Greenwich Street Eels

in #history6 years ago


Streets Around Greenwich Market, London


I took these photographs in the area around the Greenwich Market on a recent trip to London.

It is full of little streets like these with interesting, one off shops and cafes and full of history.

Greenwich Street.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

Did you know that in the Victorian period pies were popular street food sold by several hundred piemen who walked the streets selling their wares? They were especially common in east and south-east London.

Pies came with a number of different fillings including meat and fruit, but most commonly eels. Eels being one of the few fish that could survive in the polluted Thames River.

Gradually pie and mash sellers moved off the streets and into shops such as the one in the photograph below

Greenwich Street 2.jpg

If you missed my earlier Exploring Greenwich Market post you can see more photos and read more about the area by clicking on the link.

Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for the daily photography contest.



Sort:  

Nice photo @gillianpearce. Reminds me of the little streets around Bath. 😄

I agree @benadapt. I can see similarities to streets around Bath too. 😁

Sometimes traditional is not the best choice haha. I am not a fan of eels. My wife always has Unagi but I don't care for it. Gorgeous streets though. City designers in the US are trying to re-introduce pedestrian walkways. But the traditional little streets can't be beat, can't be reproduced.

I've never tried eels and can't imagine ever doing so @steven-patrick.

Pedestrian walkways are one of the things I really miss when I'm in the States. 😊

I was going to ask you what eels taste like. From the comments, it sounds like you may have never tried one. If you did, you obviously didn't like it. Either way, I'll move on to something else. :)

Very narrow streets, so not much more than pedestrian traffic I would imagine, maybe a bicycle or two. I wonder if they ever get any skateboarders through there? Horses would seem to be a rather tight fit, even.

I've seen streets with no vehicle traffic on Isla Mujeres, an island near Cancun. The streets didn't seem that narrow though, but they were cobblestoned, so it would have been a bumpy ride, anyway.

It all sounded wonderful, and then you brought up the eels... Actually, I've had eel before but I can't recall what it tasted like. Nice photos, I really like the first one with that little curve in the road.

I've not actually tried them @keithboone and I don't think I'm very likely too either. It's not something I come across very often anyway. 😊

been there, cool place...btw: don't miss Cutty Sark :)

I posted a photograph of the Cutty Shark previously @seckorama. It's hard to miss! 😂

Thanks for stopping by.

Eels? I couldn't imagine... not my cup of tea, I guess. But I love pies and certainly miss visiting London!

I couldn't imagine eating eels either @nolasco. In a pie would be bad enough but jellied eels is also quite popular in the Eastend of London. Yuk! 😂

I can't even imagine myself eating such a dish. And I'm the kind of person that loves to try every dish in the world!

Me neither @nolasco although I can be a bit picky about food. 😁

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-20T12:22:09
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2444.09/3200.00
Total Photos: 309
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 2.70 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

So do you eat pies with eels? I have to admit that something that can survive in the Thames perhaps isn't worth eating haha

On the upside, I LOVE these photos!! Anything historic and quaint like that just grabs hold of me. What a cool place to wander and explore :)

So do you eat pies with eels?

No the eels are in the pies @lynncoyle1 but you wouldn't get me anywhere near one!

Another Eastend "delicacy" is jellied eels. I wouldn't eat that either! 😂

Anything historic and quaint like that just grabs hold of me.

You'd be in heaven in The Laines in Brighton then. 😊

hahaha @gillianpearce, I know the eels are in the pies!! I must have been tired when I wrote that lol

Jellied eels??!! I just threw up a little in my mouth haha That's disgusting!

I'll have to add The Laines to my "Places I need to Visit" list 😅

Ah I see @lynncoyle1. You weren't asking if the eels were in the pies. You were asking if I ate the pies. I've got it now! 😂

I hope you get to visit The Laines while I'm still here. It will be fun showing you around. (Assuming you'd want to get together that is. I was a bit presumptious there! 😂 😂 😂)

And there are loads of other places in the area with similar streets.

Not presumptuous at all @gillianpearce; I'd love to meet you in person and have you show me around there!!😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94