The Modern Day Northfield, Minnesota Bank "Attraction"

in #history6 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

I've been talking about the Cole Younger story and what happened to him and his gang, that last big bank robbery attempt was at the First National Bank of Northfield, Minnesota. The original bank is still there and has been preserved to the state it was in back in 1876 when it was robbed but now it's a tourist destination or what I would call a "tourist trap."

Here's what the building looked like in 1876, the bank being on the left side:
bank.jpgsource

And here it is today:

scriver-bldg-home-of.jpg
source

site-of-the-last-jesse-james-bank-robbery.jpg
source

The interior of the bank as it looked in 1876 complete with the unlocked vault on the upper right:
northfieldbankinside.jpgsource

The town of Northfield even has re-enactments of the raid every September. More information such as times and dates can be found here: http://www.djjd.org/bank-raid-re-enactments/

Even though Cole Younger was an equal partner in the gang they call this celebration The Defeat of Jesse James Day. Jesse was more famous afterall. I assume they don't try to re-enact the killing of Bob's horse! Here's a couple of photos:
raid-6.jpg

raid-4.jpgsource

I find it interesting that any type of event involving violence in the Old West is enshrined in a tourist trap to suck in as much money as possible but I guess I can't be too hard on the city of Northfield because they are, after all, the only town that stood up against the James Younger gang and obviously they're proud of that fact.
QmP4XWrKhEyctSdKwPXzgJStaaib5GRAczyRhSaSaSMjQp.png

Thanks for reading folks! Tomorrow we catch back up with Cole and his brothers.
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

QmV1rirc4aVwh5NVurSGyHWRg81cAiro8rA2TaeWCPVLtV.png

ps- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

You can grab a beer out of the fridge while sitting on the toilet!
lol. This one was sent to me by the gracious @lenasveganliving go to her blog if you want to be impressed!

steemitbloggers.gif

QmTYUoxpK2LHgoiePLMao9UEPVBChXDMcvH2YgojQYTAfq.png

Sort:  

Morning janton, it is fascinating that a tourist industry is built around the baddies! Just look at the number of movies that are made on this theme too. Interesting photos of today and yesterday.

yes! that proves that crime sells I guess! lol. I don't know what that says about us as a race but that's the way it is!

Haha, crime is profitable for the clever advertising entrepreneur, lol.

yes it is, a trustworthy money maker!

Whats that film with Brad Pitt. The death of Jesse James ? I may watch that .

sir blanchy! I don't know, I'm not familiar with that one but let us know if it's any good or do a post review if it's real good or real bad.

Nah I don't wanna take your niche off you.

ok..well...if you see it let me know if it's real good or bad and give me your take on it since you're also a professional movie critic and then I'll do a review on it. I wish I could get an early viewing of The Ballad of Buster Scruggs! lol...and do a post about it. you never know about the Coen Brothers, sometimes brilliant and sometimes just strange.

I never actually looked for the bank, when I've been in Northfield, but will definitely have to do do that next time I'm there. Usually, the tavern, with it's delicious food and beer, are the subject of greater attention.

Northfield is a nice little town, actually. There is a large, private college that draws in a lot of wealthy students. Between that and several other prominent companies in the area, the city is financially doing very well.

Most of the little towns and villages have a summer festival or other. I'm not sure why Northfield chose that, but I guess it is something unique to their town.

The nearby city of New Ulm, on the other hand...

haha! howdy fotosdenada..it DOES sound like Northfield is a cool little town and I'm glad they're doing well.
But ok, what is the deal with New Ulm? that's a strange name bytheway!

New Ulm is actually a fascinating town. It was settled completely by Germans in the 1800's, hence the name. Ulm is in Germany. There is still a lot of German heritage in the town and a huge monument to "Herman the German," the man who united the Germanic tribes against the powers of the Roman Empire and won. I've taken quite a few photos of the monument since, for $3, you can climb it in the summer months.


MM201820181013-EOS_7424.jpg

So, why the remark? The city has eight annual festivals. I've attended three of them and, while German Festival was great (Civil War cannons fired, music, free to everyone), the Oktoberfest and Bockfest seemed to be no more than expensive drunk fests. Bockfest had a $20 charge to get in and, once inside, the only thing to do was pay more for beer. It was very popular with the 20-something college kids.

I have heard that Heritage Fest is a good time, though. Like German Fest, it is free and the city brings in many polka bands for the occasion.

wow fotosdenada this is so interesting and look at that monument!
So you must be very close to New Ulm?

It's about a half hour drive from Mankato, so I get over there pretty often. It's a nice change of scenery and a nice place to be, at least in the summer months. When snow starts flying, pretty much everything around here feels cold and desolate.

yes I don't know how you guys handle the cold up there! I guess you can get used to anything though.

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Howdy Janton, this is quite the history to be proud, lol. I am sure glad they do not re acting the shooting of the horse, I feel bad enough for the first one. You know, even before I was vegan, I always hated seeing horses getting killed in the movies.

However, this article is pretty light so my joke fits her just fine, lol. It's cool that they preserved the bank. Maybe you should go there and take new photos of the interior.

Howdy Miss Lena! Yes, horses are such beautiful and noble creatures. I thought this one was light enough too.
You're alot closer to Northfield than I am, hey do you ever come down to the States?

Yes they are and I love to see them run free.

So far I was only in New Jersey, lol. But hopefully I will visit more.

ha! in other words you haven't been to the States! lol.

The South and Southwest and West is where it's at. I avoid either coast.
I hope you get a chance to see more, it's a great country inspite of what people say about us in Europe! lol.

I don't listen to what people say about anything and anyone, lol. Everybody should cleanup in their own backyard first!!! This world is far from perfect, but they are good people everywhere.

Miss Lena, I agree people are way too critical of others.

And there are wonderful people everywhere, it's the governments and so many leaders who are evil.

Yes they are, but we are at fault for allowing them to do evil.

Precisely. The Church is the biggest problem for falling asleep and not staying involved. And for not voting Biblically.

It's amazing the building is still standing tall. And now it is a tourist 'trap' you say. Oh well, whatever floats their boat!

lol. Howdy sir Vincent! yes sir, never let a chance to capitalize on murder and robbery go to waste! Make money any way you can is the motto these days. I don't think I've seen that quote on your site! lol.

That last shot is so interesting. Great job my friend and great post. Getting those plain old texas vibes that I usually see on movies.

well thank you cave-man! where do you live, overseas?

Yes my friend.

thank you. Europe?

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 24000 comments. Your next target is to reach 25000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

The jokes are back! 😀

lol. yes unless it's a real serious or depressing post. some people think that's my specialty but I don't do that on purpose like some people! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84