Where languages come from

in #history7 years ago

This is just a short post of a cool pic I found on Facebook.

I've had a few discussions with people over the last couple of weeks or so about where different languages come from. This tree seems to do a nice job of summing things up a little...

As a linguist, these things fascinate me. The more I look at this pic the more impressed I am!

Images 1

img

I OFTEN POST ABOUT MARITIME SHIPPING, POLITICS, AND LANGUAGES. UPVOTE, RESTEEM, COMMENT, AND/OR FOLLOW ME IF YOU LIKE THIS TYPE OF CONTENT!

signature

Steemit
LinkedIn
Facebook
Website
Tel: +27 (0)73 612 0278
E-mail: [email protected]
signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

all images from www.pexels.com or own images.






Sort:  

Hi @pjcswart,
Congrats! Your post has been featured at The Daily Qurator 23

I hope you like it.
Dr. TLK :)

😀 😃 😄 😁 😆 I hope you have a WONDERFUL day! Thanks for this!

I remembre reading about the indo-european language back in my first year of college, yet one language i can´t find is the Basque, spoken between Spain and France, are those guys older than the Indo-european? ahahah
Peace, Carlos

Could be, I don't it is exhaustive but it does have Afrikaans which is only about 70 years old and not too widely spoken. 👨‍🌾 👩‍🍳 I hope you have a WONDERFUL weekend!

Interesting topic @pjcswart with world wide movement of people over the years languages have most probably traveled more than we are even aware.

Somehow some are more connected and easier to read to understand.

Thinking back to when we traveled using English and Afrikaans growing up we found reading in many countries (one or the other language) assisted in understanding words from the basic word itself.

Cool sounds like fun!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Sep 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hi I saw your post featured in yesterday's edition of the Daily Qurator and came to read more. Very interesting graphic showing how so many languages have common roots.

You're welcome. Thank you for your kind words! I hope you have a WONDERFUL WONDERFUL day!! Where are you from?

Kansas, USA

Cool why did you decide to live there?

It's where my wife and I grew up. After college we lived in California, Maryland, Mississippi and Virginia for several years, then decided to move back to Kansas to be close to family.

Nice, where in Maryland and Virginia?

Baltimore and Fredericksburg

Cool, Fredericksburg is a historic place right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74