You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Help us create the official "Welcome to Steemit" landing page - Community Input Needed (Part 1)

in #help8 years ago

Hello, I've just joined up on Steemit so this is pretty much top of mind at the moment.
I think what you have listed is a good start.
I'd also include some stuff that had me a bit stumped at the start -
Where the F is the upvote / like button? - this drove me nuts! I could find lots of references telling me that clicking on the upvote button will earn me steem dollars but none told me where the damn thing was.
and then when I found it and clicked on it nothing happened.
Sometimes it's very frustrating being new :-)
So pointing out some gotchas at the start would be really helpful. Like if you don't check the Keep me logged in box, you will get logged out in a really short amount of time, and you'll have to log in every time you want to upvote and article, and post a story. It's pretty subtle about it too, the only telltale I could find was that the little person icon disappeared.
When that happened I couldn't find my stuff and I was wandering around all over Steemit trying to find my stuff. it was there a minute ago but the it was gone!
I have since clicked the afore mentioned checkbox and now things are a bit easier to deal with ;-)

So telling the user about this, and what it look like when you're actually logged out will be of some benefit.
Also talk about uploading images, how to do it, that it is important if you want people looking at your stories.
I'd love to be more involved with the project if you want a hand.
I come from a web background as a developer, so you are free to use that expertise if you like ;-)

Sort:  

Awesome, thanks! This is really helpful feedback. If you can think of more things that confused you as a new user, let me know.

As far as the development part, we are good as far as this specific project. It's going to be a fairly simple UI from a coding perspective. @bitcoiner will be handling that part.

If you want to get more involved from a coding perspective though, there is a huge wish list full of feature requests that the community is asking for. If there are any projects in there that you think you want to tackle, let me know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67