Food Photography: A common local viand we call "Paksiw"steemCreated with Sketch.

in CCSlast month

IMG20240829154439.jpg

Source - @cryptopie

These are small saltwater fish that my mother cooked to make a local dish we call "Kaksiw"..


IMG20240829154536.jpg

Source - @cryptopie

Any Paksiw viand is eaten with rice. My mother also opened can small can of tuna but I didn't touched it.


IMG20240829154458.jpg

Source - @cryptopie

I had some sliced apple for my meal yesterday as my source of fiber and added nutrition. I also took some Moring s capsules after my meal.


IMG20240829154615.jpg

Source - @cryptopie

It's nice to eat with some decoration on the table I must say.


My mother is always apprehensive in serving me this simple dish of special fish cooked in vinegar with either ginger and mildly hot long chili peppers or only the latter itself with some seasonings, we call it "paksiw" as the local term for dish kind of dish and made out of fresh water fishes or these fishes which can be caught in the ocean by local fishermen. Yes, I said that my mother is wary of serving me this particular dish because they have small and sharp bones which really will put me in deep trouble if I happen to get stung with those terrible and insidious bones which are hard to feel before you eat them with rice considering that I also have a hard time in separating the meat of these small fishes from their fine and sharp bones because my eyesight is also not getting any better as well. That is why most of the time if this meal or dish is cooked, my mother will have to cook another bigger fish to fry or maybe open a can of tuna or sardines if I happen to not like this hard to eat fish dish.

But mind you, I like this dish too because I happen to grow eating this dish with some other fish used during my childhood days because my mother would often cook it for us to eat for our daily meals. For many people this is one dish which is not really everyone's favorite particularly in these times that there are many other dishes which are rather "tastier" and are not hard to eat like this "paksiw" dish where the parent must manage the feeding of their children when served with this type of viand because it really can hurt the throat if one of the tiny bones would find its way to the throat of one of the family members and it is a concern. So a mother for example would be the first one that would pick the meat of the fish and throw it to the plate of her children especially the younger ones which doesn't yet have the skill in dealing with any paksiw dish.

I am fond of eating any paksiw dish particularly if there are side dishes to cleanse the palate so to speak like if there is fermented rice with fish side-dish we call "burong isda" (fermented fish), or even just tomato slices, or that special pickled papaya relish which tastes sweet and sour and flavored with onions, garlic, ground black pepper, and red bell pepper and is truly a palate cleanser because it is sweet and spicy. Sometimes some boiled vegetables can be eaten with the "Paksiw" like slices of bitter melon (bitter gourd), boiled okra, or even blanched sweet potato greens or its young leaves and will make the meal complete because you will get protein from the fish and additional nutrients plus fibers from the vegetables which sometimes you can just get from your backyard garden.

The paksiw dish is often referred as the viand of the poor because a long time ago these fishes are cheap to buy from the market plus it is simple to cook them for the reason that you will only have to use vinegar, some water, and mild long chili peppers, and some seasonings and boil it until the water slightly reduces and you already made the paksiw dish. But now it seems that it is no longer a food for the poor because even these tiny fish and other freshwater fish which are also hard to come-by are fetching a high price because of inflation effects in our economies.

To some people like me, I do not mind having this dish particularly if special freshwater fishes are used because it is still tasty depending on the person who cooked it and the type of fishes used or who will eat it. But I am having a very good plan to cooked Paksiw in the best way possible so that everybody will be safe in eating it and it is by the use of pressure cooker so that the tiny and sharp fish bones will get soft in the process while assuring that at the same time, no other parts of the fish will be thrown because even the bones large and small including the fish head will all be safe, easy, and edible to consume. So in that way, one can no longer have to pick small pieces of meat to separate them from the fish bones meticulously to avoid the sting of the tiny and sharp bones anymore because they can just pick one whole fish and shove it to their mouths straight already and enjoy eating paksiw even blindfold because all is soft already. So there you go, it will be in my to-do list and all that I have to do is to buy a small pressure cooker for the purpose because I like eating Paksiw viands too but not the troublesome hard and sharp tiny bones that I have to contend with because getting sting by those is a deep regret already but as I see it if cooked in pressure cooker, not anymore.


Captured using my Oppo A92

Camera Sensors: 48MP Main Camera

Camera Mode: Automatic, HDR


ᴀʟʟ ᴛʜᴇ ɪᴍᴀɢᴇs ᴀʙᴏᴠᴇ ᴀʀᴇ ᴄᴀᴘᴛᴜʀᴇᴅ ᴀɴᴅ ᴏᴡɴᴇᴅ ʙʏ @cryptopie 𝘶𝘯𝘭𝘦𝘴𝘴 𝘰𝘵𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘸𝘪𝘴𝘦 𝘪𝘯𝘥𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥



Posted through the ECblog app (https://blog.etain.club)

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Congratulations, your post is upvoted by CCS curation trail from CCS - A community by witness @visionaer3003.

png_20230714_223610_0000.png

"Home is where your heart is !❤️."

Join CCS Curation Trail Invitation to All The Users in Our CCS Community.


cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81LgoDfTovZFjKgw6zMQtAnAPjGMC8RWTcjJfJscBJfnwR4Gi8DzYa91VcGQiVQ6nybhCecG6tn97bGn4jfYjj26.png
Vote for @visionaer3003 as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65