Climbing Mt. Katahdin In Maine

in #hiking7 years ago (edited)

On April 3rd 2017 I set out to hike the entire Appalachian trail. It took me 5 1/2 months to do so. It was one of the most hardest things I have ever accomplished.

This is a view of what I saw as I climbed Mt. Katahdin in Maine on September 15th 2017 after taking 5 1/2 months to hike there. I will post other blogs later of the rest of the hike but thought it would be cool to start with this.

I arrived on the 14th at the base of Mt. Katahdin and camped out there that night. On the morning of the 15th I woke up at 3:00 am and packed my gear. By 3:30 am I was ready to go and headed to the rangers office. 3:45 am I checked in my gear I wasn't going to take up the mountain and set off to the trail upwards. It was total darkness for a couple of hours and kind of spooky trying to climb the rocks in it. I did have my headlamp and luckily it lasted long enough till sunrise.

I managed to make it to the section called the "Table Tops" just as the sun was rising over them. I am told that very few people ever get to see that first hand.

Sunrise Over The Tablelands on Katahdin (2).JPG

Sunrise Over The Tablelands on Katahdin (1).JPG

I left so early so I could be one of those few. I took so many pictures that my camera was almost dead before reaching the top. I was nervous that I wasn't going to have enough battery power. But thankfully my camera held out.

Here is me at the top:

DOC on Katahdin Summit.JPG

Here are the are the rest of the pictures I took as I climbed:

DSCF3882.JPG

DSCF3880.JPG

DSCF3878.JPG

DSCF3879.JPG

DSCF3874.JPG

DSCF3885.JPG

DSCF3886.JPG

DSCF3887.JPG

DSCF3893.JPG

DSCF3898.JPG

DSCF3908.JPG

DSCF3912.JPG

DSCF3922.JPG

DSCF3927.JPG

DSCF3931.JPG

DSCF3938.JPG

DSCF3939.JPG

DSCF3941.JPG

DSCF3952.JPG

DSCF3964.JPG

DSCF3962.JPG

If you enjoyed this blog then look forward to seeing the rest of my hike on future blogs.

Sort:  

What fascinates me the most about this is that you have discovered the secret to time travel! LOL
This is a view of what I saw as I climbed Mt. Katahdin in Maine on December 15th 2017

How is the view from the future, anyway?

All kidding aside, terrific post. Pretty impressive accomplishment to hike the whole trail. Happy to have found you, following! Cheers - Carl

sorry it was meant to say September 15th 2017. Thank you for pointing that out. I will see if I can correct it.




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

Love all the pics, that sunrise is insane gorgeous though.

Wow, 5.5 months is a long time! Cool post. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

I would like to but I am very bad with computers and figuring this stuff out. I do intend to post the rest of the trip in several blogs though. Feel free to post them where ever.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fixedbydoc to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51