Sort:  

howdy there young filly! a little cowpoke talk there. the emphasis being on "young" not "filly" lol. well I got sidetracked on that point but I figured there may be people who have no idea what happened to the huge buffalo herds and why so I thought it was important to bring that truth out. I don't think they teach that in school.
neither action was moral or acceptable, it was shameful and didn't have to happen that way.
had you seen that photo of the giant pile of buffalo skulls before? that is mind-blowing.
yes the Lawmen. those guys were tough now. they shot first and asked questions later! that one's for you.

@janton I taught History as well, and it was always a part of our curriculum, although most of our isn't US based, But really, the same thing unfortunately happened in Canada. That pile of buffalo skulls was a new one to me. So sickening!


howdy there @lynncoyle1! what???? you're saying that the Canadian government also paid hunters to wipe out buffalo up there so that the Indians up there had no food or hides? dang I didn't ever hear that? I don't even know what tribes Canadians had up there? had to be a little weird being the first Canadians though. huh, very interesting, thank you!

I wanted to include that buffalo skulls photo because it is so incredible to see an illustration of the numbers of them that were killed. and many had never seen anything like it.
thanks so much Lynn!

Not specifically @janton, but the Hudson's Bay Company, the major trading company in Canada at the time, was closely tied to the government and they bought all the hides, and the skulls were used as fertilizer and all the new settlers wanted them. The natives ended up signing treaties just to ward off starvation. That's all a condensed simplified version of the history, but the gist of it is, that no one cared about the natives here either!

More schools should be teaching this stuff; I'm surprised the schools in the States don't. You'd only have to show that photo to get the point across. A picture tells a story...that's for sure!!

howdy back again lynncoyle1...well were there Indian wars in Canada like we had here?

There sure were @janton, especially when they were being forced to leave their homes only to be 'contained' in certain areas/reservations etc. We had a 'wild west' of sorts, but it was always tamed because we had England's influence all the time too.

what did England do to contain it?

I meant that we had a huge English influence...needed to be more civilized that raging cowboys lol

Lynn I need to ask you a question, are you around tonight?

Sorry @janton, I took the day off. If you're still around, I'm here :)

the day off? I thought Steemit was a 7 day a week thing? I didn't know we were allowed to take a day off! lol. I'm glad you're here, thank you. you're the most experienced person I know on Steemit so I wanted your opinion about something.
hebrewhousewife put out a post about me this afternoon, really was wonderful of her and it really shocked me of course. here is the link:
https://steemit.com/community/@hebrewhousewife/they-aren-t-all-bots-shout-out-to-an-amazing-steemian

I thought about resteeming it but my question to you is..would that be seen as arrogant or too self-promoting? because the thing is all about me which is crazy. but of course my earnings are next to nothing and I AM trying to grow and this would give me more exposure.
so could you look at that post and let me know what you think?

If I'm not too late, yes, resteem it. It's a sign of thanks to the author. I totally get what you are saying though, but no, it's not arrogant at all :)

That's so nice of her too. I'm going to go check it out :) Congratulations for making the kind of difference where someone feels the need to write a post about it!

Miss Lightweight..did you go to bed before you even got my reply?
I think you said yes I'm hear how can I help you and then you went to bed immediately! hahaha.. you're the best I'm so thankful that you checked your replies, ok, I will resteem it. hey, do you know of any research that shows what's the best time to post or resteem for maximum exposure, it's hard to figure since so many are in other countries.
Also, Jaynie invited me to join steemitbloggers but do you know where i find those banners to put at the bottom of the post?
and also, what section in the discord group do I put proof that I upvoted and commented on a member's post?

hahaha I think I did :) And I read the post; that was so nice of her to do!

In steemitbloggers discord, on the left you will see this:

If you scroll up in "admin-announce", you'll find the information on the banners. And you just have to copy and paste it, but the instructions are there. Make sure when you post, one of your tags is #steemitbloggers too.

In "support_confirmations" is where you put the names of those you upvote. Just have a look and it'll make perfect sense :)

As far as timing for posts, you got me! I try not to do it too late at night or mornings, but lots do. It's a crap shoot I think :) That's why joining some of these communities is such a good idea because there's a spot in all of them where you can share your post and a lot of people select their reading material from there.

thanks Lynn for all this information and help. I upvoted a couple of steemitbloggers yesterday, at least, do I only put in ones that I do today? how often do you put these in, just one a day?
thank you!

My pleasure buddy! Yep, just one/day, but if you miss a day, then just do two the next. Jaynie keeps a pretty close eye out, so aim for one per day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62