Is Stonehenge fake history?

in #history7 years ago

Was Stonehenge actually built in the 1950's?, I suspect the majority of people who visit Stonehenge believe they are viewing the remains of an ancient prehistoric structure, however it has apparently been restored numerous times over the past century. Personally I would prefer to see the structure as pictured below in 1885 in its true remaining state. Some of the stones are actually reinforced concrete which is now visible as the plaster decays as you can see below at the base of the middle stone. For me a lot of the mystique and wonder of any ancient site is lost when you discover it has been restored. Clearly Stonehenge is not fake and is prehistoric in nature, but the restoration work does not represent true history in my opinion. I am curious why Stonehenge was restored to appear like an ancient ruined structure and not restored in full. Personally I would prefer to see any ancient structure in its remaining true condition and not a restored version, what do you think?

Sort:  

I was thinking about this today while at the colosseum, but I think I've come to terms with fixing certain aspects of monuments, as long as the fixes help us to learn about the past. Oh, and of course to help preserve them for future generations.

I do know what you mean about places not "really" being the same after renovations though. I guess for me it all hinges on why a renovation is done.

Conspiracy theory? Sign me up!

Ya the true stonehedge has technically been replaced, but to be real, the true one wouldnt stant the test of time, so u know mordern humans do what they do best. . . . . innovate, renovate, and em . .:(


Extra rant

The illuminTi spends their time 100m below the stone hedge though, thats where they control the world from

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79