Greenwich Market

in #community6 years ago


Exploring Greenwich Market


I spent a wonderful day in London yesterday, with my daughter.

Our first stop was Greenwich market where I took a few photos so I could finally join in with @dswigle's Market Friday fun. (Click on the link to find out more or to join in).

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Greenwich market is indoor and dates back to 1737. It is the only market in London which is located on a World Heritage site.

Greenwich Market.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Apparently there can be up to 120 stalls for antiques, art and crafts and foods. There were many fewer than that yesterday though.

Here are just a few of them:

Military Memorabilia

Greenwich Market Military Antiques.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Patriotic Bunting

Greenwich Market bunting.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

London Suburbs Signs

Greenwich Market Suburbs Signs.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Hand-made Dickie Bows/Bow Ties

Greenwich Market Bow Ties.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

These are just a handful of the stalls and there are some interesting little shops around the outside of the market too.

Plus, there is a great selection of food stalls catering to all sorts of tastes.

The whole area is definitely worth a visit. 😊



This is also my entry to @juliank's and @photocontests street photography contest.

Sort:  

All very patriotic! Great finds, @gillianpearce... :)

Thank you @ackhoo! It was all a bit patriotic. Not really my thing! 😁

Fun looking market. Love it was established in 1737. California was still safe from us crazy Americans, in fact the Spanish weren't even building missions here yet.

That's an interesting juxtaposition @steven-patrick.

I have a very poor memory for dates and often wonder, when I visiting places, what was gong on in other parts of the world at the time.

Good of you to fill in the dots! Thank you. 😊

So, it sounds like the market might fill up with vendors during different parts of the year depending on what's going on? Or is it just the market isn't keeping the stalls occupied? We have what tends to be referred to as flea markets, but I'm not sure how prevalent they are because I've only seen them in Southern California and Hawaii and they're mostly outdoor. We'll have fairs and festivals that will last a few days where vendors will show up too, but I don't know where they are the rest of the time. Since a lot of these folks have a trailer of some kind, food booths in particular, can sit out on a street corner next to a market or some other shopping place, or even a park.

Other than that, it reminds me of a convention or something like that.

These would be regular store holders that probably have leases for at least a year.

I'm not sure why there were so few stalls since there are usually waiting lists for places like this in London.

Maybe the information about the number of stalls was incorrect since I got that online. Although, I would say, there was plenty of space for more stalls. Maybe it's busier at weekends. I'm not sure. But usually these types of markets have full time stall holders.

. . . you got me curious so I looked it up . . .

You can be a day trader apparently and whether you get a full time slot seems to depend on how regularly you are a day trader. Prices were much lower than I thought, just £15 per day on a Thursday which is when we were there.

Most boot sales cost at least £10 so I think Greenwich Market seems like a pretty good deal. Mind you, I'm not sure how you would manage parking. The station car park is £11 a day so maybe that's what you'd do.

All the information is here, if you're interested.

https://www.greenwichmarket.london/contact/become-a-trader

Okay. It's probably the Thursday deal, then, at least for the day traders, who i would guess would help to fill up things on the weekend. That price sounds pretty low. I know fairs and such here are asking $100 a day at a minimum. Depends on the size and popularity, obviously, but something indoor and more year round could afford to keep vendor stall prices low enough to attract all kinds of sellers.

I thought about sitting on author's row at the State Fair, but they generally charge $150 a day to be there and I didn't think I'd be able to sell even that much to cover the costs. Plus, you can't do it just for one or two days. I think it's for the full two weeks, which without some major marketing and sales can't see me pulling off, unless you're able to share the costs with some other author, who I would have to seek out and then finagle into taking my spot when I was done with it. :)

I'v never heard of author's row before @glenalbrethsen. I'm surprised people make many sales at a State Fair, especially nowadays with online books being so popular. 😊

That's just it. I don't think they did. Author's row was probably the loneliest place in the entire state fair. I figured I'd just set up some photos or something of the books, maybe sell some T-shirts, but have a couple tablets on hand to except credit card payments to download the books. Not sure if that would work very well, but better than buying a bunch of copies of a book to sell then sitting around with a couple dozen lonely authors watching the world go by. :)

Doesn't sound like much fun to me @glenalbrethsen. 😊

Do you see your reply twice or is it just in my feed? Steemit seems to be really glitchy lately.

Can't remember now, but if you saw it twice, it was probably this one. I did have one that showed up twice because Steemit wasn't working right. It was very glitchy on Saturday, which did't help much. The frustration/who cares level was high enough without that happening. I ended up deleting the extra comment after I saw what happened because I didn't want it to be counted twice for Asher's league results. :)

Yeah. I had the same problems on Saturday @glenalbrethsen and very little time to deal with it as we were looking after the grandchildren.

I had a number of comments paste twice and then had to go back and delete the extra one.

I've been out all day so not sure whether things are good here today or not. I'm about to find out! 😁

That's just it. I don't think they did. Author's row was probably the loneliest place in the entire state fair. I figured I'd just set up some photos or something of the books, maybe sell some T-shirts, but have a couple tablets on hand to except credit card payments to download the books. Not sure if that would work very well, but better than buying a bunch of copies of a book to sell then sitting around with a couple dozen lonely authors watching the world go by. :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-01T14:20:21
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1917.59/3200.00
Total Photos: 228
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hey, @gillianpearce This Greenwich Market is amazing...and...your photo shot is so great...

Thank you @periods. I'm glad you like the market. 😊

Looks very cool! Did you buy anything?

No I didn't @seanreilly. I'm really big on shopping to be honest. I'm trying to get rid of stuff rather than buy more 😊

@gillianpearce, Looks interesting. It would be nice to walk there one day.

The area around it is probably more interesting that the market itself @madlenfox.

Greenwich is well worth a visit but there are betters markets I think! 😊

I love to look at these different unusual things :), sometimes you can find something very useful, heh

Yeah. I used to get a lot of stuff at markets @madlenfox.

But these days I'm trying to clear things out and simplify, so I don't got to markets very often.

When I do I only buy stuff if I need it or if it's for a present. 😁

Just look at all those union jacks! Makes me a little homesick!

Where are you from then @dmcamera? 😊

A small town called Buckie between Aberdeen and Inverness, Scotland!

Not somewhere I know @dmcamera but my partner, who's Scottish, knows it. 😁

We have relatives in Blackburn.

Just outside Aberdeen? I know it well!

Yes. We were there last summer for a family wedding although we've been a few times now. 😊

I was thinking of Bucksburn. Blackburn is farther south!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73