Crypto phishing schemes

in Steem4Bloggers17 hours ago

Hi Steemians,
It's another day of the week and I'm delighted to participate in this contest today organized by @khursheedanwar which talks about Crypto phishing schemes. I will be making my entry below so read through it and drop your valuable comment as it will be appreciated.

virus-6016716_1280.jpg
Source

- How to protect yourself from crypto phishing schemes?

Before we talk about how to protect ourselves from crypto phishing schemes let's firstly discuss what it means. crypto phishing is a strategy used by cyber attackers to access ones details or login information or even personal information thereby having access to the person account with the sole aim or purpose of stealing the person asset.

Crypto phishing can come in form of a mail, message or a link on the website such as we have seen severally on the Steemit website. Once you click the link and then provide the needed information it will be saved in their server which they will use to steal from you.

Now having discussed that lets go into details on how we can protect ourselves from such an attack.

security-265130_1280.jpg
Source

  1. Always ensure you click on links from a trusted source i.e., don't click any link you don't know the sender.
  2. Make sure you always use 2FA i.e., two factor authentication to help you secure your account.
  3. Ensure that your software is updated at all times i.e., your wallets and exchanges to enable you protect your account.
  4. Use wallets that have stand the test of time to store your asset such as metamask, trust wallet etc.
- Have to get victim of any crypto phishing scheme?

I have never been a victim of crypto phishing scheme before. I'm new to the cryptocurrency world and I have always been very careful from day one when it comes to handling my cryptocurrency things.

hacker-3655668_1280.jpg
Source

Whenever I create an account I put in all the necessary measure to ensure I protect my account against any form of theft. This involves binding my mail, using 2FA and also applying other security measures.

Also since I heard about crypto phishing links, I don't usually click on links that are given by any official website that I'm using like in the Steemit platform. Anything that is not coming from the Team or leaders of the various communities I must inqure from those ahead before clicking on them.

So these principles I applied has helped to keep.me safe from day one. And I'm delighted that I haven't fallen a victim of these theft before. I will always try to take precautions always so that I don't lose my assets.

Here I will want to invite a few friends to also join the contest and share their entries as well. I invite @josepha, @dave-hanny, and @bonaventure24 to also share their participation in this week's writing expedition contest.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54