My Small Introductory Post

in #hello8 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemers!

hello-1502369_1280.png
(Public Domain Image from Maialisa)

I am starting out with what seems to be the customary introductory post. I am a male in my mid-twenties living in the U.S. I discovered Steemit on Google Now and was drawn in. I work in IT and have been a dabbler in bitcoin and peer-to-peer technology, but it seems to me that this has quickly become more than I expected. Steemit seemed right to me when I happened upon it. Like an idea that was bound to happen at some point. Now that that point has arrived, I am eager to join.

My part in all of this? I expect that it will be a mixed bag. I don’t have a set of preconceived ideas of what I will write on Steemit. I am interested in so much, and I often have so much going on that it is hard to pinpoint one direction to go in. There will probably be some technology, exploration of ideas that I run across that are interesting, details of projects that I am working on. I guess we shall see together.

My interests are in the decentralization of telecommunications infrastructure, peer-to-peer technologies, the future internet, human augmentation, computer security, and augmented reality, so expect a lot of those topics to come up if you follow my work.

I know that it is going to be fun to see what this young, but already blossoming, social media service brings in the future. Steemit!

~Pocket Nerd
[Edited for formatting.]

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @pocketnerd. First, I love your username. LOL
I came to Steemit out of curiosity after a friend mentioned it. Once I read the white papers I was hooked.
I have a few recommendations but I'll keep it short and sweet:

  • Follow the 3 C's: Content creation * COMMENTS * Curation.
  • Be yourself! We are very community oriented and there are a lot of resources, curation trails and guilds to help Steemians who are doing their best.
  • Go through the Welcome Page for helpful tips.
  • HAVE FUN.
    Wishing you all the best here :)

Thanks for the great advice! I'll definitely take a look at the guides and strive to create good quality content and comments!

Welcome aboard, Sir Nerd, and Merry Christmas from Vancouver Island, in the middle of God's Country!

UV (upvoted) your post!

Welcome to Steemit! There is lots to see, do and learn here!


There is definitely a lot of activity for such a young platform. I'm eager to watch and help it grow. Thanks for the UV!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Hello, and may you succeed here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45