Barber Shops, where are they today? How did they get started?

in #history6 years ago

Time for a haircut, there many options to choose from.

For me I just want a plan old haircut…nothing fancy, no frills, just a haircut…. that’s it! There are a lot of franchises/companies out there and pretty much everywhere, in malls, outlet malls, shopping centers, etc… Maybe places like these work for other people but not for me. When I was old enough my dad took me to his barber shop…and that is what I want to share about, the barber shop!

rsz_11rsz_a_barber_getting_ready_to_shave_the_face_of_a_seated_customer_circa_1801.jpg
A barber getting ready to shave the face of a seated customer, circa. 1801.

Ah the old fashion barber shop, let me tell you a little bit of what I discovered and let me say this I was surprised and had no idea!

The History

The word barber is from the Latin word barba, which means beard.

The barber's trade has a long history: razors have been found among relics of the Bronze Age (around 3500 BC) in Egypt. In ancient Egyptian culture, barbers were highly respected individuals. Priests and men of medicine are the earliest recorded examples of barbers. Men in Ancient Greece would have their beards, hair, and fingernails trimmed and styled by the κουρεύς (cureus), in an agora (market place) which also served as a social gathering for debates and gossip.

Barbering was introduced to Rome by the Greek colonies in Sicily in 296 BC, and barber shops quickly became very popular centers for daily news and gossip. A morning visit to the tonsor became a part of the daily routine, as important as the visit to the public baths, and a young man's first shave (tonsura) was considered an essential part of his coming of age ceremony. A few Roman tonsores became wealthy and influential, running shops that were favorite public locations of high society; however, most were simple tradesmen, who owned small storefronts or worked in the streets for low prices.

Starting from the Middle Ages, barbers often served as surgeons and dentists. In addition to haircutting, hairdressing, and shaving, barbers performed surgery, bloodletting and leeching, fire cupping, enemas, and the extraction of teeth; earning them the name "barber surgeons". Barber-surgeons began to form powerful guilds such as the Worshipful Company of Barbers in London. Barbers received higher pay than surgeons until surgeons were entered into British warships during naval wars. Some of the duties of the barber included neck manipulation, cleansing of ears and scalp, draining of boils, fistula and lancing of cysts with wicks.

What about the pole?

rsz_1barberpole.jpg

The red and white pole outside barber shops references a time when barbers were expected to perform bloodletting and other medical procedures to heal the sick; red represented blood and white represented bandages. "Barber surgeons" in Rome also performed teeth extraction, cupping, leeching, bloodletting, surgery and enemas.

The pole itself is said to symbolize the stick that a patient squeezed to make the veins in his arm stand out more prominently for the procedure. In Europe, barber poles traditionally are red and white, while in America, the poles are red, white and blue. One theory holds that blue is symbolic of the veins cut during bloodletting, while another interpretation suggests blue was added to the pole as a show of patriotism and a nod to the nation’s flag. However, today's barber poles represent little more than being a barber shop that cuts hair and does shaves.

Prior to 1950, there were four manufacturers of barber poles in the United States. In 1950, William Marvy of St. Paul, Minnesota, started manufacturing barber poles. Marvy made his 50,000th barber pole in 1967, and, by 2010, over 82,000 had been produced. The William Marvy Company is now the sole manufacturer of barber poles in North America, and sells only 500 per year (compared to 5,100 in the 1960s).

Conclusion

I put out this post today because I got my haircut yesterday and it got me thinking about just how hard it is to find a good barber shop these days. The man that cut my hair for many many years retired around 7 years ago. I was then forced to go to one of those “other” places for a few years until I found another barber shop in my area. I enjoy going there and not having to explain how I want my hair cut, I sit down and off the hair goes. I am not only supporting a local business, that stays busy, but also supporting a craft that is slowly dying out.

Bonus images:

Bucharest, Romania around 1842
rsz_barbershop_in_bucharest_romania_around_1842.jpg

Interior of a barber's shop, circa 1920
rsz_interior_of_a_barbers_shop_circa_1920.jpg

All images from this post and most of the text can be found here.



If you missed my other post from this past week, please take a look!



Sola.JPG
You can also find me on Sola, the Twitter replacement, under username simms50, https://sola.ai/simms50

Your upvote is always appreciated.
Please resteem and leave a comment below!

Shalom(Peace)
1-Small.jpg

QUESTION: Are there any men out there that still go to a barber shop? Please let me know!

Sort:  

@echowhale team swimming by with your upvote

Well that is some very interesting information! There's a barber shop just in the town we live near. The barber there is getting old though so idk if he's still working or how much longer he'll work. We actually do all our own hair cutting. I cut my husband's and the kids' hair, and my husband cuts mine! I may do a post on that sometime, as I could go for a haircut soon.

That was the case for my first barber, did it for a looooong time and then retired. Now there are two people where I go now and they are getting up in age as well.

You should do a post, you don't hear about a man cutting women's hair that often....at home!

My wife cuts my hair. I have not been to a barber since 1971. Interesting post.

That must come in handy! Also did it look similar to the last picture?

good post

Thanks for checking out the post!

My oldest daughter cuts my hair, she is 12. 3 years ago I did regularly attend a barber but not as good as the barber I had growing up in New Baden, IL. He was a barber for 60 years before he retired, still used the strait razor. Thanks for the post!

The first barber I had I think said he had been doing it for at least 40 years before he retired! Nice that now you can save the few bucks and get it done at home! New Baden...ah Cardinal country! Do you still follow baseball? On Wednesday they announced who is going into the Hall of Fame. Jim Thome was elected, he went to the same High School as I did....he was a few years ahead of me!

Sorry - I gave up on sports when the players started striking, not for the money but because they loved the game...not sure I believe them. Hopefully your classmate is a better man than most I read about today :)

Understandable, other people I know did the same thing! As for the classmate, yes he was a class act. Good to the community, fans and even the media, also no accusations around cheating either! Voted in the first time on the ballet.

I havent been able to find a barber shop in a few days lol

Are you sure? I can't tell!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51