Make Your Travel to Nigeria a Memorable One

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago (edited)

good evening from my side, I hope we are all well and enjoying the life that Almighty God has given to us all, well for those who are traveling to Nigeria am going to give you an insight about the Nigerian food so you will be well equipped for the journey in the food aspect. I want to share with you some food you should try when you get to Nigeria...

NIGERIA

welcome to my country Nigeria, where the land is said to be green. that's a euphemism, but the actual colour of our land is brown or clay the color of sand.

many people refer to Nigeria as the giant of Africa because it has the largest economy and of course its 213 million population (2021 estimate). the most populated country in africa.

Nigerian food and culture is one of a kind and you can't travel down to Nigeria without having a taste of our Nigerian food and delicacies

here are some Nigerian food you should try when you come to Nigeria

Nigerian jollof

Screenshot_20220108-000227.jpg
Source: flickr.com

Nigerians I have a special way of preparing their jollof rice and it's very delicious with all the spices and ingredients that was used to prepare the meal. many times people compare Nigerian jollof and Ghana jollof but me as a Nigerian I will vote for the Nigerian jollof

Egusi soup

Screenshot_20220107-235615.jpg
Source:flickr.com

egusi soup is a finger licking mouth watering delicacy and its very healthy for consumption. egusi soup is best eaten with pounded yam. there have been so many debates on the origin of egusi and pounded yam but most people says is from the southern part of Nigeria particularly the edo people.

Beans And Plantain

Screenshot_20220107-090930.jpg
My own photo

beans and plantain is one of my favourite Nigerian cuisine and delicacy just a slice of plantain can recover a bland taste. in university hostel the most popular food is beans sometimes it is serve as beans and plantain, beans and yam, beans and bread, or beans only. I derive joy from eating beans.

Pepper Soup

Screenshot_20220108-001108.jpg
Source: flickr.com

pepper soup will look weird if you are seeing it for the first time but actually a plate of pepper soup has so many health benefits, it can even be used as treatment for some sickness and disease. pepper soup contains cook the meat and the water and it has a lot of spice all you need to do is eat a mint and drink the water many Nigerians enjoy eating pepper soup actually is the food that have no tribal ownership I must say

This is the only safe photo that look

Starch And Banga Soup

Screenshot_20220108-001517.jpg
Source: flickr.com

the Urhobos and Itsekiris enjoy eating starch and Banga soup among other tribes, but it is said that the starch and banga originated from the niger Delta part of Nigeria. the soup features many sea animals most probably because the niger Delta is close to the sea and this sea animals gives that soup a unique taste. the soup can be paired other swallow other than starch.

so these are some quality food you should not forget to try when you travel to Nigeria. as much as I love the feeling of a new environment, I also love to know what brings people together there and food is no 1 in nigeria. that's a tip!!

in as much as I alot to tell you about the Nigerian food and delicacies, I would like to stop here for now so I can carry on with my other activities. have a nice stay in my county (Nigeria)

Sort:  
 3 years ago 
plagiarism-freeNO (photos)
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
Verified userYES
Bot-freeYES

Thank you for sharing - very interesting and original post. The only thing that we would suggest you to change are the photos. Steemit allows to publish only your own photos or pictures on the Creative Commons licence taken from the Internet. All copyrighted photos are prohibited. You can read more about it HERE. It's a very common mistake, but that's quite important, as in some countries using copyrighted photos without the permission of their author is prohibited by law.

Alternatively, in that kind of situations, you can ask in the comment section of the blog where you took the pictures of, if the author is fine with you using photos here on Steemit and then put the screenshot of the answer in your post.

 3 years ago (edited)

Ok, I will keep that in mind. Knowledge is power. And I will read about the lincence

If I may ask, can I use picture from istock photos. Asking the owners of the blog might be very delaying

 3 years ago (edited)

I have took my time to read about the lincence, so I have removed the previous picture and am now using pictures from flicker.com and my personal picture...

I hope am acting safe already. Thanks for the knowledge
Cc:@papi.mati

Thank you very much for editing your post. I appreciate it a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58913.67
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42