What is the Elephant Walk?

in #history6 years ago

The United States Air Force term elephant walk refers to aircraft taxing in proximity. Often associated with Minimum Interval Takeoff, nose to tail formations. This tactic demonstrates teamwork​, the ​capability of the unit, and ability to launch all combat ready aircraft in one mass event. Naturally, the quicker you can put armed aircraft in the air, the more bombs you can efficiently deliver on target in one mass raid.

Note the appearance of the aircraft, as if they were elephants walking to a watering hole, in line with each other.

Sort:  

For some strange reason, I miss being around the flight line when the planes are taking off. I like to time the C5s to see how long it takes them to get off the ground. I once got to see an SR-71 take off at night. I could barely see the plane, but the flames were unmistakable.

For those who never saw it in person. The SR-71 is no longer in operation BUT several are preserved across the country at museums.

Yeah I know they have been discontinued. I still don't get why. In this video you could see more of the SR-71 than I could when I saw it.

Hopefully, you are enjoying your retirement in the PI. Beautiful​ country, dirt cheap for beachfront​ living.

I never got to see the SR-71, before my time, but F-14's....Were my all time favorites at night.

They would use SR-71's for tracking in training (computer modeling) fastest things out there....

Congratulations @patriotschoice! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18