The most famous photos taken on June 16 in South Africa - Youth day

in #history7 years ago

Today we remember the youth of June 16th 1976 who took to the streets to protest against the apartheid regime. They were met with live ammunition from the then South African military and Police.

I really do not want to go into details of this sad history but reflect back on some of the most famous photos taken by Sam Nzima.



In the picture we see Hector Pieterson (later died) who was shot by the military being carried by Mbuyisa Makhubu (who apparently disappeared after)

Read: Who is Hector Pieterson?

Read: Who is Sam Nzima?



Hector Pieterson Museum



The born frees...I will rather not comment!!!

The new generationPost 1994 - 2017

We thank Nelson Mandela for uniting all of us...may his soul rest in peace

Image credit 1 & 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9


Sort:  

Very interesting time in age. Thanks for sharing :) and I'm following you

Thanks for reading @yonny ...I followed back.

Tear jerker. Thanks for sharing

I have been to the apartheid museum and on the streets of Soweto where this happened. Very sad incident that marks one of the worst aspects of human divide ! My respects to the young martyrs. Hope such things never happen in future again.

Would love to see more posts from you. Following you. Please feel free to follow me and see my posts today if you like interesting wildlife pictures with a story like this one https://steemit.com/wildlife/@vm2904/riding-high-free-ride-with-a-meal-of-ticks, https://steemit.com/bwphotocontest/@vm2904/bwphotocontest-nature-s-artwork-of-symmetry-the-passionflower and https://steemit.com/photography/@vm2904/attitude-the-meek-shall-rule-the-earth
Please provide your comments, upvote and resteem if you like any of my blogs

@vm2904 I'm glad you have been to Soweto...I am following you and will check the posts.Thanks for reading my post and the comment.

Thank you for sharing the story with us @mokluc

I am glad you liked it @bontonstory

Hi @mokluc good post, keep up the good work!

micro_follow_button

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66