You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Butch and Sundance: The Glory Of Argentina

in #history6 years ago

Ha! I think it may have to do with opera... But it's a great saying, no matter where it comes from! I can remember my dad using that phrase when I was a kid. Pretty sure it's been around for a while!

Sort:  

I bet you're right and it would only take a minute to find out wouldn't it? I'm still amazed at our research abilities now. or what we have access to, not OUR'S really. Like those photos of the trio of Butch, Sundance and Etta in South America. Those are not included in the thousands of photos I've seen of them in any of the sites.

But just for fun I typed in "images of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid In Argentina" and there they were!

The information that is at our fingertips is amazing. I remember spending hours looking through books to find the answer to a question and realizing that I simply did not have the right books for the information that I was searching for. And I had a pretty darn good Library. Many times you just gave up and never did find the answer to the question. The internet never ceases to amaze me.

yes that's very true Melinda, we are showing our age but I remember searching for hours in a public library for information and not finding it and having to give up but it's rare that we can't find at least something about our subject online.

It is pretty miraculous, and to think that my grandkids will take for granted the fact that any information that they want is always at their fingertips! I think that's a good thing.

haha! well, that could be a good thing but it's the reason our grandkids would never listen to a word we said. They always had their phones in their hand and they'd look things up and even dispute our advice or knowledge because they knew it all, it was right at their fingertips! Everything they needed to know. lol. It was very frustrating.

My grandkids know that if you want facts and figures that the internet is the place to go. And I like that they have that available to them. But if they're looking for personal experiences they often come to me- like you were there right Grandma? what did you do when you were there? Or what was it like when you had to use a payphone. What did you do if you didn't have a dime? I like to be able to tell them stories!

oh we dreamed of being able to pass on stories and wisdom but no..the grandkids are 18 and 22 now and never, ever would even ask us a question because they always thought they knew everything! Never saw anything like it. we were so shocked.
Being a grandparent was nothing like we were told it would be or what other grand parents were experiencing with their grandkids!
But your description is the way it's supposed to be for sure!

Oh that is sad. Those kids missed out on so much. We're their parents respectful of your knowledge? I think that makes a difference with my grandkids. My son was involved in a trivia contest at his local bar/restaurant and he had me as his call for help person. He was allowed to make two calls a night for help on questions that he didn't know the answer to. Often I was able to help and the kids would hear him praising me for helping him out on whatever question it was. I think because my kids respect my knowledge their kids have learned to also.

The information that is at our fingertips is amazing. I remember spending hours looking through books to find the answer to a question and realizing that I simply did not have the right books for the information that I was searching for. And I had a pretty darn good Library. Many times you just gave up and never did find the answer to the question. The internet never ceases to amaze me.

Oh wait! Are these comment votes I see?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66