I'm riding with a Polish truck driver...

in #hitchhiking6 years ago

DSC_07842022x1517.JPG

...and the stereotype holds true.

KURWA!

That's the one word even non-Polish people know (it means "whore"), thanks to raging e-sports players. And my truck driver from whom I managed to get a ride to Slovakia, Ružomberok, repeated it probably 4 times in a sentence after a bicycler came the opposite direction on the same lane.

Someone on the radio is also "kurwa", likewise is the driver in front of us who's driving too slow. Not to forget the gearbox which has some electric problems, but the truck still runs, so all good.

Now the phone speaker is getting its own "kurwa" shares.

Polish seems like an easy languages after all - just add kurwa in between every other word.

That's funny.

I was feeling quite down this morning, but I knew when I would just get going, the feeling would pass. I've had my post-Steemfest rest already, so now it's time to move on...

...as soon as the truck starts moving again.

Yup, right now I'm stuck in a truck on highway somewhere in Slovakia with my Polish driver whose "kurwa" has intensified substantially when having to go check outside what's wrong. This time it's for sure, that the "kurwa" is the truck.

Man, what a start, but I'm kinda excited, because in the end I managed to get outside of Krakow using only the tram and a few hitched rides hopping from petrol station to another.

Hopefully it doesn't take too long cause I still need to set up a camp - the price of accommodation in Ružomberok isn't to my liking.

Sort:  

Wish I could live life with abandonment like that. Very liberating. I never hitchhiked but it must be an exciting adventure to meet different people and see different places. Thanks for sharing this post @celestal

Yeah, it's pretty fun, and more interesting than public transportation, also cheaper ;)

Mwahaha I love this, 'cause 'curva' in Romanian also means 'whore', so you're already building up a vocabulary I see :)))
Wouldn't go shouting that in public though, if I were you ;)

Nice to see the journey is underway and that truck drivers the world over all have their favorite swear words...

KURWA 😂

I know what to say when I'm in Poland next and someone cuts me off at the traffic lights.

Nice, I already know Romanian too then :D

Hey if they don't understand, you can always start mumbling that Finnish mumbo-jumbo you and Taraz kept uttering :))) That'll scare them!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.028 which ranks you at #3494 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 304 places in the last three days (old rank 3798).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #149.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies. Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54