Cool Old Matchbooks

in #history7 years ago

For the past week, I've been visiting some friends in North Carolina. I was helping them sort through some of their stuff, as they were in the process of moving to a new apartment. We came across a small collection of old matchbooks. They originally belonged to the now deceased father of my friend Vic's college roommate.

These matchbooks are a window into the past. They're a snapshot of an earlier time where I assume smoking was more common and less stigmatized. Matchbooks were used for advertisement for a variety of businesses and even some politicians. Many would even turn into mail-order coupons after the matches were used.

They are so fascinating and unique, I decided to save them to the blockchain for posterity.

20170604_003525.jpg

Hunt's advertised a variety of their food:

20170604_004305.jpg

Sherrifs advertised their campaigns:

20170604_004348.jpg

20170604_004427.jpg

Even banks printed matchbooks to draw business:

20170604_004441.jpg

And of course, hotels and inns:

20170604_004508.jpg

The most surprising and interesting ones were advertising jobs or money making opportunities:

20170604_004559.jpg

20170604_004710.jpg

20170604_004754.jpg

20170604_004828.jpg

All sorts of products used to be advertised on matchbooks:

20170604_004918.jpg

One practice that is still fairly common today is restaurants with their own custom matchbooks:

20170604_004929.jpg

And well... why did most people want match books in the first place? To smoke of course!

20170604_004955.jpg

I hope some of you found these as interesting as I did. These days, internet marketing and television ads are far more effective forms of advertising. Matchbook advertising is a relic of history by now, but hopefully it won't be forgotten.

Sort:  

This is an awesome collection. Do they still have the matches? My grandfather has a collection that is valued quite well, but only because the matches are still there...

The ones I opened up to look at all have the matches still. The condition varies pretty wildly, though. I had no idea they would be worth anything, either way. I'll have to see if I can find any information about that online.

There is quite a market for it, but it is usually better in a collection like you have. I see a few that you have that may be worth something. But again, it is much more collectable with the matches...

I didn't notice any that had markings on them from being struck. And it does appear that most/all have the matches in tact.

Actually, after checking, some have been used and are missing matches. But some are in pretty good shape.

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

@bacchist Dope Collection !!

Thanks! I will let my friend know her collection is being enjoyed. :)

Wow! This collection is amazing. I used to collect matchboxes as a little boy but never really got too far with the collection. I then switched to Stamps and Coins instead :)

Awesome. The cool thing isn't really the size of the collection... just that it has been kept long enough to be appreciated by future generations.

I hope you have held on to your collections. :)

Wow, memories! I lighted a match some time ago and its smell triggered memories

One of my favorite smells!

It is interesting to know that of our history and culture can be hugely reflected in the advertisements being ran during that era... And it sends us heartwarming and nice sensation of good memories too.

This is a nice collection
Tell us how you got started

It's not my collection. Just something found while helping a friend move. It has been passed on a couple times.

hahahahaha the job advertising is really killing it.
especially: You bet! I'm in ELECTRONICS now ^^

Very interesting articles I really like.
Read too:
HISTORY ACEH
https://steemit.com/history/@sayedmahdaly/history-aceh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58647.58
ETH 2550.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50