The Not Quite So Grand Avenue

in #history6 years ago


Modern Blah replaces Regency Splendour 😢


Grand Ave

Be sure to click on the arrow to view it full screen!

This photograph shows the smart Grand Avenue area of Hove which was constructed during the 1870s and '80s but, as you can see there aren't many of the original buildings left.

Although it is now a conservation area the more modern buildings often indicate where bombs hit during WWII.

The war inevitably changed the face of much of Hove and Grand Avenue was particularly badly hit. In the late 1940s big new buildings were constructed after the large private houses were demolished and the land cleared.

A few originals remain however. On the right of the picture there are a couple of lower buildings in yellow brick and at the near end is Kings House. These are the only survivors. 😢

Kings House was built between 1871 and 1874 and became a Grade II listed building in 1974. Originally it contained seven mansion blocks and went through a couple of owners before being bought by Brighton and Hove City Council in 1996.

In order to raise funds the council sold Kings House for £26 million in July 2017 and the new owners plan to turn it back into housing. So, that building at least, will turn full circle.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

There are so many places like that here, especially in the larger cities, where the grand mansions were sometimes torn down to make way for ugly apartment buildings, housing many more $$.

But, I shouldn't be too hard on them. I think of all the good some of those things do and the people they help, but, in my head, they are erasing history for my children and grandchildren and great-great-great-grandchildren.

How lovely those old grandiose palaces of money were.

Sigh.

Hi, Gillian! Hope all is well in your world!

!tip

Yep. All is well in my world, thank you @dswigle. Even more so with your nice tip. 😍

We're pretty fortunate in this locality as many of the buildings are in conversation areas so they don't get pulled down.

It doesn't stop them building monstrosities on every spare piece of land though or in place of other buildings such as petrol stations.

I love that Brighton and Hove is a small city but it is getting bigger and bigger pretty rapidly. I'm not sure I'll want to stay here by the time we retire. But I have no idea where else I'd go. I don't think I can gie up being by the sea. 😁

I have no idea where I want to move after this. I didn't work for a year and found I liked it, so I am ready to quit! :) For good this time. How much money do we all need to be happy?

I am ready to quit

Do you have any plans for this? There doesn't seem much point in continuing to work if you don't have to. And no amount of money is ever enough to make us feel secure. We just keep upping the stakes. Happiness and security lie elsewhere.

But you know that of course! 😍

Having said that, I wish John could retire, but we both feel too insecure for that to happen anytime soon! 😂 😂 😂

Knowing and acting on that knowledge is different things.

I don't have to. I never did. I know. Lucky. But, still, in all, acting on it is still scary.

But, I am this summer. Boom. I am throwing it in and just quitting. :)

Woo hoo! That's wonderful news. Sounds very exciting!!!

Don't forget you're always welcome here should you fancy a trip across The Pond. 😍

Oh!!! That sounds awesome! Thank you!

Don't worry! Over the pond is exactly how I like spending my time. :) I miss it there! And you are such a sweetie!

🎁 Hi @gillianpearce! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 44% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Nice post this is

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.408 which ranks you at #2303 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 16 places in the last three days (old rank 2287).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 377 contributions, your post is ranked at #250.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71