The bamboo forest hike that keeps going upwards

in #hike5 years ago (edited)


Yesterday I went hiking at Tai An Township at Miaoli County. Tai An is the only mountain indegenious township in Miaoli where two thirds of the population are the Atayal indegenious group. The start of my hike was at Xiang Bi suspension bridge.
週末去了苗栗縣泰安鄉爬山, 泰安鄉有三份之二居民是泰雅族原住民。我走的是象鼻古道,起點在象鼻吊橋。

I will be hiking through the mountain ahead of me, the Qian Liang Mountain. The highest summit is around 1200m, low by Taiwan standards, but by no means an easy feat as you will see in a minute.
象鼻古道會經過眼前的千兩山。千兩山最高大概1200米,在台灣來說不算高,但步道卻不好走


The Xiang Bi suspension bridge is 672m above sea level, 300m long and 100m above the Da An River. There wasn't anyone else around when we arrived and we had the entire bridge to ourselves.
象鼻吊橋在海拔672米, 全長300米。網路上說吊橋離開大安溪有100米,但感覺上又好像沒那麼高。



The Atayal tribe are a mountainous tribe, and in the old days, the bridge was the only access for them to the outside world. The original bridge fell to derelict years ago after the Atayals moved away from the mountain, but parts of it still remains. This new bridge was built in recent years as a tourist attraction.
泰雅族是高山部落,古時候吊橋是他們對外的唯一通道。 族人遷到山下後,原本的吊橋已荒廢,現在只剩下兩個石墩。 我們今天走的吊橋是近年新建,用作遊覽景點。


The hike starts after I cross the suspension bridge and up through a bamboo forest. Bamboo was in abundance here and could be found all along the trail.
走過了吊橋, 是步道的起點。 沿途上有很多竹林。


After a little while, the trail was less friendly and the path disappeared. Fell trees lie ahead and I had to squeeze through, crawl under or climb over them. This was the ancient trail that the Atayals used to take and not many hikers come nowadays, hence it is not as well maintained as other more popular trails.
相比其他步道,象鼻古道沒有很多行山客,所以維修方面也沒那麼完善。有不少經不起風雨樹幹倒下來檔在路上, 要小心翼翼而過。



Here's a 3.2km marker. My friend told me that we're actually walking the opposite direction. That means we only have 3.2km to go. Or so I thought.
這是3.2公里的指標朋友說我們是在古道的終點開始走。我心想,只有3.2公里的步道,應該很輕鬆很快便走完。原來我的想法絕對是錯誤!


The next hurdle was scrambling uphill using ropes. These slopes doesn't look as steep as they really are, and I didn't have my gloves with me! Since it was still quite early in the hike, I had plenty of energy in me and quickly heaved myself up. Here's my husband coming up after me. There were about three or four of these sections.
之前要跨過的木頭只是小兒科。原來步道有好幾段需要拉繩子,而我今天又沒有帶手套! 還好,我剛開始不久精力充沛,很快已爬上山坡去。之後還幫老公拍了照片。



I reached the first summit after two hours hike. The height here is around 1090m. I was feeling really pleased with myself to reach the summit so soon as it wasn't an easy path coming up. I was looking forward to the downhill climb now. Little did I know how wrong I was!
大概兩小時後我已到達1090米的山峰。 能夠以這個速度完成一段我認為頗艱苦的路程, 我為自己感到很自豪。期待開始下山輕鬆的旅程。噢!原來又想錯了!


After a short rest and in the growing company of mosquitoes who were probably very pleased to see a fresh supply of food, we decided to move on quickly. This part of the path was very pleasant, both to walk and to view. What surprised me was that we were continuing to go upwards.
在這裏休息一陣子, 蚊子朋友逐漸多。想必是很高興見到有罕有的新鮮食物送上門。 我們就決定快趕快起步離開。 之後這段路其實蠻好走,風景又美。只不過,為何我們仍是繼續往上走呢?


And soon we came to a small bamboo forest plateau. I think this must be another summit because after I came home and did a bit more research, other bloggers says there are three summits on Qian Liang Mountain.
原來千兩山有三個山峰,剛才那個只是其一。 繼續往前走會到另一個較高的山峰。


Being higher up the natural habitat was more varied and interesting. In particular I saw some rusty leaf mucuna flowers. Apparently they only flower for a very short period each year. Must have been my lucky day.
進入又高又深的森林裏,大自然環境也變得多采多姿。 聽說血藤花一年只有幾天才會開花, 能夠碰上這大自然美景真不枉此行。


From here, the path became a bit eratic, just like life. Sometimes, there was a clear open path ahead, sometimes it was a bit obscure. And sometimes you just have to take a plunge, guess and hope you've chosen the right path.
從這裏開始,步道變得更加複雜。 不單止未有下山的跡象,前路更迂迴曲折, 有點像人生一樣。 有時候前路很明顯,有時會有些阻礙。有時更加完全沒頭緒,應該怎樣走才對呢?




This latter section after the first summit was the most difficult. There were no more ropes climbs but I was still going uphill. I trekked through the ancient trail in the forest for nearly two more hours, and finally I saw a tarmac path ahead of me. It was like light at the end of the tunnel!
後半段路雖然不用攀山拉繩子,但也不比前半段好走。 古道沒維修,人煙稀少只能靠之前登山隊留下零碎的標記走。 好不容易見到前面有拍油路,終於走出森林啦!


What to know what happens next during my trek? Stay tuned, but I will give you a teaser 😉
欲知後事如何, 步道還遇上什麼景點,記得留意下一篇文章。這裏先給大家一個小小預告




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://livinguktaiwan.com/the-bamboo-forest-hike-that-keeps-going-upwards/

Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

Woah those flowers that only bloom for a few days are really cool looking! Looks like a challenging but rewarding hike.

Looking back it was very satisfying, I just wished I had enjoyed it a bit more as I kept on thinking are we there yet, are we there yet like the annoying kids in the car!

I really enjoyed this post @livinguktaiwan. Having never been to Taiwan, I was surprised to read about an indigenous tribe living in the mountains there. Is that still the case?

The state of the trails indicates people there don't really enjoy going out into these mountains? Given the population density there, I would've thought perhaps they would love the opportunity to get some exercise like that. And loved your "lucky" (I don't believe in luck, it was meant to be ... 😉) picture of the blooming flower!

Overall, it sounds like quite the adventure and you did not give up or quit. Good for you!

Thanks @roleerob.

There are still some indigenous tribes that live up the mountain in other parts of Taiwan as we're quite a mountainous nation, but they're pretty modernised nowadays , nothing like the amazon tribes you see on TV.

We have an awful lot of hikes in Taiwan as its a very popular past time and normlly the ones we go to aren't this remote , so it was a nice change of scenery.

In terms of adventure , this is probably the most awesome one from last year

https://steemit.com/taiwan/@livinguktaiwan/hikingatmountbaimaointaiwan-160f3e6218

Okay @livinguktaiwan ...

"... but they're pretty modernised nowadays , nothing like the amazon tribes you see on TV."

... that answers my question and read my mind ... 😉 While I make no claim to any expertise on the subject, it was just a surprise to me to read this. So, very interesting to learn.

I read through your biggest adventure post, with the provided link, and see what you mean about Taiwan being more mountainous than I would have guessed. Great view from Mt. Baimao! I always enjoy reading sightseeing / travel posts, with their opportunity to "see" through eyes of another places we may never see ourselves.

Quick question: Seeing you have your pictures "stamped" with your account name, is that what you and others recommend? On all of my "@roleerob's excellent adventure!" In winter ... posts, I did not do that, but perhaps should have ... Presumably to discourage others, in some way, plagiarizing your work?

Being out on the bridge with no one else would have been the only way over for me! Suspension bridges are not high up on my list of great things to overcome.

Going along the path to reach areas few go to always gives an opportunity of seeing more wildlife, or the beautiful flowers you had time to enjoy.

Totally different vegetation to where I live, this was most enjoyable going hiking along with you, personally I find uphill easier than going down.... now looking forward to the descent!

I know what you mean about suspension bridges, I hate it when some people bounce up and down deliberately for fun and annoy others 😡

They do say coming down is more difficult as you put more stress on your knees, unless you're coming down on the ropes in which case i just drop myself down which is quite fun!

I posted the second part yesterday if you're interested. Thanks for dropping by Joan 😊

Moving back downhill, normally I will go a lot slower... if not ending up on my bum. Takes skill on loose stones or stones with moss like you photographed.

The quiet in dense forests is always well worth the agony of getting up and down.

...and the teaser is...that you had more uphill walking?

A great post and I love than the path is not organised and artificial. It gives the feeling of you actually mostly walking within Nature.

You did not pass by an abandoned village or anything else exciting? I'll wait to find out.
:)

Its probably the wildest walk I've done so far as there were hardly any signs of other hikers, if i wasn't with an experienced hiker friend, I really would have been quite worried .

Can’t believe there is a place like this in Taiwan

There are plenty of these in Taiwan, thats why i always say Taiwan is so under rated 😔

This is refreshing to look at. When at the point of giving up the hike and you come across this, it would give you the boost you needed to persevere.

Lovely hike!

Especially when the path is so pretty when you look down (sorry it's the wrong way round)
DSC_0702.JPG

Right on! It would have been a different picture when season changes.

Fresh blood to the mosquitoes is a payback to the nature for the possibility to do the hike in beautiful nature. 😊 green and different from what I am used to where I live 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess that makes it a truly blood and sweat hike 😊

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #498

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=livinguktaiwan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=thebambooforesthikethatkeepsgoingupwards-cridiwxvxf


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88