fest Korea a couple of times. I'm willing to continue my support in the future. Additionally, I support @kissteemkr with a portion of my witness account's SP by giving upvotes via JSUP's beneficiary feature. @kissteemkr is a South Korean project to help orphans, people with disabilities, etc. It's maintained by South Korean Steemian @epitt925.



Ubongudofot
: What has been your greatest achievements in life and on the Steemit platform?

🔶Joviansummer : My greatest achievement in life is having a family. I'm married and have 2 sons. I'm trying my best to support my family and be a good, respectable father. Raising and mentoring kids is not an easy task, but it's worth every time and effort.

As for my achievment on Steemit, my python coding skill was greatly improved doing all those dev projects, and met some great people along the way. Besides, I learned a lot about linux system administration by operating witness node. It's mainly technical, because, as I told you, I'm kind of tech guy,😄.



Ubongudofot
: What advice do you have for both new Steemains and those who are struggling to grow on the steemit platform?

🔶Joviansummer : Maybe you're asking a wrong person(tech nerd!), but I'll try my best. I would say this: use Steemit mainly to write and share your life's story or expertise rather than to earn money. If your primary goal is money or RoI(return on investment), you'll get tired quickly. If you can use Steemit regardless of getting upvotes or not, I think you have a good prospect.



Ubongudofot
: What beautiful thing about your country can you share to the Steem community?

🔶Joviansummer : This is "tasty" rather than "beautiful", but I'll say this anyway: if you visit South Korea, try Korean-style fried chicken. There are various kinds and everyone loves it. I think foods are great in South Korea in general, but fried chicken is particularly great in my opinion.



Ubongudofot
: What's your favorite music?

🔶Joviansummer : I like classical music. Many people think classical music is boring, but if you listen to it a bit more, it will really grow on you. Though my favorite composer is J.S.Bach, I'd recommend to start with smaller pieces by W.A.Mozart.



Ubongudofot
: What's your take about the new initiative on Steemit concerning the teaching team?

🔶Joviansummer : Unfortunately, I don't know much about the teaching team initiative you're referring to. So I can't say much about it. But from my personal experiences on Steemit, there are people who will gladly share their knowledge and expertise when you're trying to learn something.



Ubongudofot
: What's your per peeve?

🔶Joviansummer : Dishonesty or hypocrisy. To me, intellectual honesty and logical consistency is very important.



Ubongudofot
: If you could turn back the hands of time, what would you like to bring back?

🔶Joviansummer : If I can turn back time, I want to say "thank you" to everyone who helped me and say "sorry" to everyone whom I wronged. Many times I didn't say those in the past and I regret it.*



Ubongudofot
: What does it take to become a Steem witness?

🔶Joviansummer : As far as I can tell, the minimum requirement is two-fold. First, you need to believe in Steem's future. Second, you should be able to maintain a linux server. After that, you could persue something like app development, community engagement, etc. Also You'll be discussing Steem's various issues with other witnesses on Discord channel.



Ubongudofot
: What's the best thing you've observed about Steemit so far?

🔶Joviansummer : Genuine people. I don't write comments often(my bad, I need to be more active), but some posts from @newiz, @jungjunghoon, and @maikuraki really makes me smile. Their posts tend to be short, but I enjoy them because they are candid. It's great to see real snippets of real people's lives.



Ubongudofot
: Which user/users will you like me to feature on my show?

🔶Joviansummer : I don't know how possible, but how about @justyy or @steemchiller? Currently they are the top two witnesses of Steem.



Ubongudofot
: What message do you have for the Steemit team?

🔶Joviansummer : I wish the Steemit team would be much more active on both Steemit and witness Discord channel, exchanging ideas and talking about what is to be done for Steem ecosystem's future. In my opinion, they need to talk with Steemians and witnesses more.



Ubongudofot
: What can you say about the Interview show case?

🔶Joviansummer : I think it's awesome. I like ordinary people's stories much more than those of celebrities. I hope it will become more and more popular.



Ubongudofot
: Thank you very much JUvian for your time, it was nice to have you on my show.

To my audience

I hope you enjoy the Show...? Do you think I am missing something? Please feel free to tell me, let's make this better daily. Share your suggestions with me, I'll so much appreciate it.

Do you have a particular topic you would like me to feature? Is there a user you would like me to feature? Please contact me (language) is not a barrier and all will be handled successfully.

If you are interested in being one of my guests, please don't hesitate to contact me any time soon through my details: Discord: ubongudofot#9499

Telegram: Contact Me

Please note that users/guest's privacy or confidentiality would be considered first before posting, thank you.

See you next week for another interesting show, don't miss it.




The Previous Shows:

Click here to read my previous Shows..

Cast a vote to these Interview Showcase sponsors

img
@pennsif.witness

img
@moecki

xpilar.witness

Sort:  

Thank you so much for inviting me, and I wish you good luck and bright future. Thank you!

 2 days ago 

You are welcome. It was a pleasure having such interesting discussions with you. I hope we could do this again in the future and I could do this with other Korean Steemians.

Thank you for conducting an informative interview today as well.
Thanks to @ubongudofot, I got to know @joviansummer better.👍

@joviansummer, Thank you very much for enjoying my post! 🤣🙏

Thank YOU for posting interesting(and sometimes funny) contents!

По-моему, это замечательно, то что Steem может быть полезен таким людям как @joviansummer.
Я узнала про этого разработчика полгода назад из новостного поста @pennsif. И теперь с удовольствием прочитала подробности от @ubongudofot. Спасибо!

I think it's great that Steem can be useful to people like @joviansummer.
I found out about this developer six months ago from a news post by @pennsif. And now I'm happy to read the details from @ubongudofot. Thanks!

Thank you for choosing my @jsup service. I hope you'll find some of my other projects useful. Thanks!

Да, ваше объяснение про NFT показалось мне интересным. Я мало об этом знаю, и другие объяснения до этого ничего мне в этом не объясняли, хотя тема популярная. Сложные проекты находятся немного в стороне от обычных пользователей.

Yes, your explanation about NFT seemed interesting to me. I don't know much about it, and other explanations have not explained anything to me about it before, although the topic is popular. Complex projects are a bit apart from ordinary users.

@jsup теперь мой любимый сервис. Мне досадно, что я не нашла его раньше.

@jsup is now my favorite service. I'm annoyed that I didn't find him sooner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64029.44
ETH 2756.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65