More Great Pottery And ...Hairstyles?

in #history5 years ago

A fantastic selection of Southwest pottery:

69ebe0506e7edd16ee287165da8331e4.jpg
source

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

In the last post I talked about the amazing pottery of the Indian tribes in the American Southwest and today I'm continuing that lesson.

The pottery making of the tribes never died out like the complex basket weaving did and in fact most of it is being made using the same techniques and patterns of the ancient Anasazi people.

The famous cliff dwellers of the Southwest were the Anasazi:

download (12).jpg
source

My whole life I've known about the Anasazi but no one ever knew why they left their cities which were built into the canyon walls. Well, researchers have pretty much figured out what happened to them so I'll be doing a post about their fate.

Pottery was an important tool in the life of Native Americans such as water jugs like this Indian maiden is holding:

download.jpg
source

Most were highly decorated...

1b25fba3d7bc6c2de090cbcf062dd926.jpg
source

And the women carried them on their heads:

a3cba03b5f45d74522a735b6e7fa6487.jpg
source

Here are a few modern pieces copied from ancient designs:

8a5fc6bbf92613057e3dd328d119ecd4.jpg
source

Some pieces are striking without the use of color:

a40d78cd1502c6e60f41c738c114614a.jpg
source

This Indian lady is wearing a pottery canteen:

b86a21dd0d853e6978497bc3f323c034.jpg
source

Side note

Guys, you can't research Hopi pottery without seeing the unique hairstyles of the Hopi girls. The young maidens, or unmarried girls, wore what is called The Squash Blossom Whorl. I kid you not, that's the name of it.

download (7).jpg
source

Here's a better side view:

download (6).jpg
source

download (8).jpg
source

_93159899_59e2c5a5-579b-4cd0-b8e3-d1850ce1c41a.jpg
source

This maiden is obviously posing with some of her pottery. Circa 1895:

image.png
source

Here's a mother fixing her daughter's hair in that style with some type of apparatus. lol..I'm clueless about this stuff but I'm sure the ladies will know how this works.

adam_clark_vroman09.jpg
source

I didn't start out to make this post about hair styles but I was fascinated by theirs!
o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

A few more pieces and I'll stop for today:

b2526c323b56cb5264091d7c020b6e51.jpg
source

That there's a Roadrunner:

ca2a1633a80b2a84e545815b3fb5b45c.jpg
source

Camille-Hisi-Quotskuyva-Nampeyo_Seven-Star-Pattern-Jar_1992.jpg
source

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

I've got more great photos and pottery for at least one more post, maybe more if I get sidetracked again!

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

NTy4GV6ooFRqCmQLhs7ZoybsrgTuvSTU2pMFhxiJBEZuqj1g3EmYGaRen2ALN7mW5CzUL73CbrFuWr2tNWguPWiTULxFf4b5iE6zWvuCeTvYQwBCukQ8mwvozRJLFuv3RoCM7pY5i9DBik9LMRsqBEy77nAhXEUgW3y16UbY.png

pBMyo3B2Sao2EbuHAFTX1CNWMbam25xJGPs4sKmLS6XL7o71wFAUucsafVye3MgguLjwEw2CVywm33PuNruyGbk1kE5eusKhHjkGhmV4pFBxCoLkv6ArefeKCVfVTLuFK5K2oawKZH5PcMbddYgLK7bmpWycdXWBh3TVbq7aZQqHkD26.png

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAN3wfXUQ7yYxKskEYiSjg.png

Sort:  

They were true artists!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy violetmed! I agree, are you ready to try one of those Hopi hairstyles?

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.9$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi Cowboy! The pottery is beautiful. I’m happy that is still being made.
Now about that hairstyle ~ it reminds me of a ram’s horn. I guess it would keep the hair out of your eyes. That apparatus the woman used looked like a curved knitting needle. I suspect using it makes the rolls easier to shape.

Howdy redheadpei! I agree. There's probably a youtube video of it and I never even checked! I think there's a youtube video of everything.

How beautiful! The pottery AND the hairstyle. There is a very informative video on youtube here:

Howdy tamaralovelace! Thanks so much for the video, very interesting. I wasn't even sure if they were still doing it.

Howdy janton, I saw the 'squash blossom whorl' on Star Wars. How you would be? Hair styles survive time.
The art and craft of pottery is amazing and very beautiful.

howdy angiemitchell! lol..yes I actually read an article about someone who claimed that Princess Leaha had a Squash Blossom hair style but she didn't. It was similar but not the same because her style was against her head but the Hopi girls are very distinctive in how they make those big shapes away from their head, the article compared photos. lol. But that's the closest popular image to the style that there is for sure.

Haha, it was a good guess.

Yes, it was an excellent guess!

Somehow the girl in your picture reminds me of the pictures I have seen of 19th century Koreans. Of course there are some differences. Your picture is real and mine is a fake. No matter what the Korean dramas tell you there was almost no make up in Korea a hundred years ago.

w2a6lwjwek.png

74vlo4h9so.png

oh very cool sir mineopoly! Look at that hair style of the Korean girl! That had to be harder to do than the Hopi style. Very interesting and that Hopi girl DOES look a little Asian doesn't she? At least in that photo.

Great works and designs on the pottery and interesting hair styles.

Howdy sir Vincent! yeah I bet you're jealous of that hairstyle aren't you? I think you'd look good in one of those but it might take you awhile to grow your hair out. lol.

You think so, do you now?

lol! I'd love to see that. lol.

Hello Sir Janton..
Amazing pictures I must say and the pottery work is a masterpiece. They were really gifted in their art..

Howdy sir hermannsol! Thanks, I'm glad you can appreciate it, I know your country has to have many art styles that are amazing also.

Welcome Sir Janton!
Yeah you are right.
We have some cool art work here too.

What form or is there a dominate form like pottery or baskets? I know nothing about Cameroon! lol.

Well Sir Janton we are indeed blessed in art works. Some of which include pottery, baskets,designed African Regalias especially in the North Western region of the country where I am from. Cameroon has different ethnic groups with rich cultures and arts and craft is the core aspects of the different ethnic groups.

By the way Sir Janton, there was something I need your advice on.
I am looking forward to grow my steemit account to 1000SP.
So from your experience on steemit, what do you propose?
Do you have any projects, communities, support agencies that can help me to reach this milestone?
The truth is, I think my growth has been really slow and I want to pick up...

Howdy sir hermannsol! oh yes, growth has dang near stopped for almost everyone. It's very painful. The best way I know to grow your sp is by being whitelisted by ocdb, then you can send them steem and you get that amount back plus 10 or 12% in sp. You can either be nominated for their whitelist or nominate yourself which I think most do. I think you have to get information on how to do that by going to their discord which I never have but it's https://discordapp.com/invite/k2Hu77b

The other thing you can consider doing is to join powehousecreatives and you can find all the information about them here:
https://steemit.com/steem/@jaynie/jaynie-1558467929755-an-invitation-to-join-our-steem-powerhouse

I'm a member and they really support each other. There are so many groups you can join but I don't know much about the others and you are already using esteem which is best platform. The best thing to do is what you're doing, which is staying consistent and getting more people's attention as you grow and hopefully pick up some big players along the way.

Thanks Sir Janton...
This was indeed really helpful.
Thanks once more

Howdy again sir hermannsol, you are very welcome. I forgot something, are you using Steemauto to maximize your curation earnings?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Howdy there esteemapp! Thanks so much for the upvote and great platform!

I'd love to take some studio photos of those baskets. And that hairdo... That's reminiscent of Princess Leia! lol

Yes I actually read an article about someone claiming that the Princess had a Hopi hairdo and the article explained how it wasn't, but it WAS similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74