Contest | Exploring the rich culture of our country

in Steem4Bloggerslast year

Screenshot_20230708_230450_Canva.png
radleking.png
edited on canva



INTRODUCTION

Hello 👋 there amazing steemians how are you all doing today I hope all is well and you all are enjoying your day and I'm so delighted to welcome you all to my blog


I'm so glad to welcome you all to another amazing contest organised by @artist1111 Which has the theme "Exploring the rich culture of our country"


Indeed as a Nigerian and also an indegen of akwa ibom state I am very much proud to say that we have a lot of amazing and beautiful cultures which were practice by our forefathers.


So in my today's entry I will be sharing with you all my favorite cultural tradition as well as cultural celebration in my country, and the cultural practice I'd wish more people would know about and lastly the most commonly worn attire in our culture.


It will be fun all the way so sit back and relax as I enlighten you all more about our culture.



WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CULTURAL TRADITION OR CELEBRATION FROM YOUR COUNTRY?

First and foremost I will like to tell you all that I am from akwa ibom which is a state in Nigeria and as we all know that there are a lot of ethnic groups in Nigeria with different kinds/forms of culture/tradition.


So here I'm going to talk about the cultural practice in our state which is akwa ibom. Now akwa ibom state on the other hand has a lot of amazing cultural practice which at some point seems scary while some seems fun and necessary.



MY FAVORITE CULTURAL TRADITION

radleking.png
pexels-photo-3585798.jpeg
radleking.png
picture source


So my favorite cultural tradition is the one which only affects married couples who chooses to be unfaithful to eachother they call it "spirit of ekpo Nkawo" and here you may be wondering how it affects only married couples but don't worry I will explain.


It is a believe which actually works, that for example if a wife chooses to cheat on her husband while still staying with the husband the wife will die and also if a wife cheats on her husband then the husband knows that his wife is cheating on him then he pays a deaf ear and refuses to devorce the wife then still continues to eat her prepared food the husband will also be killed by the spirit.


But it depends on the regions like in our local government and also in the annang tribe it only affects the women that is if the cheats on their husbands the spirit will kill them but if the husband cheats nothing will happen.



MY FAVORITE CULTURAL CELEBRATION 💐

radleking.png
Ekpo_Itiaba.jpg
radleking.png
picture source


So here I will be sharing with you all my most favorite cultural celebration 🎉 in my locality and it is ekpo masquerade festival which is being celebrated at the end of the year which starts from the beginning of dry season.


The expo masquerade festival celebration 🎊 is always very scary and on the other hand it's always fun to follow then around though there will pursue you a lot and if the catch 🫴 you there will beat you mercilessly until you give the little money 💰 then there will leave you alone.


As you can see in the above picture there are a lot of people following the masquerade around and if you do not want them to touch or beat you make sure you are with money there they will become your friend and there will be overtaking you to pursue other people.


Some years back my dad gave me and my brothers permission to go and look at the ekpo masquerade so I called some of my friends and we went together we followed them and alongside with a lot of people and it was on December holiday.


so unfortunately for me I will never forget that day I didn't hold any money so one masquerade pursue me and I ran till there was no road again then I branch into the bush still running then I felled down because the bush was very thick and behold when I turned my eyes here is the ekpo masquerade to cut the matter short he gave me the beating of my life but had it been that I'd hold any small amount of money the ekpo masquerade would have left me alone.



WHAT IS ONE CULTURAL PRACTICE OR CUSTOM THAT YOU WISH MORE PEOPLE KNEW ABOUT?

radleking.png
pexels-photo-6669884.jpeg
radleking.png
picture source


The one cultural custom which I would really like more people to know about is the "Spirit of ekpo Nkawo" that is only affecting cheating married couples.


Since in our society today a lot of couples are busy cheating on eachother so with a tradition like this it would put fear into their minds causing them to remain faithful.


And I could remember when I was in abak local government when I was working for someone over there, I could remember when my oga's wife was telling me about her husband's bad behaviour and how she has tried her best to be faithful to him according to her I qoute " If I fuckup one bit and dare cheat on him I will die in just a matter of days".


So you see why I would like more people to know about this one tradition of ours, because it triggers couples to remain faithful to eachother especially the women.



WHAT TRADITIONAL CLOTHING OR ATTIRE IS COMMONLY WORN IN YOUR CULTURE?

The most commonly clothing and attire that is mostly worn in our state are not that much but I'm going to discuss about few



THE UKARA OUTFIT (CHIEFTAINCY OUTFIT)

radleking.png
ukara.jpg
radleking.png
picture source


This are outfit that are mostly worn by chiefs and those with traditional post in our community, it has an insibidi signs which is being worn mainly for the ekpe masquerade festival that is celebrated here also in akwa ibom and primarily it is tied as a wrapper and hung on the body in other to fall freely



USOBO OUTFIT

radleking.png
284866408_134372009216682_7434058454937140963_n.jpg
radleking.png
picture source


The traditional usobo dress are worn by men in our state it is mostly worn by grooms for traditional marriages and also worn to an important events, it is mostly worn with native caps accompanied by a walking stick in other to show cultural heritage.



CONCLUSION

There are so many amazing cultural practices in our dear state that will wow you and I sincerely hope that the few which I have just discussed about that you all understands my explanation, thank you all for stopping by and remain bless.


radleking.png
I will like to invite @edidiongeffiong, @prime33, @neelofar, @mominul01, @max-pro, @chiabertrand, @steemdoctor1 & @malikusman1
radleking.png


presented by @radleking

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Thanks for your support

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 last year 

I find "Spirit of ekpo Nkawo" very interesting but funny at the same time. It effects only women cheating in a relationship and not men.
Sounds like that spirit must be misogynist, never mind😂😂😂

 last year 

Yeah indeed it always sounds funny but it's deadly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57690.80
ETH 2449.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33