You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Great Moments In History Began With Baby "Steps" | Dealing With Racism As An Adoptee

in #healthy-home6 years ago

I haven’t ... I’ll have to look it up! But I agree with that sentiment ... we all make judgments based on what we see. We just shouldn’t always act on them 😂

The tough part is that it’s so unexpected! I have friends who practice ahead of time. Thankfully, Matt’s used to it because of the comments I get.

As a side note, your son will definitely be watching how you handle those comments to figure out how he should respond. I remember my mom would get angry. My dad usually had some funny comment prepared (“doesn’t she look just like me?”) It wasn’t until I was out on my own that I realized I preferred being a “trainer” and tried to help people understand. Usually I’ll answer their questions with straightforward responses ... until it becomes a conversation where they’re just trying to get me to answer with the response they want to hear (like, “yes, I wish I hadn’t been adopted.” Or “I still feel connected with my culture.”)

Sort:  

I hadn't realised that you were adopted yourself. Its wonderful that you have two little ones of your own now. I think I will be straightforward, my hubby probably wittier lol. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65