This Is Thursday Right?

in Insect Pub4 years ago (edited)

Well, like that guy who cracks open a beer at 10am and says "It's 5 O'clock somewhere in the world!" It's probably Thursday somewhere in the world.

Yeah I was thinking this was Thursday and had a post all ready for the wonderful @whatisnew's Butterfly and Insect Day post and then I realized it was only Wednesday.

Obviously I've been slacking off on my brain sharpening exercises.

Nevertheless, here's an interesting insect that I came across. Not here in North Texas...I haven't seen anything but a plain brown moth that looked like dirt.. for months now.

No, this gorgeous insect hails from South Africa and I think they also have them in Thailand. They're called a Flower Mantis:

beautiful-insect-1.jpg.optimal.jpg
source

They're rather extraordinary in that they're camouflaged to look like flowers so insects will land on them or next to them and ZAP! They're history.

download (5).jpg
source

Pretty cool huh? Here's a face shot for you whatisnew!

flower-mantis-1.jpeg
source

Flies don't have a chance around these things. Totally fakes 'em out!

download (2).jpg
source

I wish we had something this incredible here. But then I'd probably accidentally kill 'em or Jack would eat 'em. Not accidentally. lol.

9ir66o.png

Thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

mv4t7d.png

d25fwk.png

PS- If y'all have some Bitcoin you can earn about 12% each month IN BITCOIN by using this wallet. With the price of Bitcoin on the rise the potential is quite extraordinary.

If you don't think that sounds like alot I'll send you a link to their calculator. lol. The magic of compounding. You can check them out here.

xsfpf7.png

Sort:  

I guess I could mimic all the wonderfully beautiful like comments below, which these insects are, or I could say thank goodness you didn't tune us into some really creepy, hairy, foot long looking spider. lol

Lol..I agree, this was a welcome change I did instead of trying to freak people out!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 5.71% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy there steem-plus! Thanks so much for the upvote!

That's a beautiful bug!

Howdy sir optout! Isn't that incredible? The wonders of nature. Thanks so much for commenting!

I have never seen such a thing! Wow. They are incredible.
!BEER
!trdo

Congratulations @melinda010100, you successfuly trended the post shared by @janton!
@janton will receive 1.14164438 TRDO & @melinda010100 will get 0.76109625 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site


Hey @janton, here is a little bit of BEER from @melinda010100 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Howdy there esteemapp and thank you for the upvote and marvelous platform!

Beautiful insect.

Howdy today sir Vincent. I agree. Did anyone ever tell you that you have good taste in bugs? lol.

Nope - because I have never tasted one. 😂

lol..good one sir Vincent! I have but not on purpose.

Wow, how beautiful!

Howdy violetmed! I reckon you haven't seen that one in Texas yet! Maybe they could be imported? Keep a few at that butterfly place in McKinney.

Too beautiful to be real! And they are too clever with such a small brain!

Howdy sir kaminchan! I agree, they are very impressive!

I never see them here! They are probably in the jungles!

I bet they are sir kaminchan, they probably avoid people!

Incredible Jonboy! It is a princess mantis! All of them are. LOL! Now do you see why I always say that nature never ceases to amaze me?!?! I love the face shot too. Thanks for showing me these beauties. : )
Thanks for the shout-out! Hugs!

I was amazed at those beautiful creatures Butterfly and the way they deceive insects with their camouflage is very impressive! I'm so glad you liked it. What are the big plans for the weekend?

I loved it! What are my plans for the weekend? Being snowed in. How about you?

Is it snowing there? How much are you supposed to get?

I'm working on steemit for a few hours and then I'll switch to some outside work, gotta cut down some stumps with an axe(I like doing things the old fashioned way) and then watch an NFL playoff game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50