Contest Story10 : The Homeless

in Dream Steemlast year

This is my response to the @dremsteem contest organized by @dove11 - Contest story10 : Homeless

🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷

Can we imagine coming to this world and having no roof above our head. In my city Mumbai it is a common thing to see people living on streets, which means they do not have a home. But then there are certain issues in this. Every person from rural areas when they plan to move to a big city, the first city of their choice is Mumbai. They come in anticipation of work, but when they come, they are faced with the hard reality of life that getting work is challenging and all the more challenging is to find a place to live. And some of them end up living on streets. In Mumbai you will see many families homeless living on the streets.

But, today this is not what I want to talk about with this theme. I want to talk about the homeless children who get lost or displaced. Like I mentioned they come from small villages where there are no good living conditions or opportunities. Many children run away from their homes and end up in the city. They fall for wrong things then and get into addictions of drugs and other vices. Some of them get sold to these child mafias who then make them beg on the streets.

image.png
Source

There are many NGOs in Mumbai who work on getting these children out of the mess and giving them a safer place to live. I have been associated with one such NGO - Sakshi in Mumbai, where we work towards giving them shelter. These children are caught up in drugs, or begging on the streets, or they are just lost in the city with no home to go to. Our NGO finds such children and there is a remand home where they are brought and given shelter. After that Sakshi NGO along with the police tries to find out their homes and then send them back to their homes.

In this process, when we spend time with them. I have seen all types of emotions flowing within them. Some of them want to go back home and some of them do not want to go back home. Some of them like to talk about their homes remembering fondly, and some of the refuse to talk about it. There was a small boy who, if we would ask about his home, will start crying and shivering. I do not know what issues he had at his home and he ran away for that. Whatever they were, must have been very bad for the little boy. And whatever their preference is one thing I understand that they all yearn for love and care, they all want a homely environment. Probably their parents have not been able to give it to them and to get that safe haven they have ventured out further getting lost in the world.

I can feel their pain. I have worked in many slums of Mumbai city with children and I have seen the difference. There are children who live in slums with their parents and they are so happy, it's all because they have a home and loving family with them which makes them feel safe to an extent. So, even if it is a slum, they are happy to live there because they feel loved over there.

Being homeless is a very traumatic experience for a child and it impacts them psychologically for life. Every homeless person gets impacted but for children it is a lifelong trauma that haunts them forever.

I will like to invite @prakhar9675 , @rishabh99946 and @arjunparihar to participate in the contest

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Sort:  

Hi! Street children are an outrageous issue - that should not be the case nowadays. We are so far behind our moral and social possibilities (obligations!).... ;-((

So it is all the more admirable that you are strongly committed to this. Maybe you can alleviate some of the suffering. I wish you strength and perseverance in this Herculean task!

I guess the entry doesn't qualify for the contest - but I don't think that's your main concern... Perhaps @dove11, as the organiser, has a different opinion ;-))

Ohh yes, I do understand that, nevertheless it is always a pleasure to write on topics that feels close to heart, so no hassles if it does not qualify, just felt good writing about it. Thank you for your good wishes my dear

TEAM MILLIONAIRE.
Your comment has been successfully curated by @stef1 at 10%.

 last year 

@nainatengra, You definitely have a point there but if you want to see the situation of homelessness, I invite you to Delhi and see what is it all about. However, as fiction was never a strong point of us Indians so we go by the rules of Frenchman Chretien de Troyes, the father of fiction writing.

And as we all know, homelessness is a rare thing in those countries. I can feel your pain and the background of your story though! My best regards.

Delhi is kind of a crazy place, I do understand.
Well, I am not good at all on fictions..hehe, I enjoy writing on real life experiences.

 last year 

I invite you to post here- https://steemit.com/hive-179660/@dove11/contest-and-result-of-last-contest-my-professional-expertise

I am sure you will find it to your liking and we all will enjoy your expertise.

 last year 

Hi, @nainaztengra,
Congratulations on getting selected as a beneficiary to the admin's result post. My best regards. Please keep posting!

Thank you for the sweet gesture. I feel humbled 🙏

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by @steemladies. The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.

Manually curated by patjewell for Steem For Ladies


IMG_20221128_163104.jpg

Steem For Ladies

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67