Stress can make you sick

in #health7 years ago (edited)

The antidote to stress is relaxation. To relax is to rest deeply.
Relaxation is a state in which there is no movement, no effort, and the brain is quiet.
~ Judith Hanson Lasater



A photo of me on one mountain in the Colorado Rockies, and my husband is on another mountain taking this photo.



The effects of stress have reached epidemic proportions resulting in dis-ease. And because of the plethora of modern diseases that have manifested from chronic stress, stress borne illnesses have become a medical specialty. "I am stressed out," is a familiar phrase in our daily vernacular. Stress can affect our mood, cause headaches and tight muscles, as well as digestive issues. Even being around a stressed out person can affect everyone around them including family, friends, and co-workers. In the short term, stress prepares the body for the obstacle at hand. In the long term, chronic stress can make you sick.


Photo by Cathleen McMahon

One of the first studies on relaxation was performed by Dr. Edmund Jacobson. He wrote, You Must Relax, about his revolutionary relaxation techniques and their benefits. His new approach successfully treated high blood pressure, indigestion, colitis, insomnia, and what he called "nervousness."

Edmund Jacobson relaxation technique

All of us inherently know not only how to relax but that we need to relax. Part of the issue at hand is......taking the time to relax. You can take the time now with Restorative Yoga or even Dr. Jacobson's method or later down the road you can see a doctor about stress related health issues. It may sound harsh, but you choose.

Everyone that attends my Yoga classes if only once or over the course of a decade can attest to the fact that they feel better and relaxed after class. I have student's husbands and wives that send their loved ones to class knowing that it helps alleviate stress.

I am not saying that Yoga is a panacea but it can be yet another tool to use to help us decompress and recharge in our daily, hectic lives.

Of course, a good night's sleep helps, too. :-)


If you like this content, please Upvote, Subscribe, Resteem, and Share on your social media sites. Thank you!!


Here's some posts that you might also enjoy:

https://steemit.com/health/@yoginiofoz/shoulder-health-simple-exercises-can-help-a-complex-structure-smile

https://steemit.com/health/@yoginiofoz/shoulder-exercises-to-relieve-tension-and-gain-mobility-are-easier-than-you-think

https://steemit.com/writing/@yoginiofoz/headaches-neck-aches-shoulder-aches-oh-my-what-if-your-pillow-is-the-problem

Sort:  

Good evening, @sherlockholmes. I potentially have a case for you:

This evening, I received 30 votes in a very short period of time (2 hours). Of course, I would LOVE to think it is my content that drew in so many upvotes until I saw defreca's comment below. Because she has a number designation of "4" next to her name, I became curious as to why she is at that level.

I didn't spend too much time (I am a little tired and will investigate more tomorrow) on the content of her comments, it just seemed that she had commented A LOT in a short period of time.

So then I began to become suspicious of all my sudden upvotes, so I started to see who had voted for me. The 4 names that I clicked onto at random had been activated this month with no comments, posts, or followers. Curious.

Now I love to have people read my posts, not just vote them up......

Anyway, I am sure you are busy but it seems strange to me that I am suddenly getting a bunch of upvotes from people who have no history whatsoever on Steemit. Weird.

I will check more thoroughly tomorrow. If you have any suggestions on what I should do or where to report this strangeness (or if I should even do anything).....well, I appreciate your help.

I always enjoy your posts, @sherlockholmes! I am one of your biggest fans!!

You are so correct. Stress is so toxic to the body, I can speak from first hand experience. Yoga is amazing to help relieve stress from the mind and body. Great blog. Up vote and following :-) Nice to meet a fellow yogi

Hey thanks for stopping by and commenting @jamiekensell!!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @yoginiofoz to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

@yoginiofoz Steemit is gonna change lots of lifes, it has changed mine and many others but that is just the beginning. Followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68493.85
ETH 3838.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64