here is why my children drove me crazy today! So I am having a drink writing this xo!

in #healthyliving6 years ago (edited)

Today started as every usual weekend morning, I lazed in bed for a little while my three little angels were having some technology time. As the day progressed, I started to get very irritated with their behaviours, caught myself repeating over and over and had to deal with tantrums at the store. I don’t mind tantrums, but just thrashing around in store and being disrespectful just can’t fly. As I am looking back, every god damn week end is the same story.

Some might just think I can’t handle them the weekend because they are home the whole time and so on, that I am impatient as this is normal behaviour for children…But, I am home schooling them right now so that is not it! They are like night and day, the weekends is like they are Monsters and during the week, angels!

My kids were never aloud to have technology during the week, only on the weekends… They can also have a little bit of Tv during the week when I am making supper. I was always really strict on this and am not planning on changing this. My oldest played with a “rock DS”(yes a real rock he pretended was a Nintendo DS) until I felt bad enough and got him one because he wanted to bring it somewhere where he would have been made fun of. He loved it by the way… I always succumbed and wanted to make him feel like he is not the only child without this or that. He doesn’t have the latest technology and very far from it, but I do get him certain things. But this is ridiculous, the change in behaviour is so easily noticeable to when they have technology or not… I can remember a couple weeks after kindergarten started and I over heard a parent talking about their child gaming habits. The child was up until about 11 p.m. the evening before and how he is acting out and so on… Never did the parent think that being up, and aloud to play seemed like that was the problem to this child acting out…But that the child had attention issues and just wasn’t listening. I am far from being perfect and in all honesty, I feel like I am failing every day. My kids have such a different personality when aloud to play technology what if a child is glued to one every day, I can only imagine the effect on theirs…
What if most of the children these days have the same so-called tech behaviours my children get on the weekend, but to their everyday life? What if all of this is created by us parents, wanting some piece and calming time with this tech/tv babysitter? I mean I feel like throwing all of their tech in the garbage. So many children have so many kinds of attention disorders, but I believe this technology world has something to do with it (I know a lot of other things have a part into this, like what we are eating, putting in their bodies and so on). We just moved to a small community and I am trying to give them more of a disconnected life to this crazy world we live in.
IMG_2528.JPG

We don’t watch the news, we don’t ever have a TV on in the background, we have a set time to watch things. I mean technology is great, I love how we can be connected to everything, research things that we couldn’t before, but I sure do believe all this has to be controlled in children.
So here I am, wondering about all the children out there…Should there be rules? Are we screwing up this generations? All I can say is, I really needed to unwind from this day and truly can’t wait for the week to start and have these little guys playing board games together, laughing, carrying on and jeez just be kids. I always try to teach them what I believe is right, what is good for them and what will make them more a conscientious being for this world, planet.
So hopefully you will wonder with me… and Let me know what you think.
27048410_10159771679570702_1052296185_o.jpg
Cheers,

Jessica xo

Sort:  

I think I would lean towards rules. If the enjoy something it may prove fruitful if that is there talent or passion - but it has to be done with respect and making sure things like grades and chores are done. I honestly can't say - as I am not a parent but I am a big advocate for video games and tech when it is applied properly. If one your sons like video games he may want to make them, but it also could just be a waste of time. You have to know your own children - and I am not qualified to give parenting advice.

However I think if you start to have to "tolerate" behavior, you will resent them, and eventually lash out so I would urge you to find a way to deal with it sooner than latter.

This might help, I can't speak from personal experience but I was listening to this guy and it might prove helpful:

What kind of games are your children interested in? If they truly are passionate about video games it could be a good thing to learn about.

Great videos made me laugh but yes for sure you have to teach them self control and how to deal with their emotion as well as for myself. Don't get me wrong, I am not for them to have no technology at all...but I am stronger in my point that technology should be limited. When I am seeing them behaving differently if they have to much of it, it is my job as a parent to set limits. They feel like they are treated unfairly by me setting limits, but I do believe I am making the right choice.
Maybe your right, they might be able to create one, and learn how to do so. :)
Thanks for your input!

They may feel bad now, but like brushing their teeth - they'll appreciate it in the long run, if it is done with the right intentions. Good luck!

Congratulations @thepenneys! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thepenneys! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32