The Life Cycle of a Fall Webworm Moth

in Insect Pub4 years ago

Hi everyone! I couldn't help but notice this white moth on a leaf but I couldn't get very close to it. Thankfully I have a zoom lens.

OMG! It is a Fall Webworm Moth and she laid her eggs on the leaf! This was a first for me so I was very excited. I documented the life cycle and I am happy to share this with you.

In the north, fall webworm moths are usually pure white but in the south, they have black spots. The one that I am showing you is the northern fall webworm moth, (Hyphantria cunea). In late spring, females lay their light green, round eggs in a single layer on the leaf of the host plant. The eggs are covered with white scales from her abdomen. Their preferred host trees are Hickory, Elm, Alder, Willow, Birch, Mulberry, Oak, Pecan, Walnut, Sweetgum and Poplar.

Here you can see how hairy her head is.

In one to two weeks the eggs hatch. From the time I saw the moth and eggs, ten days had passed when I first saw the Fall Webworm Moth caterpillars. They look like little worms.

The web spinning caterpillars immediately begin building their sticky silk tent over leaves at the end of a branch that may extend to other branches. The tent is tough and not easy for predators to break into, which allows the caterpillars to eat and grow safely. They eat the leaves, leaving the larger veins and midrib behind. The caterpillars never leave the tent until they are mature.

The caterpillars are inside these leaf rolls and will eat their way out.

Five days later, the tent had expanded to two branches and the caterpillars have grown. When they have eaten all of the leaves on one branch, they have to go to the next closest branch for new leaves.

The caterpillars make a mess of these ornamental trees but that is as far as the damage goes.

Four more days had passed and the tent now covers five branches.

I saw the tent shaking on this day. If the tent is disturbed, the caterpillars will make jerking movements, all at the same time. I believe this is done to scare away potential predators.

Three more days have passed and the leaves on this branch are completely gone and in the caterpillars tummies.

Three more days have passed and the tents are empty. You can see the holes.

From the time the eggs hatched, the caterpillars were in their tents for three weeks. I don't know if they left on their own accord or if birds got to them. According to perdue.edu, the caterpillars feed on the leaves in their tent for six weeks. This tent was in my neighbor's yard so I had no way to see what happened to them.

To my surprise, I found a full grown caterpillar three weeks later on my trash can. Was this a lone survivor?

Yay! I captured its face.

Mature caterpillars are 1-1.5 inches long and as you can see, they have a black head and are covered with tufts of long hairs.

Their bodies have a pair of black spots on each segment.

When fall webworm caterpillars leave the tent, they go in leaf litter or bark crevices to pupate.

Fall webworm moths are nocturnal and are attracted to light. I had the back porch light on and that is why this one came to my door. I took photos to show you what the abdomen looks like.

The silk web that fall webworm caterpillars make is called a 'tent'. Do not get that confused with the Tent Worm Moth and their caterpillars.

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: perdue.edu, tamu.edu, ufl.edu, thoughtco.com

Sort:  

Hi whatisnew,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Yay! You have made my day! Thank you all for your support and I am truly grateful. You have a wonderful week. : )

hey dear @whatisnew, your post is very beautiful and interesting !! you have been very patient to follow the whole life cycle of these caterpillars, I had never seen anything like this! it's amazing how they build their shelter on the branches and how much they eat !! congratulations on your work and the curie vote

Hi @road2horizon! Thanks so much for your kind words and for stopping by. I am so happy that you enjoyed this post. I always say that nature never ceases to amaze me! Thanks again! : )

you are right, the nature is amazing!! my pleasure to read you ;))

Can a post be both beautiful and unsightly at the same time? Do I lack the soul of a true naturalist? Nothing in nature is ugly, right. I don't know.

In any event, a magnificent post. All your nature posts are topnotch, but this one really takes the prize.

Regards and respect,
AG

Yes it can! I still cringe at times but then the fascination takes over. But don't let me see a spider!

Thanks ever so much for your wonderful comment. You know how much I appreciate you and your support AG! Hugs!

Love how you captured each sequence. Too bad you weren't able to see what caused the holes.

Thanks so much! I know, me too. That is a question that will always be unanswered.

Very destructive creatures. I have similar ones here that defoliate the trees in Spring..Can even kill young trees.

That is too bad. I hope the birds will eat them.

that is pretty cool! it's amazing how they keep adapting and increasing the area they are are foraging from. I hope they all just grew up and went out into the big cruel world to make their own way. I heard one had the ambition to be a drummer in a classic rock band so who knows. Thanks for sharing! this must have been rad to witness!

Hi @mimismartypants! It was awesome for me to witness this. Yes, at least one is better than none. LOL! I always say that nature never ceases to amaze me. Thanks for stopping by! : )

Hi! The photographic and textual description is wonderful. I watch your work, wait and patience for weeks to see the caterpillars being born.
It really is a very interesting post. I am a biologist (but I do not practice my profession) and I confess that I admire a field work like this. It has been a great pleasure to have read you, A great hello @whatisnew

Hi @marcybetancourt! It is a pleasure to receive your beautiful comment! Thanks so much. It was a fascinating experience and it makes me happy to know that you enjoyed it also. A great hello to you also @marcybetancourt! : )

Very interesting photos and information! I especially like the photos of the moth with her eggs. I have never seen anything like that in my nature wanders, so it was neat to see!
I have seen similar webbing done by Gypsy Moth caterpillars where I live, which can be rather destructive in large groups.
Kudos for taking the time to document the entire lifecycle, and for writing an interesting, very well done post! :)

Thanks for your kind words and I am glad you enjoyed this post. I was very happy to see the moth with her eggs also. I did read that about Gypsy moths but haven't seen any here. Thanks again for your wonderful comment and for stopping by! : )

How amazing to have witnessed that process mother nature is so beautiful 😊

It sure was and something I will never forget. Nature is amazing! :)

It would of been very interesting to keep track of 😊

You have spent a lot of time trying to put this post together. And it's great that you did! It must be amazing to follow their life cycle but I'm not sure if I like the damage they do to the tree :)

I had no idea that they grow to such size and that they are so hairy. I would probably flip out if I would see it somewhere as I'm afraid of insects in a way but seeing it on a photo I must say that it is beautiful :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good day!

Thanks so much for your kind words and for stopping by @delishtreats! There was a time when I didn't like to get close to an insect but now I can't get close enough. Now spiders, that is another story. I freak out, big time! I can barely look at a photo of a spider. So I know how you feel and I am happy that you were able to enjoy these photos. You have a great day too! : )

Hahaha, and I don't mind spider (almost at all). We have so many of them on our balcony and since we don't want to kill them we don't know how to get rid of them. Every year I take my branch and deport them from the balcony downstairs :D First year I had nightmares but now it's a lot of fun :) So now I get how you feel about other insects :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44