Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W2 | All About My Local Music | by @Sahmie

in Hot News Community2 years ago
HELLO FRIENDS

Greetings my esteem steemians in this wonderful community. I hope we are wonderfully well and also having a great day filled with good tidings in all ramifications of life.

This is my participation post for the "Steemit Engagement Challenge Season3 Week #2 |All About My Local Music" contest brought to us by @hot.news.

I wish to invite @kinase, @five5 and @yangitu99, and any other persons who would like to participate too to CLICK HERE for more instructions.

20220727_204318.png
Designed by @sahmie using Pixellab

INTRODUCTION

Music is an essential ingredient of numerous eternities of human life. It unfolds satisfaction and joy in someone’s life. Music is the essence of life and gives tremendous peace to us. In the words of William Shakespeare,

“If music is the food of love, play on, Give me an abundance of it; that surfeiting, The passion may sicken, and so die.”

Thus, Music enables us in relating with our spirits or real self.

Music is a fascinating tone which is an assortment of harmonies and melody and which alleviates you. Music may also infer the art of organising such pleasant sounds with the assistance of various musical devices.

MY LOCAL MUSIC

As Nigerians, we are quite familiar with almost all Genres or types of music from hip-hop to pop to blues, you name it.

But I am not here to represent the entire body of Nigeria today, but to represent a Bayelsan in Nigeria. In Bayelsa, we listen to a very distinct kind/type of music which we are known for. As a citizen of the Niger Delta, we are known to have a very different style of music called OWIGIRI

OWIGIRI is the conventional music of the Ijaw people located in the southern part of Nigeria. It is fondly dubbed “The Izon Numu” by the whole Niger Delta region of Nigeria.

Owigiri is highlife music and as such continues to be a traditional genre which indicates the musical expressions of the Ijaws, Lyrics made in the provincial language and patterned according to the lyrical pattern of the musical frontage of the people.

It makes use of instruments such as leather tom-tom drums, integrated with some musical instruments from the western world such as guitars, bass drums and electric keyboards.

It also utilizes symmetry in singing with proms dubbed “Owigiri and Ekegene” which are largely celebratory.

Artist popular in this line of music includes the likes of Pereama Freetown, Barrister Smooth, King Robert Ebizimo, Alfred Izion Ebi and others.


king Robert performing a Song. (Courtesy Youtube).


Barrister Smooth performing on stage. (Courtesy Youtube)


Pereama Freetown performing on stage. (Courtsey Youtube)

It's a melody that brings the Ijaw people together no matter where they reside, be it here in Nigeria or Diaspora. Of course, we all know what music does for people, thus Owigiri music is not left out.

The Owigiri dance is a dance step that requires you to whine you waist according to the rhythm of the song. It requires a great deal of flexibility.

I am yet to see any traditional or cultural music share similarities with the Owigiri, but I look forward to it.

20211130_220021.png

Like always, because I can't be here to write without you all on the other side, I can never stop being appreciative of your great works. Thank you all for always making out time to go through my work. I can never say thank you enough. You are my real MVPs.

THANKS TO YOU ALL!!!

NOTE: Always have a smalle on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20211015_222626.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 
Description
Information
Score
Club5050
🟢
1
Plagiarism Free
🟢
1
#steemexlusive
🟢
1
Bot Free
🟢
1
300 Words
🟢
1
Markdown Style
1
Quality Content
1.5
Total Score
7.5/10
Voting CSI17.1 ( 0.80 % self, 125 upvotes, 49 accounts, last 7d ))

Determination of Club Status refers to the https://steemworld.org/transfer-search Web-based Application

Verification Date
July 27, 2022
O'clock14.30 PM (Indonesian Time)
Get Upvote6
Valid Comments from Other Users3
Note
Onigiri is like a mix of Blues and jazz, Keep upvote and comment on other people's posts so that you look more active on the platform by interacting with other users.
 2 years ago 

Thank you very much. I appreciate

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.
default.jpg

 2 years ago 

interesante el estilo de música de tu localidad, te cuento que es muy similar a algunas colonias africanas de latinoamérica, se conserva casi identico la ritmica, la forma de cantar y de bailar de los grupos eticos afrodecendientes que viven en suramérica; entre ellos está el género costeño caribeño "El tambor" de las costas venezolanas, o los grupos afrodecendientes de brasil y argentina.

exitos en tu participación amigo

 2 years ago (edited)

Wow! I can't wait to hear these rhythms you speak of. Thank you for always having time to go through my works. I really appreciate

 2 years ago 

Tal vez algunos steemians de Venezuela del caribe puedan hacer alguna reseña musical de estos ritmos musicales afrodescendientes. Yo haré uno pero del tango Argentino que en donde Vivo.

Te mando un abrazo

 2 years ago 

Thank you. I appreciate

 2 years ago 

Hola amiga interesante música autóctona de tu localidad tiene muy buen ritmo, y el baile me llamo mucho la atención.

Me encanta esta música!
Suerte en el concurso.
Saludos!!

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your wonderful words. Fingers crossed 😍

 2 years ago 

This is my first time seeing a new brand of music called Owigiri in Nigeria.

To even think that it's fine I'm Bayelsa is even more surprising. I have learned something new today @sahmie

 2 years ago 

Wow! Am as surprised as you are. Being
a Bayelsian this tunes are the next closest thing to us, sometimes even closer than our nursery rhymes. I am glad I was able to bring a new thing to your knowledge

 2 years ago 

Wow, that is incredible. Never knew there are other genres of music that people like, especially one like those played in Bayelsa.

We are mostly fed with Afrobeats.

 2 years ago 

I think we will have to invite you to Bayelsa for a first hand experience 😍😍

 2 years ago 

Okay, that would be fine, I'm expecting it.

 2 years ago 

Nice, how do i get to invite you now cause I am very much ready to do that.

 2 years ago 

Maybe some other time, I'm busy now with work. But I'll keep this to mind.

 2 years ago 

Thats very much accepted

 2 years ago 

Nigeria is a country with a great cultural diversity, which allows the existence of different musical rhythms.

Thank you for telling us about Owigiri, a musical rhythm from southern Nigeria, with a great rhythm that makes anyone dance.

Successes in the contest.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your kind words. I hope the rhythm got to you too. 😍

 2 years ago 

Owogiri is really a music on its own and a dance on its own. Just by listening to it, it makes me have this dancing sensation in my feet😅 Nigeria loves dancing with their buttocks a lot

 2 years ago 

Nigeria loves dancing with their buttocks a lot

You can say that again. In this parts of the Niger Delta, as a lady if you can't shake your buttocks then you are considered as one who can't dance. Lol

 2 years ago 

Hahahaha weeh Nigeria mad it's dances. It's cool though, even those who seem not to have buttocks can still shake the little they have

 2 years ago 

Lol 😆 as long as something is shaking..

 2 years ago 

First of all, I can't leave without telling you that your main image is very nice, I liked a lot your design.
Secondly, and most important, I want to share with you that in Venezuela we have cultural expressions related to your culture, due to the slaves who where brought during Spanish Colonization, for exemple from South Nigeria. It's a story of pain and injustice, but it's also what made our culture and population so rich, joining both continent's culture for ever. I invite you to watch at least a few minuts of this documentary:


Source
I'm very well dressed with a sincere smile for you. Blessings

 2 years ago 

I'm already inlove with the dancers. I see our people are our great likenesses. Wow! Astonishing 😍😍

 2 years ago 

Wow!! I couldn't just watch a few minutes, i digested the whole of it wishing i had and English subtitle as i enjoyed every bit of it even with any subtitle. What is music for if not to bring people together.. Am very much happy you shared this with me. Thank you

 2 years ago (edited)

I wished it were subtitled. I did.
Then we share this happyness

of a truth, music is what gives me peace of mind, as it usually relates with my spirit man. The Izon nation are good in their Owigiri style of music. Thanks for sharing, and goodluck in this contest.

 2 years ago 

I am glad you enjoyed it brotherly. It gladdens my heart that my post could connect to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55