Church of the African Lady ""Notre Dame d'Afrique""steemCreated with Sketch.

in #history7 years ago

Church of the African Lady ""Notre Dame d'Afrique""

notre_dame_dafrique-alger.jpg

Hello, dear steemit friends. hope you are fine and having a nice day. in this post I want to show oldest church in Ageria. Its a Catholic cathedral located(""Notre Dame d'Afrique"" in French) in Algiers, the capital of Algeria. its Founded in 1872 .

notre_dame_dafrique_2010.jpg

notre_dame_dafrique_a_alger_en_2010.jpg

Notre Dame d'Afrique was described in the 1911 edition of the book "The Mediterranean Sea, Ports and Maritime Roads As a pilgrimage church for sick people and sailors. it was created by Cardinal Lavigieri in 1872 and stands out on a rocky cliff on the northeastern slope of Mount Bouzria, above the Christian and Jewish burial sites.

507px-mgr_lavigerie.jpg

800px-algiers-notredamedafrique.jpg

notre-dame-d-afrique-alger-72798.jpg

"The Church is a symbol of tolerance, The print shows part of the monastery of the Carmelite monks in the left part of the foreground, its large garden surrounded by walls and the church behind it lying on a slope above the Gulf of Algiers.

800px-intc3a9rieur_de_nda.jpg

abouna-52.jpg

alger-notre-dame-dafrique_basilique.jpg
Its really very beautiful cathedral and it has hundreds visitors everyday. so hope you like this short post about this church.

Sort:  

I love how it stands as a symbol of tolerance. There is also something very poetic about the way in it is situated on that hill. Thanks for sharing - I hope we can connect on here!

yeah it really beautiful church located on high mount in a place called bouzria, it lying on a slope above the Gulf of Algiers. thats why they called it pilgrimage church for sick people and sailors.. you have to know something about histroy of Algeria.. there were so many sailors groups used to manage Mediterranean Sea.

Sounds like a really exciting era of history! I bet the church is filled with stories!

I really love history . as long as it old and still alive that means it has big postion andfilled os stories as you said. you can check my others and see more amazing things.

@khaled-dz Hi, my pal . I could not analyze the article, but I'm sure it's a ideal article again. It's good to follow you. You share some ideal things. I'm going to analyze it now. I'm looking forward to the next one. bye bye my pal

yeah you are right. I am doing my best to share Ideal things. steemit is a place to share your voice either in your content or your comments.. so be yourself and walk slowlly till you achive your aims..

I am proud of you because you show a great concern on catholic church . The pictures is very nice , it shows how great the early catholic mission are. The church building has a good architectural design. I am proud to be a catholic.

am glad that you like my modest post.. I wrote it from my depth heart to show beauty of christinty and it has tolerance mission and we welcome it in a Muslim country and still look after this church and invite people to visit it.. you should know that they are so many christian people visited from all Africa and rest of the world so full respect dear brother to you and you believes and faith.

i love this picture.

you are very welcome.. please feel free to check my other posts.

Wow @khaled-dz que hermosos lugares excelentes fotos te felicito bellísimo sigue así Sígueme @emilyblanco

didn't understand spanish very well. but I understand that you liked my pcitures and followed me. you are welcome will follow you back.

thanks @khaled-dz for this post, is nice to see new places over the world. First time seeing something from Algeria.

you are very welcome. and am really glad you like this post.. you can check my posts and see many beautiful places in lovely Algeria. I am trying my best to show the beauty and culture of Algeria and make world have a close look about it. soy ou are welcome to see my next posts.. thanks again

I am proud of you because you show a great concern on catholic church . The pictures is very nice , it shows how great the early catholic mission are. The church building has a good architectural design. I am proud to be a catholic.

thanks.. hope you enjoy.; you can have a look to see other posts.. for sure you love them.

Please visit to my blog

Please visit to my blog

Such amazing places and many countries around the world with attractions/tourist spots I want to see and experience, once I get the money together.

I am enjoying your sharing of these places and the knowledge/history being passed to us Steemians in order to know more!

you are very welcome to visit Algeria and bigh Maghrib in North Africa. yes I am doing my best the show amazing places and knowledage with my dear friends on steemit.. steemit is a places to say you thoughtes and show them your view about life and share your ideas.. soyour voice deserve a worth.. so lets communicate with each other and be happy.

@khaled-dz ; Nicely written. I see striking similarities with byzantine architecture. But the inner sanctum is beautiful and evokes a sense of calm. Cheers, ​and keep your posts coming.

thank you for your nice comment.. yes its built during French colonization. there are so many amazing parts to show from Algeria. you should know that Algeria was under Greek, Roman, byzantine, Othmani and french colonization. so that why there is rich culture in Algeria.. and so many ruins

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58